We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Little Devil Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huonville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Little Devil Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 18: English reviews
Start your review of Little Devil Backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is second time i have stayed at the little devils, I prefer to stay in my own tent as it is the cheaper option,and the best way to get to meet new people,During summer it is very easy to get a job close to the hostel and sometimes transport is supplied. Woolworths is ten minutes walk and most afternoons...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeb m
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First couple weeks I stay in the main building-well they have couple different building- .the room was good , the cleanliness very good ,surprisingly my mattress is real one too not just thin foam like in other backpacker that I experience in other places. I came specifically for cherry season . I came early far before the season start ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roo985
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I came here wanting to see the southern part of Tasmania and to complete our 417 farm work. As soon as we got here, the staff sorted us out with work and a spot to pitch our tent. They were really helpful and friendly. Neither of us had a valid licence so the owner drove us forty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KidFrank
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I'v been here almost 5 month now . My starting of Tasmania was here and last night might be here i think. Had lots of happy memory here with variety of nationalities. If you are not outgoing and too shy person then probably not suitable here . But if you want travel with nice friends and don't scared about hang...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rira H
Yokohama, Japan
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed in little devil backpackers about 4 months. And it was good time. Because i could meet many people and deferent nationality. And Hostel owner is helpfully. Huonville is good location. If you go to ・supermarket about 5 minutes by car ・city about 30 minutes by car ・mountain about 40 minutes by car ・beach about 40 minutes by car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chiichan1208
Huonville, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2017

I gotta admit that I'd read all those bad reviews prior to my arrival and wasn't so sure about coming here, but now that I've been staying here for 4 months, I'd say I made a right decision coming here. I stay in the camp site(the best) and I had so many great nights to remember with all those great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _tkl_grex
Osaka, Japan
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I have stayed for 3 - 4 months. David who is owner in this backpackers. He gave me jobs twice. If you want to get jobs, there is pretty good. And many kind of nationality people lives in there. You can make a lot of friends. If I can, I want to come back here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tmrkty
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the garden 'camp side' of Little Devils for 3 months. With the possibility to hang out in the other buildings as well. Enough space for cooking, a big walk in fridge and many hang out spots. Val & David are running the place in an open minded way, the $1 for every shower is only a bit weird....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jelle N
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Poorly organised, was advised that I could hitch hike to a strawberry farm I didn't know the location of after signing up and receiving a picking number. This was the extent of their "helping with employment" The facilities are awful and falling to pieces, it's also incredibly dirty. You need to pay a $200 security deposit (normal), $40 for pots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfie W
David S, General Manager at Little Devil Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Alfie, Thank you for you review, however you may have forgotten to mention that you hadn't even finished the check-in process before I got you your first high paying cherry job. I even personally escorted you down to the farm on your first day. I think you may also have forgotten to mention the well paid hourly apple job...

Leiden, Nederland
Reviewed 5 March 2016

I stayed for almost four months at this hostel. If you’re in Huonville for just a couple of days or maybe even up to two weeks this hostel is fine but the longer you stay the more you realize all the things that are wrong with this place and its management. Upon arrival I had to pay a $200 security...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank yentltoet
David S, Manager at Little Devil Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Yentltoet, yes thank you for your review. My initial reaction however, is that a couple of things don't ring true. If the place was so horrible as you say, why stay for 4 months? You could have easily checked out with a full refund of your security deposit no questions asked. In fact security deposits are always returned in...

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huonville hotels
0.2 km away
Huonville Guesthouse
Huonville Guesthouse
#4 of 5 in Huonville
69 reviews
2.3 km away
Huon Valley Eco Wilderness Retreat
2.4 km away
Walton House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Huon Valley Bed and Breakfast
6.3 km away
Huon Bush Retreats
Huon Bush Retreats
#2 of 6 in Huonville
192 reviews
2.9 km away
House on the Hill Country Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Little Devil Backpackers is a cosy home away from home, with plenty of work opportunities for those travellers on working holiday visas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Little Devil Backpackers

Address: 201 Main St, Huonville, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Huonville
Price Range: €17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Little Devil Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room in the house is the quietest option.”
jebm2017, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The tent site”
_tkl_grex, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room number 8”
226carloa, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
3 of 3