We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

944 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 940: English reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for easy access to merry hill shopping centre, hotel is clean & tidy rooms are of good standard. We used the gym & swimming pool whilst here this area could do with improvement. Bar is rather pricey for drinks. I would stay again however just not purchase drinks from the bar :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review

Dear Laura B Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us, as well as kind comments regarding the cleanliness, location and service you received. We hope to welcome you again soon Yours sincerely Matt Ward General Manager

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Hotel had plenty of parking and spaced as we arrived after visiting the nearby Merry Hill Shopping Centre (worth a visit particularly for Christmas shopping). Across the canal there is a Weatherspoons and another chain pub if you need something to eat other than Hotel fare. Although the bar and the room service menu is reasonable and I believe only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swarbs59
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review

Dear Swarbs59 Thak you so much for your recent post and subsequent kind words regarding the cleanliness and overall experience. I was delighted to read that you had been able to make full use of t efacilities and would recommend the hotel to others. I have passed your comments onto our Front Office Manager regarding the room key issue as...

Reviewed 20 July 2015

Poisitves 1. Room was clean & comfortable (Club room). 2. Good supplies of toiletries; slippers & dressing gown very useful. 3. Varied choices of beverages supplied in room. 4. Staff polite and helpful 5. Internet access free in club rooms. 6. Breakfast - good 7. Good location for shopping Negatives 1. Reception area carpet needs replacing (black sticky tape clearly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joan e
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review

Dear Joan E Thank you so much for your recent review and kidn remarks. I also noted your constructive comments and am happy to update you on some recent changes. -All rooms have been provided with cooling tower fans -As I type, we have just started work to add three additional sockets to each bedrooms. -Safety deposit box's are available...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2015

What a great stay we had. The staff from reception to restaurant and bar, were helpful, happy, attentive and very approachable. We were staying at the hotel as my husband was on a business course, so that left myself to stroll along the canal and have plenty of retail therapy, A couple of things I would like to mention, the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulacP2676CL
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review

Dear paulacP2676CL Thank you so much for your post and kind words regarding the service received. Since staying with us we have now installed cooling tower fans in all bedrooms. We do hope we will have the opportunity to weclome you both again in the future. Yours sincerely Matt Ward General Manager

basingstoke
Reviewed 13 July 2015

despite being in a club room it was dirty, tatty and run down. I hate it here and as my company have pre paid I have 3 more nights. Not a business hotel. 4 plugs in bar area apparently one in each corner. Wifi isn't free unless you bought a package with it included - even house of Fraser boasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheryCola
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review

Dear cheryCola I was sorry to read of your recent time with us and learn of your dissatisfaction, please accept my sincere apologies I was very disappointed to read of your comments and would welcome the opportunity to speak to you first hand in order to better understand your experience. Would you please let me know further details of your...

Maldon
Reviewed 11 July 2015

A very well run hotel, especially in the dining room. Emma was particularly good. Food was a good standard, although the carrots were less than perfect and chef needs to spend more time at fried egg school. The bedroom was large and comfortable and housekeeping good. Bar staff were quick and attentive. Nice walks from the hotel beside the Dudley...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BryanMaldon
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review

Dear BryanMaldon Thank you so much for your recent post. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon. Yours sincerely Matt Ward General Manager

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

excellent first Impressions on check in here. Massive room which was clean but needs to be updated now. Old fashioned furniture, curtains and wallpaper and lacked air conditioning. Was a hot night and we struggled with the lack of ventilation. Would definately come again tho as overall stay was very good and well situated to walk for food and shops....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela S
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review

Dear Angela S Thank you for your recent review and kind words. I can confirm that we have just placed an order for tower fans for each room, they are due imminently to offer further comfort to our guests. Once again, thank you so much Yours sincerely Matt Ward General Manager

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for my wedding anniversary years ago and it was great This time.....I booked a night for my wife's birthday And..... What a disappointment , to say the least, yes the staff were friendly, however, the overall quality of the accommodation was poor (no aircon in an upgraded room????) Having to poach fans from the maids in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Enigma781
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review

Dear Enigma781 Thank you for you for taking the time to post a review recently. To read of your issues was very disappointing, please accept my sincere apologies. I would very much like the opportunity to learn more of your stay and as such would welcome the opportunity to investigate further. If you can offer me any further details such...

Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Had a excellent experience with friends. Great value for money, nothing was too much trouble. £15 for 2 persons. The sandwiches were fresh & a good choice of cakes. Will definately be returning again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DJB1963
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review

Dear Julieeeeeee Thank you for your kind words offered in your recent review. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your time with us and would happily return for Afternoon Tea again. We look forwards to welcoming you back Yours sincerely Matt Ward General Manager

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Stayed here for one night with my sister, everything from checking in to leaving Was so nice,the staff are all so friendly. We had club twin room and although needs updating everything was spotless Breakfast to was super. Shall without doubt return again when we need some retail therapy!!!👛👠🍷 Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patriciaobrien
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review

Dear patriciaobrien Thank you so much for taking the time to share details of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that your experience was an enjoyable one for both your Sister and youself. Thank you for your kind words, I will be sure to share them with the team here. We look forwards to welcoming you...

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breierley Hill
4.5 km away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Stourbridge Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Dudley Town Centre Hotel
4.5 km away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
8.7 km away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley. In the heart of the Black Country just 11 miles to the west of Birmingham, this fine modern hotel overlooks the picturesque Canal Marina and is just minutes away on foot from the prestigious Intu Merry Hill shopping complex. The hotel boasts 138 rooms & suites as well as impressive conference and banqueting facilities, catering for up to 600 delegates for meetings, weddings and conferences. Relax in our Le Club leisure centre whilst enjoying a beauty treatment or workout in the gym before taking a dip in the heated pool. Visitors can explore many various attractions, from Dudley Zoo, West Midlands Safari Park, Cadbury World and the Black Country Living Museum. Birmingham city centre is a short drive away with excellent shopping at the Bullring shopping mall, theatres and the Barclaycard Arena to watch all the major music artistes from around the world. With excellent access to the M5, M6 and M54 motorways and Birmingham International Airport, the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley looks forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley

Address: Level Street | The Waterfront, Breierley Hill DY5 1UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Breierley Hill
Price Range: €61 - €151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Merry Hill Hotel Dudley
Dudley Copthorne Merry Hill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Dudley, United Kingdom
Watford, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Cumnock, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrading to connoisseur is well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles markd720, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for a club room. Extra facilities, free breakfast, drinks and bar snacks”
 of 5 bubbles thelmahanlon, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hotel is dated, but staff are good.”
 of 5 bubbles DallyLeeds, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a higher floor, with a canal view.”
 of 5 bubbles 952evanb, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Please use all facilities that's available you won't be disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles 316ruthn, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5