We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ark Stanley

Save
Share
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (31)
Overview
18 Wharf Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331 Australia See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Breakfast included
4.5 Star accommodation
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
216
20
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
216
20
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadmiral suitedouble showertim tamsyogurthome madeunderfloor heatingheated floorshome growncoffee machineattention to detailhair straightenershomemade jamsrestaurants and shopscontinental breakfaston arrivalgreat hostshighly recommend staying here
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 245 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Had a lovely comfortable 2 nights. Beautiful view from our room and our hosts gave 100% in all areas. The room was beautifully decorated and cleanliness was 100% Would love to return some day. Hosts were very helpful in giving us suggestions where to visit...More

Thank neuendorf58
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

What a lovely surprise to arrive at The Ark in Stanley. Chris and Rhonda gave us a warm welcome and orientated us to the accommodation and the area, including places to eat at that night. Beautifully restored and clean, comfortable and quirky. Providing high end...More

Thank kendsued
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second trip to Stanley, and to "The Ark". The accommodation was first rate, comfortable with excellent furnishings, very comfortable bed and our own balcony (we had the upstairs apartment) Rhonda and Chris made us feel so welcome. Having an amazing cooked breakfast...More

Thank guitarman56
Response from Rhonda R, Owner at The Ark StanleyResponded 1 week ago

Hi there guitarman56 Welcome back to The Ark, and to Stanley, and thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again. We're happy to have been able to pop you in our Admiral Suite for this stay - we knew you would love...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at 6pm and owners complained that I was late and that they'd been trying to call me. When I booked 5pm cut off for reception wasn't pointed out. I walked into my room, The Corinthian up the back and had people walking past my...More

Thank Roz P
Response from Rhonda R, Owner at The Ark StanleyResponded 4 days ago

We’re sorry you were disappointed with your stay Roz, but are concerned about your comments and thoughts as they very much differ with the many other reviews we’ve received. You phoned us when you arrived at 6.30pm and we were relieved to hear from you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love Stanley and I think part of the appeal is that I've stayed in The Ark every time I've come. It is so beautifully and luxuriously appointed and is a wonderful place to come home to after getting all cold walking around the Nut....More

Thank deSchone
Response from Rhonda R, Owner at The Ark StanleyResponded 1 week ago

Thank you deSchone for your review of The Ark. Stanley truly is a magical place and it''s wonderful to see the effect it can have on some - calling you back to visit again and again, or perhaps buy a little property here for vacation!?...More

View more reviews
About
Description
The Guest House The Ark Stanley is situated in Stanley Tasmania, a restored period residence, positioned directly opposite Tatlow’s Beach and at the base of the plug of an extinct volcano standing approximately ...More 150 metres high, known as The Nut. Our location takes in sweeping views across Sawyers Bay, and of course upward to the impressive and towering Nut. The Circular Head area, and the township of Stanley in particular, is a much-loved tourist destination and has something for all, be they adventurer, explorer, naturalist, historian, fisherman, romantic or holidaymaker. The residence has recently been tastefully restored, renovated and enhanced. With an eclectic decor, paying homage to yesteryear and planning for the future, an outstanding home has been created which is proudly offered for guest accommodation. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
5
Price range
US$88 - US$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
5
Price range
US$88 - US$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Photos
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (31)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Stanley Village Waterfront Accommodation
170 reviews
.19 km away
Stanley Hotel
217 reviews
.50 km away
Stanley Seaview Inn
575 reviews
1.60 km away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
362 reviews
18.12 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 23 restaurants in Stanley
Touchwood Cafe
280 reviews
.55 km away
Moby Dicks Breakfast Bar
314 reviews
.30 km away
Stanley Hotel Bistro
715 reviews
.46 km away
Xanders Restaurant
71 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 18 attractions in Stanley
The Nut State Reserve
906 reviews
.40 km away
Stanley Heritage Walk
45 reviews
.99 km away
Stanley Visitor Information Centre
41 reviews
.88 km away
Stanley Seal Cruises
57 reviews
.35 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Ark Stanley staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"All the rooms are nice, but upstairs is more spacious."
Read review
"Rooms at the front have gorgeous views of the water."
Read review
"The Weatherly suite is more private, separate to the main house"
Read review
"If stairs are a problem, the room on the ground floor on the right was great."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing