We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,503 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,489: English reviews
Start your review of South Lodge Hotel
 Click to rate
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had stayed overnight and had dinner with friends at The Pass. From check-in to a pot of tea in the lounge, breakfast and dinner the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was huge with a very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom with first class fittings including shower. Beautiful Spring walk in the grounds on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hamish660
West Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our fourth annual visit & the best ever . Family night away with tea dinner bed & breakfast. Staff were friendly but professional & the rooms were amazing with beautiful modern furnishings & views towards the South Downs..food in the restaurant was excellent & the staff amusing but respectful. We, as a family have been celebrating birthdays here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieQ8695II
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I wanted somewhere special to treat my Sister and her husband as a 'thank you' for several years of caring for our elderly parents. South Lodge excelled in all respects. The service of the staff at every point of contact, the comfort of the rooms, the peace and quiet of the hotel and grounds and of course, the food! Camellia...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham_lindsay
Management response:

Dear Graham, What a lovely treat for your Sister and her husband, I am absolutely delighted to read that you all had such an enjoyable stay with us and we very much hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future. Best regards Kerra Byrne Guest Relations

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been here before for work conferences and it is a rather lovely English country house hotel, with some wonderfully old rooms with quirky touches. The actual room I was given to stay in this time is in the newer wing of the hotel and was very large and well equipped. The grounds are large and it is easy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ARM16
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards Kerra Byrne Guest Relations

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

How anyone can rate this hotel less than five stars is beyond me. I travel for work so I have stayed in many hotels around the world, most of which claim to be 5*, but none have even come close to this. The staff are, without doubt, the finest we have ever come across. All of them manage to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela B
Management response:

Dear Angela, Thank you so very much for writing such a lovely review of your recent visit to South Lodge. I am absolutely delighted to read that all 3 of you had a perfect stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Kerra Byrne Guest Relations

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thanks for a lovely chilled 24 hours. The room, restaurant and service ensured we had a great break from normality in beautiful surroundings. Everything from the warm bubbly hot tub on the private terrace to the cooked breakfast in bed and all the little touches made our stay unique.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justinmullender
Management response:

Dear Justin, How lovely to read such a wonderful review of your recent visit to South Lodge. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable and unique stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Kerra Byrne Guest Relations

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

All I can say was we didn't want to leave . It was by birthday and my partner booked the farrier room . Wow what a delight . Hot tub on balcony and a comfortable bed with stylish bathroom with Louis style wash basins . The staff were amazing . From check in to departure . Dinner was served very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waterfordboi1982
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent visit to South Lodge. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and birthday with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Kerra Byrne Guest Relations

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Driving up to South Lodge our expectations were very high. We were staying in a junior suite, but were pretty disappointed in the size for the price we were paying. We had a drink in the bar before dinner and I chose a cocktail. I paid £16 for a sherry glass sized "cocktail" prepared by someone who had no clue....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helios5000
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. We really value your feedback and appreciate your comments. I am very disappointed to read that your whole experience did not meet your expectations. I would personally like to discuss your feedback in more detail, please would you contact me directly at Kerra.Byrne@exclusive.co.uk I look forward...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stunning Place & Setting. The evening birthday in the Pass was a fantastic experience, 4 hrs of dining, 7 courses , all delivered & described like Poetry✨ Cosy bars , great service , very expensive!! But worth it 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SnowyWhite10
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge and The Pass. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable evening with us and that we played a helping hand in making your birthday celebrations extra special. We very much look forward to welcoming back in the future. Best regards Kerra Byrne...

S Wales
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Attended a dental reunion here on a Saturday night. What to say? Let's start with the good. We had a lovely room, almost a suite. The building is beautifully restored and extended. The room had a bath and a lovely shower with 'water from all angles' - the rain bars, the rain shower, etc. The shower was, without doubt, 5*....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drc225
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. We take all feedback on board and will address with the team. Thank you for your kind words about our Conference & Banqueting Manager, pleased be assured your comments have been passed onto her. Best regards Kerra Byrne Guest Relations

971 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (623)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (246)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (308)
Viewed
Cosy Room (47)
Viewed
Plus Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
Plus Junior Suite (With A View) (51)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Beeding
17.2 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
16.7 km away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
8.4 km away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
966 reviews
1.8 km away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
327 reviews
36.3 km away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner of the Gold Award for 'Large Hotel of the Year' at the Beautiful South Awards 2015, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house - it's the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Address: Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Price Range: €195 - €360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from South Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Godman suite has a jacuzzi outside on terrace”
 of 5 bubbles jamiebsimpson, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No view from any room in the stable block; south facing is best”
 of 5 bubbles jimmW7624GP, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sadly didn't stay in hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Gloriahove12, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on 1st floor. Very quiet and easy distance to bar and restaurants”
 of 5 bubbles amkundert1969, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you can, visit beforehand and ask to see some different rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Exmoorgirl, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5