We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 276: English reviews
Start your review of BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
 Click to rate
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are travelling Tasmania and have booked in the Wineglass Bay cruise. The accommodation was suggested by the tourist information centre mainly due to the proximity of the cruise, the price range and availability of accommodation. We have not stayed in caravans parks since we sold our van two years ago. We found the cabin comfortable however a few suggestions....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam A
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed 2 nights in one of the cabins at Big4 Iluka on Freycinet. Close proximity to Freycinet National Park was important to us. The cabin was an excellent size with a main bedroom and a second bedroom with 4 bunk beds. There were only the two of us so plenty of space. Only one bathroom but I guess you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindsayMann
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was staying for 2 days at the hostel. Found everything clean and well organised. The only negatives were that WiFi did not work inside the hostel and there was only 1 powerpoint in a 4 bed dorm which made it a battle for charging appliances. Location was good with the pub and beach around the corner and a short walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hi Ben, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay in our legendary hostel. Yes, WIFI is rather inconsistent here on the peninsula. Regarding powerpoints there are a plethora of them throughout the hostel building, kitchen, common room you were welcome to make use of. Kind Regards, the Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Considering there isn't a huge amount of competition in the area for caravan parks I'd say this one was fairly well priced. Handy shop, pub and fuel there. The park was well maintained and good amenities. FYI they ideally like 10 dollar cash refundable deposit for amenities key. Only reason why not 5 star rating is most of the sites...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hi Rob, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Glad you found almost everything to your liking apart from the powered sites not being private, but that is camping on the Freycinet Peninsula. Kind Regards, the Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for one night on a powered site. Friendly and helpful staff, clean amenities and camp grounds. There is a fantastic bbq area and the playground is great for kids with a variety of play equipment. Has the beach across the road, pub and supermarket just in front of the entrance. Although we only stayed one night we enjoyed our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pro T
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Dear Pro T, Thank you for submitting a review, it is much appreciated. It is a great spot here at Iluka as everything is conveniently located including natural wonders & we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, the Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had four nights away in Coles Bay at the BIG4 Iluka. The cabins are very well stocked with everything that you will need and fresh linens and towels are supplied. The proximity to the beach is fantastic and there is a take away, a small convenience store and a pub and bottle shop all within a 2 minutes walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tkoning
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hi There, Feedback is important to us, and we appreciate you taking the time to submit it. We are extremely glad you enjoyed all that was on offer here and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, the Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed two nights in a camper at Iluka. Our pitch was good but not flat, close to all the amenities, kitchen and playground. Amenities were clean, plenty of bins. BBQ area was adequate but only 2 small BBQ's. Playground was great and the kids spent a lot of time there with other kids from the park. Campsite is close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Sarah, Thanking you for writing a review, and glad your experience was what you expected. Kind Regards, the Manager

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a glorious stay here. Such a quiet place , everyone seemed very respectful. Our chalet was fabulous & only 2 minutes walk to the sea. The staff were all friendly & helpful. Couldn't fault it & hope to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny W
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hi Penny, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy you had a great stay & Iluka met your expectations, it is a wonderful place to rest & unwind surrounded by natural bush. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, the General Manager

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have holidayed at many well maintained caravan and camping grounds around Australia and this was our first trip to Tasmania and looking forward to exploring this great place! The day earlier we had left Port Arthur after staying at a really nice caravan park! When checking inat the Big 4 Coles Bay the young lady (maybe a backpacker) nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Jenny, Whilst we welcome comments and feedback, regarding the business they must be accurate and not personal towards our team. The young lady you assumed to be a backpacker is an Australian Citizen & a valuable member of our team. The person you referred to as her assistant, does not work in the front of house office at all,...

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Camped here for 1 week, great spot to explore the area. Facilities are clean, showers hot, free wifi , camp kitchens. Pub, bakery, Convenience Store next door, beach across the road, fun fishing for young kids 1 minute walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
Iluka_Holiday, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hi Brad, Your feedback is important to us, thank you for taking time to submit it. Glad you enjoyed your camping experience with us here at Iluka, hope you caught some fish!! Kind Regards, Front Office Manager

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
27.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
18.1 km away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
406 reviews
2.5 km away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
367 reviews
7.5 km away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
83 reviews
27.5 km away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet (formerly known as Iluka Holiday Centre) sits opposite Muirs Beach at Coles Bay on the beautiful East Coast of Tasmania. It's an ideal location from which to explore world renowned Freycinet National Park and Wineglass Bay. The area is rich in stunning natural beauty, great walks and history. It abounds in fresh local produce from berries to wine and seafood. Whether a couple looking for a quiet weekend or a family wanting a fun holiday we offer a wide variety of accommodation options: 2 bedroom units, cosy cabins, powered and tent sites, YHA backpackers hostel. Minimum booking periods over long weekends, Christmas and Easter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Address: 15 Reserve Road | PO Box 44, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly Iluka Holiday Centre)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Price Range: €85 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Iluka On Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Holiday park for tents, caravans camper vans also cabins available.”
 of 5 bubbles barrettg41, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Having a self-contained Cabin was worth paying extra”
 of 5 bubbles 519judyh, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are plenty of options for accommodation here ranging from camping to hostel to luxury holiday apartments.”
 of 5 bubbles wildpoppy_8, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book the 2 Bedroom Holiday unit if you are a family, the other cabins are too small.”
 of 5 bubbles markkarenr, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Double rooms”
 of 5 bubbles DrAbhijitDas, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5