We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Super 8 Portsmouth

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 292: English reviews
Simpsonville, Kentucky
Reviewed 1 June 2016

I was told the room would be $65 per night. Sign outside even said walk ins $62 per night. On bill statement, charge was $95 per night. Guy at desk was not interested in helping to adjust. Another guest told me he paid $65 per night. I think the place is a scam; I won't be back. I was there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waltr535
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry for your misunderstanding of our Walk In Special rate, We at the Super 8 only have a certain amount of allocated rooms for the walk in special, if you call and are quoted the walk in rate, you must also understand that you have to walk in the hotel for that rate if you had...

Wheelersburg
Reviewed 25 May 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander G
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Erlanger, Kentucky
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Staff was friendly and courteous. Beds were not queen sized. Breakfast was a joke. Right next to an active train track. Steep hill getting into the parking lot. Pool was OK. Water temperature for shower was hot. Complimentary hair dryer didn't work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback so we may improve our services, we are glad to know our staff was courteous and will definitely look into why breakfast was not to your expectation, also thank you for bringing it to our attention to replace the hair dryer in your room. Super 8 Accessible Rooms...

Batavia, Illinois
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Went to Portsmough, OH, for my son's graduation and stayed here. The service was excellent and everthing seemed very clean. The building and the property are very worn, though and could use a massive overhaul. And, the breakfast provided free was not the best. Don't expect to be blown away here. Was an OK place to stay one night more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryon K
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We like to thank you for staying at the Super 8 Portsmouth, OH. during your sons graduation. The issues you had will be addressed but am glad to hear the service was to your expectation, please come back and stay with us on your next visit to the Beautiful city of Portsmouth Ohio. Regards Boeu G.M.

Clarksburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Run down....been remodeling for past 5 years.....Drug haven....Prostitutes.... Wi-Fi rarely works.....cigarette holes in carpet and on bedspreads......cheap soap.....cheap towels..... cheap carpet.....bed sheets felt gritty COULDN'T WAIT TIL MORNING SO I COULD LEAVE

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David L
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your business, I am sorry the previous manager was not there nor previous staff. The hotel is under New Management & Staff I have investigated the matter and discovered that you had problems connecting Wi-Fi ,because you was not opening the browser to connect. After talking to the clerk that helped , you was also upset...

Summer Shade, Kentucky
Reviewed 22 April 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindahX8910VZ
BoeuEmlyn, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Morganton, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Super place to stay and get a great nights sleep and a great breakfast. Stay at this Super 8 each time we are in this area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E3853CRthomasj
BoeuP, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We at the Super 8 welcome your review, and will always strive to make your stay great with us.. The staff will be looking forward for your next visit in Our Beautiful City of Portsmouth, Ohio Boeu Patel G.M.

Findlay, Ohio
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Arrived at the place and was met with the staff smoking out side of the door. Upon check in was directed to the back of the hotel and found more staff outside smoking. Also seemed that it was a place that people lived in daily and not just visited. Was double charged and blamed for it, staff was rude and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 621cheryln
BoeuEden, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I have personally looked into the issues and have asked the staff to have a designated area away from the guest for their smoke breaks. I do apologize if their was a charge that was incorrect, but I do recall the charge was corrected immediately with your understanding. Please give me a call if there was something that...

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 6 April 2016

room was great countless people mostly younger commuting throughout hallways and lobby coming from pool soaking wet dripping water everywhere with nothing on but bathing suit some without adult supervision not good fire alarm went off at 730am for no apparent reason breakfast shut down at 930 other than that it was great I guess it goes with the territory

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D3269KJvincentb
BoeuEden, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for the inconvenience you had with other guest using our pool facility, we do cater to children at the Super 8 for their BIRTHDAY, and at your stay their was a special child's birthday on the 6th of April. I do understand you felt as the children were not supervised, and I totally agree that all...

Portsmouth, OH
Reviewed 30 March 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauramV6294MU
BoeuEm, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
85 reviews
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
13.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
35 reviews
38.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
19.8 km away
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
beautiful inner corridor hotel situated on HWY 23,The hotel has went through a major renovation and definitely deserves a visit ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Portsmouth

Address: 4266 US Route 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662
Region: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Price Range: €54 - €73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Portsmouth
Portsmouth Super Eight
Portsmouth Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pet friendly, had nice walk-in price”
 of 5 bubbles 162patriciak, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles pdcminnm, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The East side rooms are away from the highway and are more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles bjean1217, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“It right on the main drag coming into Portsmouth Ohio but yet it out far enough not a lot of city noise so you can really get rest there without a lot of loud sirens and things.”
  • Closeup of  the  nice  soft  bed and  the  way  it  was  made looked  great.
  • Very  nice   Lobby  , It  clean and  can  see  the  pool and  very nice   staff  to be  found  t
  • Very nice  clean  room and  a  very  nice  bed  to  sleep in.
 of 5 bubbles 925terryp, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The Hot Tub Suites are Truly Special!”
 of 5 bubbles 990tanyaj, 21 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay