We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain

Agoda.comUS$70*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$156*
US$70*
Great Deal
US$78*
US$78*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Showing 406: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Had a 2 bedroom spa cottage for 2 nights. Cottage very clean and well equipped kitchen. Brought our own food from strahan as previous reports said that food was expensive. Cottage set in bush very peaceful with wildlife at your door step. No internet at cottage only near shop. Walking distance to visitors centre to cradle mountain. Beds comfortable. Took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Narembeen
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that your stay was a peaceful one and you enjoyed the local wildlife. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Burwood, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We were expecting a motel room with a bathroom included. Found a room with a double bed and a bunk bed, a communal kitchen and shared bathroom/toilets... Not happy. The information is not plainly available on the booking sites. Make sure you check and double-check what you're getting. Fundamentally, this is a caravan park, therefore expect to be camping there,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LRom4U
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of the accommodation, but that you were otherwise pleased with our location and available equipment. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

After spending Christmas here I would recommend it to anyone. The amenities are modern, clean and well set out. The camp sites are private, screened on three sides with natural vegetation, paths are well sign posted.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

How lovely that after spending Christmas holidays at our park that you would recommend us to anyone, Barbara! Thank you for sharing your feedback on our amenities, accommodation and natural surrounds.

Reviewed 29 December 2016

We stayed there for three nights and found the stay was nice and comfortable. Kitchen was well-equipped and we could prepare our own meals every day. The kiosk at the reception also served as a safety net for us when we have forgotten to bring any specific items to the remote area of Cradle Mountain. But the room was cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of our customer service and accommodation, Elizabeth. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we're glad that you had an otherwise comfortable stay at our park.

Moree
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We were welcomed with exceptional customer service by Claire who went the extra mile to accommodate a parking space for our trailer. The cabin comfortably fitted 6 of us and was warm and cozy even with the snow. We enjoyed walking around the campground area and saw wildlife at dusk. The camp kitchen is one of the best we've seen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simmostyle
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you appreciated our customer service. It's lovely that you had the opportunity to enjoy the wildlife and go for walks around the mountain. Thank you for your review and we do hope you return!

Melbourne
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We just had a fabulous stay here with our 3 kids. It's in a fabulous location basically across the road from the visitor centre. The shop is handy and we liked how the cabins felt like they were in the bush. Our cottage was much more spacious than we expected and the (two) heaters worked well - important as its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wheressharon
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're glad that you appreciated our staff's level of customer service and you enjoyed our nifty location. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Coral Bay, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Cabins great and well equipped but beds need an urgent update for $230 do not expect to feel springs in bed. Lack of sleep does not make good day. Cabins are warm and have great cooking gear, hot water and clean but beds are what we remember.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the beds in our cabins, but happy that you otherwise enjoyed the accommodation. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Chris.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Stayed in the self contained cabins, which are a little bit pricey but in keeping with all prices on the mountain. We found the cabin (which apparently can hold 6) more than adequate for the two of usthough I can't imagine having any more than two kids with you, there would be no where for them to sit to eat....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newpip
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you were comfortable in the cabin and that you got to see a bit of snow! Thank you for sharing your review.

Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

It is a very complete cabin with comfortable living room. There is a fire place to keep us warm during the cold weather. Kitchen is well-equipped with all kinds of utensils. A great place to have a warm meal. Bathroom and toilet are separate and clean. Bedroom is quite small though and mattress are too soft. You can't move without...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 60audreyl
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We agree - the cabins are a wonderful place to have a warm, cozy meal with your family. We're happy to hear you had a great time at our park. Thank you for sharing your review, Audrey.

Samosir Island, Indonesia
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

For the price of the cabin the quality of the bed was awful with both my partner and I experiencing sore backs and a bad night sleep. There was also no soap in the bathroom dispensers. The staff at check in were lovely though and the heaters in the cabin were toasty warm. We stayed in the spa cabin but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay, but happy that you appreciated our level of customer service. Should you wish to discuss your feedback further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Sally.

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
4.7 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
964 reviews
3.7 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
702 reviews
2.5 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
761 reviews
62.4 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
351 reviews
58.8 km away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain

Address: Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: €47 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Geelong, Australia
11 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins were very private and nestled among the trees and wildlife.”
  • Paddymelon taken from the window of my bedroom.
  • Our little 2 bedroom cabin.
77kaya, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book early in peak periods to avoid disappointment as Accommodation is limited in Cradle Mountain.”
normanh414, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bunk rooms (1-12 )have their own kitchen attached, whereas the shared bunk rooms (13-18) have facilities a minutes walk away.”
roseyshell, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The unpowered sites were great.”
gosnm, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We camped and all the sites were well positioned”
1234Col, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$70* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$78
Expedia.comUS$78
Ctrip.comUS$156
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates