We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Strahan Holiday Retreat

Hotels.comUS$80
View Deal
GreenLeadersSilver level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$82*
US$80*
US$82*
US$80*
US$82*
US$80*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Start your review of Strahan Holiday Retreat
 Click to rate
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were booked into a 2bedroom standard cabin with 2 double beds. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded as the Village 'is quiet at this time of year'. The 'upgrade' turned out to be a unit with one double bed and two singles, no electric blankets on the single beds, sparse furniture, hard beds, so-so internet connection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CPF194
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights, the cabins were very comfortable, the park itself was tidy, and had laundry facilities, there was good wifi even in the cabin. It is very well maintained and there is a dine in and takeaway placed right at the front of the park. I would certainly recommend the park which also has a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travel_happy61
Maryborough, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed her two nights ,the cabin was comfortable enough ,but thankfully the weather was warm as the heater did not work .We were up graded to a queen bed cabin thankfully ! because the standard cabin beds looked very small they were ell enough equipped .Our cabin backed onto a lovely little stream and at night the possums came...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa D
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We booked a cabin needing Wifi for booking our next days activity. We were put so far away from the village we were literally on the road outside of the retreat. When we tried putting in the passwords for the free Wifi, it said we were out of range. As it was after hours- we couldn't contact admin as their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susie O
Strahan R, Owner at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our staff would have readily attended if requested. WiFi issues tend to be bandwidth problems for the town itself since Strahan still only has ADSL. We are presently undergoing a bed replacement program and all of our beds will be replaced in the next few months. We are continually working to improve our service.

Reviewed 6 April 2017

The 'boxes' at Strahan Holiday Retreat are universal to most caravan parks in Australia. They're called cabins, but they are really manufactured 'boxes'. That said, they can be a good accommodation choice. Sadly, not so here. These were well located near a creek, and sufficiently placed apart to ensure quietness. But, the managment has so scrimped on facilities these are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
Strahan R, Owner at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our staff would have readily attended to any of your concerns if requested. We are presently undergoing a bed replacement program and all of our beds will be replaced in the next few months. Your cabin was setup for two people and offered an kitchenette. We do not promote full kitchens in these cabins. Your...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Travelling around Tasmania, we decided on this place. We stayed in an aging prefab sort of cabin, which sounded hollow and badly constructed. The decor and kitchen was old, the bed we slept in fairly average. It was a very warm evening, and I opened up the window on the bunk where my young son was sleeping, but the fly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clinton313369
Strahan R, Owner at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our staff would have readily attended if requested. We are presently undergoing a bed replacement program and all of our beds will be replaced in the next few months. most of our accommodation has had a new renovation and this program is on-going. We are continually working to improve our service.

Mandurah, Australia
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in Cabin 20 - March 2017. Basic cabin with small kitchen and small TV. Separate bedroom but the curtains above the bed do not fit the window and the light from the street lamp shines right in your face. We ended up pushing the bed in to the centre of the room to avoid the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atholmes
Strahan R, Owner at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are continually working to improve our service.

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Strahan is a beautiful town on the Western coast of Tasmania, so worth the visit. We had a 2 bedroom cabin at the Strahan Holiday Retreat and it was perfect. Cosy and clean with a private outlook and private balcony, self contained with bathroom. There is a small shop at the front of the complex which does meals and take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackim00
Strahan R, Owner at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments.

Echuca, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2017

The cabin was very disappointing the amount of money you pay. All windows had no flywire, the front and rear sliding doors also had no fly wire so it go very warm during the day but cooled down at night and no Airconditioner which seemed a bit strange. On arriving we had to get maintenance to fixed the front door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stumpie8
Strahan R, Owner at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are continually working to improve our service.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We were traveling around Tasmania and Strahan was our first stop. Our primary activity there was the Gordon River Cruise (will write a review of that as well); we stayed at the Strahan Holiday Retreat. The cabins are what I would definitely call rustic -- not all appliances, no air con. We did make our dinners at the cabin --...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sundance1406
Strahan R, Owner at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. WiFi issues tend to be bandwidth problems for the town itself since Strahan still only has ADSL. We are continually working to improve our service.

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.9 km away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
883 reviews
1.2 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
82 reviews
0.1 km away
Strahan Beach Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
285 reviews
0.4 km away
Driftwood Strahan Villas
Driftwood Strahan Villas
#5 of 20 in Strahan
77 reviews
0.2 km away
Strahan Bungalows
Strahan Bungalows
#3 of 20 in Strahan
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Strahan Holiday Retreat is situated on 11 acres of tall trees and Platypus streams. Perfect for families or large groups. There is an eclectic mix of cottages and cabins that range from Studios to four bedrooms homes. Most accommodation is larger than average with room to move and fully equipped with everything you need for an overnight stay or longer. Serviced and un-serviced sites offer camp kitchens and family bathrooms. There is a Cafe and shop on-site and a tour desk and activity hire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Strahan Holiday Retreat

Address: 8-10 Innes St, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Price Range: €65 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strahan Holiday Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Strahan Holiday Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Strahan Holiday Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get one with a queen bed away from the road ,29 in the one we had and it was quiet”
LisaD19, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go elsewhere!”
Q3437MObrucem, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you have a large group get the house, otherwise there are cabins available”
1234Col, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were in cabin 22”
164andrewc164, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“request a room away from the road and cafe”
toowelltravelled64, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$80* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$80
TravelocityUS$80
TripAdvisorUS$80
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates