We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Quality Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Quality Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 87: English reviews
MI
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Front desk person was very helpful and friendly. We will stay again ...we pass through Portsmouth on way to visit family. The rate is VERY fair and property/room was very clean. The room we stayed in was a 'pet room' because we travel with our small dog. The tub faucet was loose and should be repaired. Room was to accommodate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ewe2me
Sharon_Smith_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We are pet friendly and charge a one time fee for your pet to travel with you. I have passed your information on to the various departments so they will use this information for training. We believe in giving our Quality service from the front desk to the entire house. Thank...

Reviewed 14 December 2016

After asking for two non-smoking rooms in close proximity, the rooms initially were on two separate floors. The clerk then reassigned rooms at least on the same floor, but they both smelled as if someone had been chain smoking in them for a week (this is not an exaggeration). The condition of the rooms was deplorable. When my brother pulled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tammy M
Sharon_Smith_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Ms Tammy: We do take pride in our hotel and the hard work that is done at our Quality Inn. I have reviewed your comments with the staff to make sure this type of situation doesn't happen again. We have recently completed our first Quality Assurance and we passed with high marks. We do recommend other hotels in our...

Bardstown
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We stayed this past weekend and was pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were, nothing special, but clean and spacious rooms, nice tv, sofa, and the breakfast had more choices than I expected, sausage, biscuits, eggs, donuts, etc. No snack vending machines, so bring your own, but soft drink machines are there if needed. Would recommend the parking lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
Sharon_Smith_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for allowing us to be part of your family reunion. The view toward the west is a beautiful sight of the Shawnee Forest and the Scioto River Valley. We take requests to try and be placed on the east side of our building as road noise and trains may disturb the restful slumber. We do not have snack...

Covington, Kentucky
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The Quality Inn team is always incredibly generous and supportive of the Alzheimer's Association team. The full breakfast available and comfortable beds made my stay very comfortable! Location is easy to find and accessible to downtown Portsmouth. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krista P
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

I stay at the Quality Inn frequently on business trips to Portsmouth. The rooms are always clean and well-appointed, and the staff is very friendly. I would recommend the Quality Inn to anyone traveling to the Portsmouth area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

3 miles out of the city on US 23.... clean lobby and clean rooms... comfortable beds... windows that open! Ahhhh... fresh air. Staff was nice including breakfast room, but the eggs are unrecognizable as real eggs... didn't taste like them either... sausage patties were great, but the cereal was stale... all easy inexpensive fixes they should look at

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelerDan1
Sharon_Smith_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with our Quality Inn in Portsmouth Ohio. We are glad that you were able to rest in our comfortable beds. We have great reviews on the bedding. As fall is around the corner we are beginning to book fast for the Lucasville Trade show the end of September. We hope that you will book...

Uniontown,Ohio
Reviewed 14 May 2016

Room was clean. Carpeting is worn in the hallways. Bananas are old. The craters in the road leading up to the motel have grown huge in the last year. Why doesn't somebody fix them. Average stay for a Comfort Inn,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flyerman
Sharon_Smith_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding our Comfort Inn of Portsmouth Ohio. Coke are in the process of getting bids to get the access road repaired. We hope that we get a break in the weather so that repairs can be completed.

Goodyear, Arizona
Reviewed 12 May 2016

We checked in the guy at the front desk look like he slept and ate in his clothes for a week. He made us keys and none of them worked. I took them back and he didn't say anything, just make new ones. Not much customer service happening here. The overall hotel was dirty. Do they still allow smoking in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ellen E
Sharon_Smith_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We apologize that we did not meet your satisfaction at 100%. We do have smoking rooms in our hotel and we try to accommodate everyone that we can to not be placed in that area of the hotel. As far as customer service we rate high with our service and in the next month we will be opening as the...

Ohio
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Check-in was easy. The room was clean enough and the bed was comfortable, but the air conditioner did not work. There was no hot water for showering until about midnight. Apparently the hot water heater could not keep up with demand. I have never experienced such a thing at a motel. The food for the breakfast was good but as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GalileoSmith
Sharon_Smith_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with the Comfort Inn of Portsmouth Ohio. I apologize for you not being fully satisfied with your stay. I agree that we do have a small breakfast area, however, we do have another area off the breakfast bar area for people to take their breakfast and eat in that room. This adds an...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

I can always count on a clean, comfortable room at the Comfort Inn Portsmouth. In bigger cities, I have paid much more for rooms that are not as nice as these. The free breakfast is more than generous, and the staff is friendly and welcoming. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone spending the night in or near Portsmouth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
Sharon_Smith_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Jeff: Thank you for sharing your experiences with our Comfort Inn of Portsmouth Ohio. It is nice to hear that we give the same service each time you visit with us. In the next few weeks our guests will begin seeing some updates beginning in the hotel as we will be remodels with the bathroom floors. We hope that...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.2 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
13.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
32 reviews
30.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
0.7 km away
Super 8 Portsmouth
Super 8 Portsmouth
#3 of 6 in Portsmouth
297 reviews
20.0 km away
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Quality Inn & Suites of Portsmouth Ohio. This rural setting and now is the time for our beautiful fall colors to become our backdrop. We are 5 miles North of Shawnee State University. Located off of US 23 North on Old Scioto Trail. Upon arrival to our hotel don't forget to grab a warm cookie or 2 that will make you feel right at home. All rooms feature refrigerators and you can request a microwave for your room. Breakfast is served from 6am-9:30am weekdays and for the weekends we have the breakfast from 6am-10am. We also offer a meeting room if your family would love to be able to visit while here in Portsmouth. Wireless HS Internet is provided throughout the entire hotel. For fun relax in our heated pool which is always a splash with the children. Area Businesses Include: OSCO Industries, Southern Ohio Medical Center, Uranium Enrichment Plant, Shawnee State University, Taylor Lumber, Coke Cola, Hollinee Manufacturing, Sun Coke, Big Sandy Warehouse and Infra Metals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 5100 Old Scioto Trail, Portsmouth, OH 45662 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Price Range: €66 - €84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“back side of motel, away from highway”
 of 5 bubbles LarryB944, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a side further from road side”
 of 5 bubbles 998lizg, 5 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from highway”
 of 5 bubbles Q5987VBmarym, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the same side as route 23but we never heard a sound from traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles Trish71967, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“If you like to watch trains go by, stay on the side towards the highway. If you don't, stay on the back side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffbD6406RD, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay