We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,007 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,931: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We loved our stay. The pencil pine cabin was large and cosy with a nice gas heater. The shower was great. The Highland restaurant was like a ski lodge look and very tasty. Best of all, this place is within the national park. How lucky can you get? 1,000 year old King Billy pines, spectacular waterfalls, deep, layered, ancient ecosystems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank banksia77
Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and sad to say that we were most disappointed with the experience. We both agreed that it's a mix between Kellermans ( think along Dirty Dancing resort) and your worst ever school camp and you pretty much have an idea... I'll start with the positive - Location and staff & that's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuvvyAustralia
Manly, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We love the Cradle Mtn area and have done a number of the long Tasmanian walks such as the Overland Trail over the years. Great to have a high quality hotel option as we get a touch longer in the tooth ,and enjoy a king size bed and fine meal after a day's walk. Multi- national staff are all cheerful...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidbE7618CB
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear davidbE7618CB, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon. Sincere best wishes, Oliver and the Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Team

Brisbane
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

No internet. The cabins lacked soundproofing so we heard our neighbors nocturnal antics. The main restaurant (not bar) was extremely poor both with food and service at breakfast & dinner & was v overpriced

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A8160CDadamw
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear A8160CDadamw, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects. It disappoints me to hear we did not meet your expectations regarding WiFi in the guest cabins. We are currently working with the national carrier to improve infrastructure and 4G signal to the area -...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have spent 7 days at Pepper's Cradle Mountain Lodge over Christmas 2016. The area is a hikers paradise. You can take the most amazing walks whether it is for one hour, all day or the overland tour of 6 days. The vegation is beautifully preserved and protected with many board walks installed into areas you would find difficult to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ellen C, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects. We are happy to hear that you were impressed with our location and proximity to local attractions. I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that...

Suffolk Park, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We loved Cradle Mountain and Peppers Resort. We had wombats and wallabies in our backyard! The fireplace was cosy and beds were comfortable. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. The tavern/bistro was a great relaxing atmosphere for families which we thought was well priced. Only complaint was the freezing tiles on the bathroom floor. All in all a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deanne F
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Deanne F, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday. Thank you for your comments regarding the bathroom floor tiles - I have noted this feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Lodge and the food services all need an urgent makeover. My advice to Peppers is to send down your best resort manager to advise on how improvements could be made. Otherwise the Peppers brand will suffer. The location is perfect and there is little competition (and maybe that's why standards appear to have slipped). The food we ate in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrevorLK
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear TrevorLK, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We are happy to hear you were impressed with our location. Please accept my apologies in regards to the issues you have raised regarding your meal in the Tavern; I am following this...

Toormina, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed two nights at Peppers and enjoyed it very much. Our cabin was very comfortable and had an excellent bed and a good shower with well screened windows. The free laundry was a bonus as we had been travelling for a while . It was lovely to look out of the window in the early mornings and the evenings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JPC2452
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JPC2452, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday. Please accept my apologies regarding the blowfly inundation we experienced during your stay - thank you for your suggestion of screening or a zapper. We are...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I would give CML a 3.5 star rating if there was one. The setting is wonderful. Relaxing on our balcony was very peaceful - no cars, no aircon, just crisp clean mountain air and green. Two wombats right by our front door. And it's completely fine by me that there is no tv and restricted wifi - detox in nature,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lauren H, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects. We are very happy to hear you were impressed with the location and our proximity to local attraction. Thank you also for your positive feedback regarding staff on the whole. I regret the shortcomings in...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly associates, nice breakfast and dinner. Café offers all day dining that fits anyone's plan for touring around. But no need to join the Spot Light Tour that is not that interesting. Great location for visiting the national park any time. We walked the Dove Lake Circuit in the morning then returned to the lodge for a short rest and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shufany2017
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear shufany2017, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you were impressed with our location and proximity to local attraction. Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding our night spotlight tour - I have shared your comments with our Activities team. Please also accept my apologies...

1,015 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (990)
Viewed
Room/Suite (185)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (251)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (404)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2.5 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
894 reviews
39.5 km away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
90 reviews
2.2 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
663 reviews
1.9 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
393 reviews
66.2 km away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. Road Closures: There are a number of road closures around Tasmania at the moment that are affecting accessibility to Cradle Mountain. The Kimberley bridge in between Elizabeth town and Railton on the B13 is closed until further notice as the bridge has collapsed. The C138 from Mole Creek to Gowrie Park is inaccessible as the road has been closed due to the recent flooding. The C137 however from Mole Creek through Paradise just outside of Sheffield is open and a good way to bypass around the closures. For additional information please refer to the Tas police and Kentish council websites to get the most up to date information. As mentioned, if this could be worded “Getting to Cradle Mountain” and on the first page of the website. For more information feel free to contact us on (03) 6492 2100. Drive safe and see you soon! ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: €201 - €579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is mainly individual cabin accomodation”
 of 5 bubbles EllenC903, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Balcony cabin by the lake was great for 3.”
 of 5 bubbles I7675VTlaurenh, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose rooms closer to the main lodge building if you do not bring your car!”
 of 5 bubbles andrewcQ4795YT, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best to go to the camp ground”
 of 5 bubbles 807stephend, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The King Billy suites have a good set up, separating sleep and lounge areas”
 of 5 bubbles Kleinewurstsemmel, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay