We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Mitre Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Mitre Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 556: English reviews
Start your review of The Mitre Hotel
 Click to rate
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely hotel with friendly staff and food was amazing. my hairdryer didn't work but no problems caused. Reception have been informed so hopefully all good for next guest! I liked the view during breakfast and imagine it's better during summer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_w84
Berkshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On the whole this hotel is OK. I'll start with positives: quick check in, good size rooms with huge beds, great location opposite Hampton Court, fantastic breakfasts. Now the negatives: its just too hot eveywhere and the rooms and restaurant are sauna like, the rooms - mostly the bathrooms are super outdated, the shower screen does not keep water from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
Management response:

Dear Dan, Thank you for the review of your visit to the Mitre hotel. I was pleased to read your positive comments and of course disappointed to learn we have not met your expectations in other areas of your stay. The hotel came under new ownership during the latter part of 2016 and the new owners are currently working on...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing location opposite Hampton Court Palace . Gorgeous building. Unfortunately so noisy Henry the 8th himself could probably hear the traffic noise from the pearly gates. No double glazing, warped windows, four lanes of traffic outside and a rubbish collection lorry at 6am. The room actually shook if a motorbike went past. Not a wink of sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
Management response:

Dear Wendy, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave some feedback following your stay at the Mitre Hotel. I'm really sorry to learn your sleep was disturbed due to external noise. The hotel has come under new ownership in recent months and plans are being put in place to carry out substantial repairs to the windows. This...

Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is beautifully situated right opposite Hampton Court Palace and only two minutes from the station. There are lots of pubs and restaurants just a few minutes walk from the hotel. We had a room above the front reception area which was large and comfortable but rather dated, with views of the Palace and river. Two issues we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terryloader
Management response:

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on your visit to the Mitre Hotel. It was very pleasing to learn that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you found the team to be friendly. The hotel came under new ownership during the latter part of 2016 and in the future improvements will be made to...

Bucks
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Situated right opposite Hampton court train station this hotel is a great location to stay for business. The rooms are spacious I even had a dressing area. Staff are exceptionally friendly and nice. Restaurant overlooking the Thames is not only stunning but great food (breakfast and dinner). Parking can be a bit of a nightmare it's on a first come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antelopeBucks
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has a number of outside areas where you can sit overlooking the river. Good service and good selection of drinks in the bar area which is open to the general public. Inside the main lounge area is comfortable and well presented.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AWorldVoyager
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We last stayed at this hotel in 2014 when it was under different management. De luxe rooms are very comfortable mini suites but no longer include comp whiskey! Ours had a king sized bed and plenty of space. Outside riverside terrace accessible from room. Instant coffee replaced by filter coffee maker at our request. Afternoon tea which was said by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarryinSomerset
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Mitre hotel. It was pleasing to learn you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team to be helpful. I would like to apologise for the shortfalls you experienced in the restaurant and bar. We are currently undergoing a transition...

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a night in preparation for visiting Hampton court the following morning. Firstly the hotel is slap bang opposite the palace, so a fantastic location of staying for that purpose. On arrival we were given a free upgrade to the Catherine Parr suite. Wow!!! What a gorgeous room, with its views and four poster...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eversonjo
Management response:

Thank you very much for your great feedback. It was really pleasing to learn you enjoyed your stay and the facilities in the bedroom. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Colin

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Staff of this hotel made a difference in our stay as everyone was very kind and accommodated our requests with pleasure. We enjoyed breakfast at their beautiful restaurant right on the river. It is really great to take a walk around and explore the area near the hotel. I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AVStravel
Management response:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Mitre Hotel. It was pleasing to learn you enjoyed the hospitality and service from the team. We get many comments from our guests regarding the view of the restaurant whilst eating breakfast or dinner. We look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Colin

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Our first booking using secret escapes, one night with dinner B&B. We (wrongly) had assumed that secret escapes was a luxury brand & unusually for me, didn't do enough due diligence before we booked. We'd told the hotel it was our anniversary, that was a waste of time, nothing was mentioned about this nor was this acknowledged. We arrived at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Evitaesther123
Management response:

Thank you very much for the feedback regarding your stay at the Mitre Hotel. I was very disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations during this visit. The hotel has recently come under new management who like myself as the General Manager are fully aware of the current needs to improve the hotel. I would like to...

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Molesey
0.5 km away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 2 in East Molesey
50 reviews
2.3 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
826 reviews
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
581 reviews
2.8 km away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#8 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
56 reviews
2.9 km away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about The Mitre Hotel

Address: Hampton Court Road | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England (Formerly Carlton Mitre Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Price Range: €133 - €222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mitre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Mitre Surrey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mitre Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Mitre Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the river side not the road.”
 of 5 bubbles terryloader, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Apparently the new management don't allow customers to choose!”
  • How we found the bed in the room that was
 of 5 bubbles broworld, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
2 of 2