We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Cecil & Old Miners Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zeehan
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hotel Cecil & Old Miners Cottages
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

8 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 8: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Cecil & Old Miners Cottages
 Click to rate
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

In Zeehan on a two week stay for work. Hotel Cecil is a historic pub/hotel with loads of old-world charm and a very friendly, capable and attentive staff. The age of the hotel is one of the aspects that adds to the atmosphere, and a sense of staying where people have for many decades. The meals are excellent and cater...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerard t
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived late in the day and the owners were very helpful. The miners cottage was comfortable and clean with a great kitchen set up . Well priced . The pub has a lot of history - we had prepared meal did not get to try the food but had a refreshing beer and nice chat with the publican

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jodie Q
Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

We dined here one evening on the recommendation of the caravan park owner. The service was pleasant and the food fresh, plentiful and delicious. Could not ask for more and would recommend. There are fireplaces in the dining room and I noticed limited outside dining as well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AustraliaBoo
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Overall the miners cottages are very basic however they are clean and everything works. I stayed there with a group and we hired the three cottages and we were all happy with them. The food served in the hotel was reasonable given the prices but the old Asian guy taking the orders etc ruined the night. He was nothing but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Damian T
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

Helped us by waiting to give us to cottage rooms at 9pm at night. Thank you. Cute cottages very authentic and central location. Great service and well priced. Would recommend if travelling for a day or two. Lovely lady who helped us when we had car trouble from 4wding.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristy S
Greater Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Cottages are great and chinese food is excellent. Owners deserve support as they are trying to get established and restore the great old hotel. great location near middle of town and museums. Not far from Strahan or Queenstown

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank johnD4498AO
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This is the 3rd time we have stayed in the old miners cottages , always been warm and comfatable ! Plenty of room , all cottages have full kitchen and cooking facility's , bath And shower , TV, DVD player ect .. We would defiantly stay again ! Lovely staff .

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tegan D
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed in the Old Miners Cottages for one night. The carpet was so dirty that I didn't want to take off my shoes. Everything was worn out. The armchairs and couch sagged so much you nearly sat on the floor. The air conditioning would not heat. No breakfast was provided. There must be better accommodation available in Zeehan.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank TassieRetired
Jenelle B, Owner at Hotel Cecil & Old Miners Cottages, responded to this review

I am truely sorry you did not enjoy your Stay due to your review I will be refurnishing all the miners cottages to have this not happen again. The carpets are not dirty but stained due to miners work shoes ect. If I had known you were not pleased at the time I would have done al I could to...

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zeehan
0.8 km away
Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Heemskirk Motor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zeehan
83 reviews
28.0 km away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#6 of 6 in Queenstown
108 reviews
29.5 km away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Zeehan Bush Camp and Caravan Park
34.1 km away
Corinna Wilderness Experience
27.9 km away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Hotel Cecil & Old Miners Cottages

Address: Main Street, Zeehan, Tasmania 7469, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Zeehan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Cecil & Old Miners Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Cecil & Old Miners Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One room with ensuite, others with close common access bathrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 47gerardt, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
1 of 1