We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,009 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,933: English reviews
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We were in one of the newly renovated contemporary cabins, and it was very comfortable and warm. I agree that when you are paying big bucks it is high time they invested in some televisions with Foxtel for the rooms, at the end of a long day walking, it is nice to have the option of putting your feet up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite B
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We had a spa cabin for three nights and from the start had great service and a very comfortable stay. It's not a place to expect all the mod-cons (no TV, Telstra coverage but no Optus) but that's great when all you can do is sit by the fire, read and walk in the most beautiful environment at your doorstep....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melbster
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback on your recent stay. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and that you enjoyed breakfast, dinner in Highland Restaurant and general service from our team. Please accept my apologies with regard to the staff in the Tavern, we do...

Sydney
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Cradle Mountain itself is absolutely mind blowing. Cradle Mountain Lodge is old and tired. The cabin was spacious but not nowhere near the level that the price would indicate. The pipes on the hot water froze, something that apparently do every freezing night. The Maintaince dude who got it unfrozen told us that fixing would require him to insulate the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Graeme P
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. The night that the pipes froze was one of the coldest I can recall in Cradle Mountain as it did get down to -7. What you have been told by the maintenance person was incorrect...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Arrived to a pleasant and helpful receptionist. Entering the room we find a trundle bed in the middle of the floor. No TV (in their defence the website does state that when you go looking) but for $270 per night I would expect one. We went to the Tavern for dinner and that's it for Us. Food was burnt, Cold,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Shane R
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback during your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects. Pleased to hear you enjoyed the beer, however my apologies regarding the Tavern food, I do hope you spoke with one of our Supervisors so they could fix the matter for you. We are proud of the fact...

Robina, Australia
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We had the Spa Cabin and have had 2 supurb nights and 3 heavenly days. With a fire place and furry woodland creatures to bring special joy. The fine dining restaurant has a 2 choice menu. Entre, Main and Dessert OR Main and Dessert. This is open to 0830 pm and this room serves breaky you can buy a cappichino...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are glad you found the properties walks and the spotlight tour to your liking. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Sydney
Reviewed 7 July 2015

The Cradle Mountain Lodge has a long history and is a very pleasant place to stay. It is possibly in need of a 'facelift' but all in all, it is most agreeable and very comfortable. The lounge and bar areas were always warm with raging log fires creating a very pleasant ambiance. It is a child friendly place and young...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank saffronpixi
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear you are impressed with the breakfast, walks, wildlife, staff and dinner in Highland Restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Perth Hills, Australia
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

This premises is like a Scouts Camp. Certainly not luxurious by any means. Extremely basic and very overpriced for what is offered. Staff seem uninterested in any form of customer service. Location is good so you are a captive audience at the Resort as there is not a lot of options for accommodation in the National Park. Food is extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Leah C
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I must admit to being perplexed by your review as it is very different to our normal feedback. I appreciate that you have provided your review and I can only apologize. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Peppers Cradle...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2015

We stayed in the contemporary spa cabin for $310 per night, it was small but cosy with a gas fire heater and bath spa. When checking in they required to authorise my credit card not just with the accommodation price but with an extra $100 incase we used anything from the mini bar or did activities (no choice on this),...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 398kands
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. With regard to the credit card pre authorisation this is standard practice world wide, the charge should have married up with the pre auth though and it is for the bank to arrange this, if this does happen again please let us know as we can contact...

Moreton Bay Region, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

The location for this place for me was the real winner. Unfortunately the food options, of which are very limited on the top of the mountain, let this place down. Every meal I experienced at both the bar/tavern and restaurant were overpriced and very average. I paid $5.00 for a coke and my pumpkin soup was the worst I have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ElliePrice
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. Thanks for your pleasing comments regarding the location and food in Highland Restaurant. Please accept my apologies regarding your soup in the Tavern, I do hope you advised the Supervisor in there so they could fix this for you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

We arrived to the excitement of snow. How lucky. Bush walks were excellent. Would recommend the King Billy walk. It was a treat not having a TV blaring in the background in the cabin. We had a gas fire in the family cabin. Breakfast was ok. Fireplace in the restaurant was the hero.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J_and_A_33
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience snow, it is certainly magical when that happens. The King Billy Walk is my favourite as well and thanks for your pleasing comments surrounding no TV's, most people feel the same. We hope to...

1,015 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (990)
Viewed
Room/Suite (185)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (251)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (404)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2.5 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
895 reviews
39.5 km away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
90 reviews
2.2 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
663 reviews
1.9 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
394 reviews
66.2 km away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. Road Closures: There are a number of road closures around Tasmania at the moment that are affecting accessibility to Cradle Mountain. The Kimberley bridge in between Elizabeth town and Railton on the B13 is closed until further notice as the bridge has collapsed. The C138 from Mole Creek to Gowrie Park is inaccessible as the road has been closed due to the recent flooding. The C137 however from Mole Creek through Paradise just outside of Sheffield is open and a good way to bypass around the closures. For additional information please refer to the Tas police and Kentish council websites to get the most up to date information. As mentioned, if this could be worded “Getting to Cradle Mountain” and on the first page of the website. For more information feel free to contact us on (03) 6492 2100. Drive safe and see you soon! ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: €202 - €579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had cabin 35, very quiet and not too far away from the Lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles MichelleH762, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It is mainly individual cabin accomodation”
 of 5 bubbles EllenC903, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Balcony cabin by the lake was great for 3.”
 of 5 bubbles I7675VTlaurenh, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose rooms closer to the main lodge building if you do not bring your car!”
 of 5 bubbles andrewcQ4795YT, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best to go to the camp ground”
 of 5 bubbles 807stephend, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay