We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Super 8 Portsmouth

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 297: English reviews
New Milton, West Virginia
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hollysXFEFTW
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Eaton, Ohio
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank eugenec181
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Summer Shade, Kentucky
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Had a few problems when we registered, nothing that couldn't be fixed. The deadbolt wouldn't work & the peephole had no glass in it, just an empty hole looking into the room. They moved us to another room which was ok, but the commode ran all night. It couldn't be fixed. Otherwise, guess it was ok, they really tried fixing...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindahX8910VZ
Olive Hill, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 June 2016

I will stay here everytime we come back to this area. staff is excellent and Susan is the best manager one could hope to get if needed for assistance. Russ

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darrell A
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your kind words with regards to the helpfulness and kindness my staff displayed to you on your stay at the establishment. I will inform my guest service representative Susan (Sienna) that she received a great review from a guest in regards to her work performance and service was up to par. Thank you again for the...

Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dr_cook76
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Simpsonville, Kentucky
Reviewed 1 June 2016

I was told the room would be $65 per night. Sign outside even said walk ins $62 per night. On bill statement, charge was $95 per night. Guy at desk was not interested in helping to adjust. Another guest told me he paid $65 per night. I think the place is a scam; I won't be back. I was there...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank waltr535
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry for your misunderstanding of our Walk In Special rate, We at the Super 8 only have a certain amount of allocated rooms for the walk in special, if you call and are quoted the walk in rate, you must also understand that you have to walk in the hotel for that rate if you had...

Wheelersburg
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander G
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Erlanger, Kentucky
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Staff was friendly and courteous. Beds were not queen sized. Breakfast was a joke. Right next to an active train track. Steep hill getting into the parking lot. Pool was OK. Water temperature for shower was hot. Complimentary hair dryer didn't work.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback so we may improve our services, we are glad to know our staff was courteous and will definitely look into why breakfast was not to your expectation, also thank you for bringing it to our attention to replace the hair dryer in your room. Super 8 Accessible Rooms...

Batavia, Illinois
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Went to Portsmough, OH, for my son's graduation and stayed here. The service was excellent and everthing seemed very clean. The building and the property are very worn, though and could use a massive overhaul. And, the breakfast provided free was not the best. Don't expect to be blown away here. Was an OK place to stay one night more...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryon K
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We like to thank you for staying at the Super 8 Portsmouth, OH. during your sons graduation. The issues you had will be addressed but am glad to hear the service was to your expectation, please come back and stay with us on your next visit to the Beautiful city of Portsmouth Ohio. Regards Boeu G.M.

Clarksburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Run down....been remodeling for past 5 years.....Drug haven....Prostitutes.... Wi-Fi rarely works.....cigarette holes in carpet and on bedspreads......cheap soap.....cheap towels..... cheap carpet.....bed sheets felt gritty COULDN'T WAIT TIL MORNING SO I COULD LEAVE

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David L
BoeuGM, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your business, I am sorry the previous manager was not there nor previous staff. The hotel is under New Management & Staff I have investigated the matter and discovered that you had problems connecting Wi-Fi ,because you was not opening the browser to connect. After talking to the clerk that helped , you was also upset...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
87 reviews
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
12.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
35 reviews
38.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
19.8 km away
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
beautiful inner corridor hotel situated on HWY 23,The hotel has went through a major renovation and definitely deserves a visit ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Portsmouth

Address: 4266 US Route 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662
Region: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Price Range: €50 - €67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Portsmouth
Portsmouth Super Eight
Portsmouth Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pet friendly, had nice walk-in price”
 of 5 bubbles 162patriciak, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles pdcminnm, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The East side rooms are away from the highway and are more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles bjean1217, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“It right on the main drag coming into Portsmouth Ohio but yet it out far enough not a lot of city noise so you can really get rest there without a lot of loud sirens and things.”
  • Closeup of  the  nice  soft  bed and  the  way  it  was  made looked  great.
  • Very  nice   Lobby  , It  clean and  can  see  the  pool and  very nice   staff  to be  found  t
  • Very nice  clean  room and  a  very  nice  bed  to  sleep in.
 of 5 bubbles 925terryp, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The Hot Tub Suites are Truly Special!”
 of 5 bubbles 990tanyaj, 21 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay