We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 293: English reviews
Chillicothe, Ohio
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The lodge is lovely, I was very impressed with that, but the lake part that is open to the public to swim, was less than pleasant! They do not have bathrooms, they have portable bathrooms. The building there looks really bad, but other than that he the beach was nice, and I love that they have a pet swimming area!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raeannenetral
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on the Lodge. I have forwarded your comments to the Park Manager as they are in charge of the beach and the surrounding area. I agree the pet swimming area is awesome.

Crown City, Ohio
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at Deer Creek Lodge on Friday 7/11/2014 as part of a meeting. I had stayed here the previous year for 2 nights. I was supposed to stay for 2 nights but checked out a day early. The good: Lots of activities for families and kids. Front desk manager tried to make things right by moving me. I think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnotherParrot
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

I’m happy you were able to see all the great things Deer Creek has to offer. We have recently added kayaks for our guest to use and that has been a big hit as well. There have been a few issues with a couple of our air conditioners this summer but we are actively pursuing these issues and fixing them....

Logan, Ohio
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We did not stay at the lodge but did not see a place to rate the campground. We stayed at the campground and like it very much. Lots of paved road to ride or walk on. Bathrooms clean etc.We would go back again. We did visit the lodge and it looks like a nice place to eat, shop etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tfarmer
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on the Lodge. I have forwarded your comments to the Park Manager as they are in charge of the campgrounds and all of their amenities. Thank you for your comments.

Ohio
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was a wonderful experience for our family. We have visited several Ohio State Park lodges and this one was wonderful as expected. The room was rustic and charming. Stayed in the lodge with a loft/bunkbeds and queen bed room. The pool was large enough that no one was crowded. Fun outdoor activities: shuffleboard, kyaking, bikes and playground. The grounds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clstrip
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

I’m happy you enjoyed your stay and all the great things there are to do here. Looking forward you your next visit!

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Let me begin by saying I will be traveling around the state of Ohio for the next few weeks writing reviews about hotels. It's a new adventure that at first sounded exciting. Now I'm starting to think it might not be worth it. I arrived at the lodge after a brief stop at the golf course. Great course and Danielle...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Ireview1to5
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

I had a chance to read your review and was concerned you were not happy with your stay. We invest over $600.000.00 annually into the property and have aggressively made several major upgrades. As you can see by all the other reviews people love the property and staff and we do our best to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This "resort" is absolutely awful! Both the common areas, pools and rooms are filthy and in terrible disrepair. The service is shameful and an attitude of apathy permeates the majority of the staff. Our room was exactly what you would expect to find at an old roadside Motel 6. For $225/night I certainly expected more. The wallpaper was ripped, the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank momtotwingirls
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have read your review and am concerned about the challenges you faced. We usually receive very high marks on our facility and service as you can read. I am following up to see where we can improve. Thank you for your comments.

Troy, Michigan
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here to celebrate our 20th anniversary and it was a wonderful getaway. Our room was very nice and had a great view! We rented a kayak and paddled around on the lake, took a bike ride, hiked, enjoyed the pools and hot tub. The lighted tennis courts looked great but ran out of time to play. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HLHeaglemom
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Happy 20th anniversary! Thank you for the great comments! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and all Deer Creek has to offer. Looking forward to your next visit!

Oberlin, Ohio
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Deer Creek Lodge is a very nice place to go for a getaway. food was great, The staff was fantastic ,very helpful, made stay most pleasant. the only drawback it is in need updating an cleaning. bath room had band aid repairs gutters leeks, lots of cobwebs and spiders. Lots of fun thing to do at the lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CRichter42
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here as a getaway during ROTR weekend, very clean/quiet place, great for relaxing. Restaurant overlooks a beautiful lake view. Unfortunately the weather was stormy while I was there so I didn't get an opportunity to explore the park, but the lodge was very nice & met & exceeded all my expectations. Most of all, the staff was SUPER friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Monica P
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Sorry the weather wasn't the best during your stay. However it does sound like your experience was very positive and enjoyable and that's great! The staff takes a lot of pride in enhancing our guests stay and I will be sure to pass on your comments to them. Thank you for comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Wooster, Ohio
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We found this lodge to be very pleasant and relaxing. The rooms were nice and the staff especially friendly. The restaurant overlooks the lake with numerous tables right by the windows for good viewing. The food was quite good and the selection had a varied assortment of entrees you might not find everywhere. The service was fast. The peaceful setting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula51176
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. I'm glad you were able to experience and enjoy all Deer Creek has to offer! We have just added kayak rentals and they have been a huge hit. Hope you have the opportunity to visit again and give them a try.

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Sterling
24.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Circleville
31.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Washington Court House
37.6 km away
Christopher Inn & Suites
Christopher Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Chillicothe
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.5 km away
Quality Inn Chillicothe
Quality Inn Chillicothe
#6 of 8 in Chillicothe
90 reviews
33.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Columbus - Grove City
37.3 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chillicothe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by more than 3,100 tranquil acres, Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center is just 30 minutes south of Columbus, Ohio. We offer 110 guestrooms perfect for a quiet and romantic weekend getaway or a fun-filled family reunion. All lodge guestrooms have a private balcony or patio to give you a scenic view of the park, lake or outdoor pool. We also have 25 two-bedroom cottages (three with roll-in showers), each with a fully equipped kitchen, full bath, living room, dining area and a screened-in porch. Rafter's Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner; the gift shop operates seven days a week. Our 18-hole championship golf course is diverse, challenging and exciting for golfers of all skill levels. Other things to do: boating, fishing, hiking, cycling, camping, and many more recreational activities! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center

Address: 22300 State Park Road 20, Mount Sterling, OH 43143-9542
Region: United States > Ohio > Mount Sterling
Price Range: €67 - €180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Mount Sterling
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a lake view!”
  • View of hotel form rec area
 of 5 bubbles WillTheTraveler17, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a second floor lakeside room. Beautiful view and the raccoons and groundhogs can't get onto your balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles trico40, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles JeffreyG648, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lake views are best but they will not guarantee you get one.”
 of 5 bubbles karena740, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the water are nice. Exits to exterior are on 2nd floor (not first).”
  • Rust and gunk
  • Dirty light fixtures
  • Nice warm bulbs...
  • Daylight bulbs in the same room. Strange.
  • Damaged paint in room
  • Ceiling in our room
  • Rattling dirty fan
 of 5 bubbles Jim335, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5