We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Norwood Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Norwood Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 84: English reviews
Start your review of Norwood Mountain Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Stayed at the lodge for 2 nights. The accomodation was great but the service was brilliant.The host made us feel genuinely welcome.Breakfast was very good.Tony gave us useful suggestions for places to see in the limited amount of time we had available. We would throughly recommended this hotel for a stay.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank travellerktm
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We were rather impressed with this place. Hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Dinner was really good- it is only available thur-Sunday but for us this was perfect, and reasonably priced. Be sure to try the goat it was AMAZING! Rooms were basic but comfortable with doors leading out to the car park or into the hotel. The only thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeganmCAD
London, UK
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We took an overnight trip with some friends from Sydney to the Blue Mountains and I chose this hotel based on reviews. For one night it was adequate but there were some disappointments. Positives: a) Even in October the evenings were cold and the heat was on for the evening and in the morning which was most welcome. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SJS15
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Friendly welcome on arrival by Tony, which was topped by him asking about our reason for staying and offered an iron and board for clothes pressing and a morning after taxi service if we decided to drink and not drive. Room was small, quaint but adequate for our one night. Bed very comfortable. Bathroom clean and modern but we certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
australia
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Sorry, but for $200 per night I expect at least basic standards. The bathroom was overrun with tiny bugs in the morning, even all over the towels and our toothbrushes. The water pressure in the shower was non existant; a mere trickle. The room was dirty, filthy old curtains. Breakfast was inedible: grey, undercooked sausage, burnt bacon and tasteless everything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kiwicurls
Tony P, Owner at Norwood Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were so unhappy with your stay. Can we respond to each of your issues in turn? The reason that insects got into the bathroom is that you left the unscreened window open and the light on all night. Blackheath has low water pressure so we have a booster pump that cuts in on demand. Sometimes...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2016

I must start by saying how lovely the hosts were, chatty and made you feel very at home. They work extremely hard to run the lodge along with the restaurant in the evening. However, the room was just not to our liking, we expected the room to be small and basic but it was so dark and dingy, the only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam82trip
Katoomba, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

The Nepalese food is delicious and a real treat. The fish curry was so good I want more! Beautiful town and the owners are awesome and so friendly. Tony is so knowledgeable about the Isle of Man TT we always have great conversations.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ravensoak
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We stayed at Norwood overnight. We were welcomed with tea next to the fireplace on our arrival. Our hosts were friendly and thoughtful, making us feel more like friends than guests. The room was spotless, the hot water excellent and the building heated ovrenight. Our breakfast was generous and sustaining. This is an accommodation for the serious tea drinkers with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen C
North Nowra
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Booked here with a bunch of friends as we had stayed here previously. Tony and Dolma made us very welcome and were very helpful and gracious hosts, even snow for our Christmas in June! The rooms are comfortable with everything that you could want. The lounge room with huge wood burner kept us very cosy before having a wonderful meal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 857cathyh
Newcastle
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Stayed here for one night during June. The room was clean and comfortable and its really cosy and warm (which is what you want on the Blue Mountains in June), definitely can't complain about the room. Its not too far from the train station which we found handy visiting the Winter Festival at Katoomba and although its along the main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susan l

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
1.0 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
8.7 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
844 reviews
0.3 km away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
147 reviews
32.7 km away
Black Gold Motel
Black Gold Motel
#1 of 2 in Wallerawang
277 reviews
0.7 km away
Blackheath Motor Inn
Blackheath Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Blackheath
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Now under new management. A family run guest house offering B&B accommodation in a heritage building dating back to 1888. Conveniently located on the Great Western Highway at Blackheath in the upper Blue Mountains close to many of the World Heritage scenic sites to be found in the region. The attached restaurant serves the only authentic Nepalese food to be found in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Norwood Mountain Lodge

Address: 209 Great Western Hwy, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Price Range: €88 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norwood Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Norwood Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Norwood Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Norwood Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose rooms 1-4 for carpark entry to room.”
 of 5 bubbles michellehR7659GL, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the right hand side have a private entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles 725BonnieM, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room towards the back of the property. Free wifi available in the lounge area.”
 of 5 bubbles Nana422, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles janetV1257RX, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles eddyquan, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5