We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Edgewater

Expedia.comUS$66*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$68*
US$66*
US$68*
US$68*
US$66*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Edgewater
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Edgewater
See the most recent reviews
Showing 107: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Overall is was a motel room, furniture placement made it hard to do any work and there were limited power points too. Overall the room was very dusty and you didn't have to look too hard. The worst thing was the shower, you would get it right and then get a burst of hot water, you would spend most of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank das1234
Owner_Edgewater, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback. You made the comment "hard to do any work", it sounds as if you stayed in one of our budget rooms. If you are a business traveler, we do have larger rooms fitted with work areas which are very popular with our corporate clients.

Mornington, Australia
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Good clean accommodation very close to the ferry terminal. If you are arriving on the day ferry it can be as late as 8pm by the time you clear the terminal, so the Edgewater hotel is ideally suited. We had the executive suite with heaps of room and two TVs with views of the water. We will stay again on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have so many guests that rave about us but only a few take the time to share their great experience online. We look forward to your return.

Berwick, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2016

This Motel is actually part of a Hotel with Bistro and gaming located 5 mins from the Ferry. The room was a typical motel room with a good and comfy King Bed, table & chairs, armchair and TV, and spacious bathroom. All rooms are off a central hallway with a securely locked front door. Downside - our room was at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jetaway08
Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Small room with the smallest ensuite I have ever seen, less than a metre wide, not enough room to bend over the basin without hitting the towel rail behind or the mirror in front. It may be convenient to the ferries, you can hear and feel the vibration when they come and go. The staff in the restaurant were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

We picked this hotel because of its proximity to the spirit of Tasmania. I wasn't expecting much but loved our stay. The room was really nice & pleasant. We also enjoyed dinner in the bistro & the staff were really friendly. Great value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. Many of our first-timers are pleasantly surprised with our accommodation, restaurant and friendly team. Trust you had a great time in Tasmania.

Merimbula, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

We weren't expecting much, as the location was what we were after. We were pleasantly surprised, as for the price and the fact it was all good, it is worth a four. As for proximity to the Spirit of Tasmania ship - it's basically 100m away. The food in the restaurant was very good too. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TerryAustralia2015
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, which we have passed onto our team.

Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed here due to the proximity to the Spirit of Tasmania terminal and based on reviews expected a decent hotel but boy was I wrong. I'll try to sum it up in point form; * This is a 1 star MOTEL not a 4 star hotel as advertised. * The room had an overwhelming stench of urine - we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tolga T
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We were surprised that you endured till your departure to inform us, instead of raising the matter on check-in. Had we known, we would have moved and upgraded you to another room, without question or hesitation (subject to availability).

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before boarding the spirit of Tasmania, room smelt like urine, lights didn't work, room look nothing like the advertisement, bathroom stunk and staff were unhelpful when we brought the issue up. Disappointing !!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sonia_tt16
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We were surprised that you endured till your departure to inform us, instead of raising the matter on check-in. Had we known, we would have moved and upgraded you to another room, without question or hesitation (subject to availability).

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 29 December 2015

We stayed here due to early morning departure of ferry. It's not the classiest place or most appealing, but it was fine for us for one night. There is no way I would stay here for more than that. The room was spacious but lacked free wi-fi. That's a huge negative. 7.50 per hour is ridiculous & not worth it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HLS688
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Many thanks for your response, we believe our location (next to Spirit of Tasmania) is a great benefit to our customers. As for free wi-fi.... its on the way, but in the meantime we have a PAYG service. Kind regards.

St Helens, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Parking outside the door. We had a clean and comfortable room with King bed, although a bit hard and could do with a "topper" to improve comfort with a plush feel. Compact ensuite had a good shower and the Heatpump/Airconditioner great. The meals in the Restaurant were a great standard... the Calamari and Garlic Prawns excellent !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MauriceJohn13
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Great to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.6 km away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
512 reviews
1.3 km away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
93 reviews
0.9 km away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
15.5 km away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
224 reviews
0.7 km away
Dannebrog Lodge
Dannebrog Lodge
#2 of 14 in Devonport
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Edgewater's Bistro
Edgewater's Bistro
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Seafood, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Edgewater Hotel! Edgewater is recognised as Devonport’s best value accommodation complex. The property includes 42 rooms, Bistro, Bar and Function room and is perfect for business or pleasure. Rooms feature king size beds, bathrooms, flat screen TVs, wireless internet, FREE Austar, air-conditioning, new furnishings, and a great welcome. Try us... you won't be disappointed! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: 4 Thomas St, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Price Range: €54 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Devonport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Edgewater staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“water frount rooms are great for watching the ships sail up the river, basic rooms are quieter. Higher floors are more expensive”
457leslien, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay in an executive room if possible.”
Deblezuu, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“I like the second floor rooms, more quit”
MichaelFairfax, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are better if you have luggage.”
751helenw, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great if you are travelling on the Spirit. Bring ear plugs if not.”
AJ292, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$66* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$68
TravelocityUS$66
Hotwire.comUS$66
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates