We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 387: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Park is nice with good facilities and located very conveniently in Cradle Mountain. The only complain is that it is very noisy in the economy cabins. These cabins are all connected to each other with very thin walls, every movement inside the cabins makes a lot of noise, sleeping is close to impossible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lloyd255100
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of the cabin, but glad that you enjoyed the facilities and the location. Thank you for sharing your review.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

You are to stay in one of the best places in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain National Park offers beautiful sceneries with easy - advances walking tracks. Discovery Parks offers convenient rooms, great location and very reasonable prices!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nosimonov
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're happy to know that you appreciated the location and we were convenient for your stay in the area. Thank you for your review!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was an excellent place to camp. We only stayed overnight but the staff were welcoming and friendly, the faciities are everything you need and clean. The camp kitchen was brilliant with a communal wood fire and friendly conversation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blitzen123
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear that camping was pleasant and our facilities had everything you needed for your stay. Thank you for the review!

Murdunna, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed on an unpowered site for 3 nights. The amenities block was a good walk away, the camp kitchen closer. There was lots of very hot water for showers and washing dishes. The camp kitchen was warm, with a lovely log fire burning all day. We enjoyed meeting other people in the kitchen, sharing travel and living experiences. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear you had a positive experience socialising with other guests and sharing stories - probably one of the best parts about life on the road! Thank you for sharing your feedback on our facilities and sites, Jennifer. We're glad that you came back for another stay.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't stay in the budget family rooms if you want to get some sleep. The bunk beds are metal and squeak LOUDLY every time someone moves or turns over, waking everyone up all night. They are expensive for what you get.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the family rooms at our park, Steve. Should you wish to discuss your feedback further, please feel free to contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for sharing your review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at unpowered camping site, handy location to cradle mountain visitor centre, friendly staff and nice facilities. Camp kitchen has got outdoor & indoor bbq, pizza oven, kettle, hot plate, toaster, microwave and fridge! However .. the area is very cold at night even in the summer

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carrie K
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

It's great to hear the facilities were of good use during your stay, Carrie! Thank you for sharing your review.

Egham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cabin was ok. Decent sized kitchen area. Bathroom had a hot tub in it (but with a crack in the wall, I'm guessing where someone fell against the wall). Bedrooms were tight for space. I had to fix the window in one of the rooms to make it close. Gas fire was good. The cabin got really cold overnight though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear that you had an overall positive stay at our park, Jonathan. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a unisex dorm room (turned out to just be with 2 other females). Room was very clean- sheets, blanket and a towel are provided. There is a cupboard in the room for storage as well as power points, a heater and reading lamps for each bunk. The walls are very thin so suggest bringing earplugs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizat88
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear that after your stay in our bunkhouse that you would recommend our park to others! Thank you for sharing your suggestions and feedback, Eliza.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best holiday parks I have ever been in! The site was ok. We hired the unpowered site for $42 per nite (powered sites were full), it's a bit small with a few bushes making it hard to set up our overly large tents. But the thing i really like about the site (GS 10) is that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank official m
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We LOVE to hear that our park is one of the best you've been to. The feedback regarding our cabin and facilities will be noted, as we look to continue to make improvements to our park. Thank you for sharing your review!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location with friendly staff and clean cabin with everything we needed for our stay, cooked in cabin due to wet weather. Nice comfortable bed with electric blankets. Parking at our door in a bush setting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Nothing better than the comforts of a cabin when it's a bit chilly. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, customer service, and the electric blankets! Thank you for sharing your review, Christine.

199 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
0.8 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
915 reviews
38.5 km away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
96 reviews
0.8 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
717 reviews
1.9 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,058 reviews
66.1 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain

Address: Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: €63 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Geelong, Australia
8 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room in quieter area”
 of 5 bubbles nosimonov, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All cottages set in bush.”
 of 5 bubbles Narembeen, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only cabins have attached bathrooms, but they are much more expensive, especially in peak season.”
 of 5 bubbles LRom4U, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cabin for 6 is better suited for 2-4”
 of 5 bubbles newpip, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All cabins are in good locations.”
 of 5 bubbles jchbuz, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5