We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,314: English reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Maui sands could benefit from a facelift....new carpets, updated HVAC, new mattresses but it was a decent value for the price. The indoor water park was wonderful for children and sports teams looking to have fun between games. I am, however, concerned about the safety of the hotel. While we stayed, I went out with friends and my daughter stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christina S
Management response:

Dear Christina S: We are glad your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio, went well. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay at the resort. The water park is ideal for group, teams or families of all ages. It has a variety of attractions that our guests can enjoy together....

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stayed at this hotel for our visit to Cedar Point. After looking at tons of hotels, we found this one and couldn't have been happier. This hotel was inexpensive and had great amenities. The hotel did not have an elevator but the room was decent. The breakfast was great - even on a weekday. The waterpark was small, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie K
Management response:

Dear Jamie K: Great to hear your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio, went so well. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest. The water park is ideal for young families. With tube and body slides, lazy river and the Pineapple Bay kids area, it has a variety of attractions that...

Reviewed 21 August 2016

Water park was nice but hotel staff was very rude and manager was nasty. When confronted with my issue she got defensive. Guess when your privately owned your above the law. My grandchildren were frantic at having a rat in their room. The place seems nice on the outside but was very nasty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
Management response:

Dear Angie B: We are very sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the resort, Shortyly after your visit, the resort was treated and serviced by two independent exterminators. We are also sorry all of our Team Members did not treat you properly. We expect all of our employees to be professional and courteous each and every day. We...

Southfield, Michigan
Reviewed 21 August 2016

This is the second time my family has visited here. Both times we stayed in a Family Suite. It was very clean, spacious, and comfortable in the main building. I've read some of the poor reviews and now I know why. This time I reserved a Family Room, which turned out to be a queen with 2 bunk beds. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Deco916
Management response:

Dear Deco916: Always nice to hear from a returning guest. Your continued patronage is very important to us. We are pleased that our Team Member was able to help you quickly and move your family into an upgraded room. With a king bed in one room and two sets of bunks in a separate room and a sliding door separating...

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

They're very nasty and out dated. The hotel is infested with roaches. I killed one and took it to them and they promised me a refund that we're going back and forth about now! A roaches crawled up my friend leg sitting at the water park. Before we left we told them "the hotel has roaches" they responded "we know".

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zhane' P
Management response:

Dear Zhane' P: We are very sorry about your disappointing stay at the resort. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable visit with clean and comfortable acommodations. All of our rooms should be cleaned and inspected before being assigned to a guest. Recently, the entire facility was treated by an outside contractor. Please contact us regarding an...

Chesterland, Ohio
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel room I got was the family room. Had king bed and separate sleeping room for kids with bunk bed and their own tv. Room was great size very clean. Water resort was also amazing, has lazy river, swimming pool, smaller 4ft pool, 3 big slides (two of them you go down with rafts) and jungle gym area for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbr365
Management response:

Dear jbr365: We are glad your family had a great stay at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest. The family suite is perfect for families. It has a king bed in one room and two sets of bunk beds in the adjoining room with a sliding...

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and 2 15 year old Grandsons stayed in this hotel while visiting to go to Cedar Point. It was one of the more reasonably priced hotels in the area that had a King bed and a bunk bed room for the boys. My wife had concerns about this property because of some bad reviews. What we found was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kent U
Management response:

Dear Kent U: Thank you for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor waterpark. It is always nice to hear from a satisfield guest. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. The Family Suite with the king bed in one room and two sets of bunk beds in an adjoining room with sliding doors separating...

Bainbridge, Georgia
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Will never go back. It was like going to the ghetto of water parks. We were kept waiting more than an hour after check in for our room, and when we got in it the beds were half thrown together and just looked and smelled dirty. The water park had peeling and chipping paint. No food was allowed in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank menb45
Management response:

Dear menb45: We are sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the resort. We want all of guests to have an enjoyable stay and expect all of the rooms should be cleaned and serviced properly on time. Admittedly, we do not allow outside food inside the water park -- which is the standard policy for the industry. Most facilities...

Reviewed 16 August 2016

So let me first say that I tried to use Groupon for the first time. I wanted to take my kids for their b day to Kalahari waterpark in Sandusky. I searched for Kalahari on the goupon site and it automatically sent me to room type, check in dates etc. Prices were comparable but a bit cheaper and I thought...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fawn A
Clinton Township, Michigan
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Stayed 8/13/16.There were stains everywhere, had to walk in socks. Hotel was old and musky.Trim was falling off the walls, paint (covering water damage) was peeling. Shower had dirty wet towels and hair in tub. A bucket caught dripping water from the ceiling just outside our room. Ice machine in lobby did not work. No Customer Service Manager on staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chillock

352 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (316)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
4.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#3 of 35 in Sandusky
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
298 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
1.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: €97 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you plan on utilizing the water park, CALL to make sure it will be OPEN during your stay BEFORE you book the room!”
 of 5 bubbles Lilspinster, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not to far from amusement park”
 of 5 bubbles roxxig2016, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not let them put you in the rooms that is located near the Arcade! They smell really Bad plus rats!”
 of 5 bubbles 317deannad, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure, but it seems that the rooms in the main building with the water park are very nice, which is where we stayed.”
 of 5 bubbles Deco916, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If your room not good enough ask for a other.”
 of 5 bubbles debraa999, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay