We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Washington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Washington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

672 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 668: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Very poor service, bed broken and full booked so had to make do. Evening meal and breakfast a shambles. Wouldn't recommend at all. Stayed as part of a national holidays trip bit would expect the same treatment as other guests

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments . May i say how sorry i'am the bed was broken we were not aware until it was reported . Rest assured all our clients are treated as first class guests regardless of the booking status , the hotel was fully booked on Saturday so we were unable to move your room or change your...

yorkshire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here one night on a coach trip, was a quick check inn, our room was really nice the bathrooms have been modernised to a walk in shower very modern and clean, the beds are very comfy and nice crisp bedding. The evening meal was OK due to our large coach trip was a choice of a 3 course meal....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amanda5yorkshire
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive comments and the breakfast issue will be addressed .

Battle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ok so it based on the Side of the A1 so immediately you think its going to be noisy but it's not. So the views are not the most scenic in the world but it's what's Inside that counts. The staff are very friendly and welcoming as you would only get in the NE. The hotel itself has just undergone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gareth T
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments , these will be passed onto the staff and Head Chef .

Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Read previous reviews and was apprehensive. No need. Hotel refurbished to lovely standard. Shower room small but adequate. Food ok as expected on a bus trip. Staff all lovely and very helpful. Would definitely come again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shazie63
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Thank you , look forward to your return trip .

Gt Yarmouth
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here before but thought I'd write a review from this visit. The evening meal in the restaurant was good, but breakfast is a little dry with the scrambled eggs having a bit of a crust to them. The rooms are the usual clean tidy and comfy. The TVs is poor as free view isn't available so you only get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Per W
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive comments .

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

1st of all reception staff were lovely so not a complaint there - however as a Spire Elite member I was not offered an upgrade and I'm not in the habit of asking as this is usually given without prompting Given the rate I paid tho, the room I was in was great value and got breakfast included Silly little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cme80
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Sorry we only have a limited number of upgrades but as a Spire Member you should have received your drinks ,water and chocolate . Comments regard staff noted . Thank You .

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent price paid for a Saturday night, including breakfast. Room was comfortable, warm and bathroom was lovely. Slight traffic noise but not too bad. I would have scored a 5 but breakfast experience was spoiled by hot items not filled up quick enough. A coach party meant that it was quite busy and after waiting for mushrooms, a queue had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline B
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks for you positive comments and constructive feed back . Coach parties are a make up of our business but at peak times it can get hectic , the toaster will cope with a busy hotel , but the groups will try to adjust the toaster !!!

Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this holiday online at short notice (on the day of arrival) and still got a very good price, the price was unusally good for a holiday inn. That said on arrival we had to return to reception twice within a very short time, firstly because the key card did not work for some reason and secondly because the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joy940
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we rectified all your issues in a timely and efficient manner

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It may not be the best hotel with the Holiday inn chain, but the staff and food where up there with the best. Even though the Hotel is next to the A1(M) I found the room and hotel a quite place to sit and talk.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leslie M
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments we do try!

St Neots, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Handy location for getting around the area as it is well served by main roads. Once there you will find a nice, if fairly basic, hotel with some fantastic staff who will happily go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. We had a family room which was, in truth, a bit on the 'compact' side but was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ruudi55
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback the Team here a wonderful and we appreciate your constructive comments in regards the breakfast items which we will follow up with our Head Chef

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.0 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.4 km away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
288 reviews
3.7 km away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,848 reviews
9.5 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
7.8 km away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Washington is an ideally located hotel, just off the A1M junction 64. Centrally located between, Historic Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle City The hotel offers a 'Go Green' Environmental Room in association with Tree Appealplanting trees on site and across the UK. This is a well established, comfortable hotel, with free car parking, noted for its friendly staff. The Hotel has a Traders Restaurant a newly refurbished lounge and bar area.Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has 136 fully air conditioned bedrooms, including family and accessible rooms. Only a short drive from Europes largest Shopping Centre - the Metrocentre, Newcastle City Centre, the award winning Beamish Open Air Museum, Sunderland Glass Centre and Durham County Cricket Ground. The North East coastline and Angel of the North are also within close driving distance.*Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington

Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Price Range: €53 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Washington Tyne And Wear
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Washington staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Ely, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Washington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Add for a ground floor room near the reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles 853TonyM, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“check your room is one of the refurbished ones(don't know if they are all finished)”
 of 5 bubbles DerbyshireSaddler, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not much to see around hotel so its either housing estate view or car park good rooms though”
 of 5 bubbles Woodzy29, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Long walks to Rooms so Disabled people may need help!”
 of 5 bubbles P46, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Unsure how I can help.”
 of 5 bubbles 311DavidC311, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay