We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 357: English reviews
manchester england
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fab exterior, nice building, awful drab dated nasty and depressing rooms. Gym, but as i arrived at 7,30 and dinner ceases at 8 I didn't get to use it. Tired, dated, shabby awful room, nowhere near 4 star.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bev_manchester_8
Management response:

Dear Bev_manchester_8 Thank you for your comments. I find them very confusing as I have shared them with my operations manager. Who has informed me that she spoke to you as you left the hotel, and you had an issue with noise and she very kindly upon your request removed the few glasses of wine you had as by way...

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When you stay here you have to remember that this is not an expensive hotel and form your opinion on that basis. The location is great, overlooking the Trent across some fields, and the building itself is impressive and Grade II listed. The hotel bedrooms are spread across the old building (high ceilings, but rather oddly shaped) and a new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were not told that the more expensive room we booked was directly above a very loud 50th Birthday party The staff were good and helped us once we requested a move to a quieter room The grounds are great but the interior really could do with a refurb Room service- full English breakfast was quite poor and cold I...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y9352MVjamesc
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I am sorry you were disturbed by other guests celebrating a special occasion. However I am pleased we were able to move you to a quiet room. Thank you once again. Wilma

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Many many thanks to the Newton Park for such a memorable day. Special thanks to Sue our master of ceremonies who did an absolute tremendous job in making sure everything for the day went perfectly. Also, a big thank you to Sophie who over the year helped with all the planning, it just couldn't of been better. A thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip A
Management response:

Dear Phill, Thank you so much for your kind words - I cannot tell you how much it means to myself and the team when someone takes the time to write about their experience. It was an absolute pleasure to be able to make the day special. kind regards Wilma

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had the most amazing wedding yesterday Thursday 29th December 2016, a huge thank you to Sue, Sophie and all the staff who made our day fantastic! Highly recommend Newton Park. The catering was 5 star and catered for 70 all day guests and the same again for evening. Couldn't fault our experience and is a lovely place to have your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darran A
Management response:

Dear Darran, Thank you so much for your very kind review. May I take this opportunity to wish you and Lindsay all the very best in your married life. Kind regards Wilma

staffordshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We dined as a family party of 5 adults and one toddler. The event started well after being sat at our table. We were initially attended to by waiting on staff efficiently Starters came out very quick as did the mains quality of which was excellent.Mid meal asked a young waiter who was Zac's younger brother for two pints of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jonahmonkey
Management response:

Dear jonahonkey, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I am deeply disappointed that you did not have a good time on Christmas day. What disappoints me more is that you have named employees on here without their permission. Not only that you have managed to insult one of the team. you also commented on a...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

The hotel was a bit further from town than expected but did look nice from the outside. The main rooms were fine and the breakfast was excellent. However our room was very hot and as it was on the ground floor (although we had requested a high room )we were unable to have a window open. The room was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank S2701RVdiana
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Hotel. I am disappointed to read that you experienced such shortcomings during your visit with us. Please do accept my apologies again. I hope you would consider returning to us in the near future. Kind regards Wilma

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angelawV5353SV
Management response:

Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely public areas and grounds rooms tidy but in need of refurbishment. Bathroom was woeful and shower was from the dark ages. You get what you pay for with Mecure but I would say this one is decidedly average in terms of comfort. Staff were better than the venue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BurlsGurth
Management response:

Dear BurlsGurth, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed in our accommodation. However delighted that my team, did impress you. Kind regards Wilma

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016

A party of 6 stayed at this hotel on Wednesday 16th November 2016, 1 night stay and a celebration business dinner. The rooms and facilities fine but unfortunately the service at dinner was amateurish to say the least. No one offered us menus or welcomed us and we had to ash for everything at least once one. The worst services...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David T T
Management response:

Dear David TT Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I always share any comments received with the team. They are always eager to read what our guests have to say. I have to say everyone who your group came into contact with on the night of your stay remember your group. Like me they were surprised...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
2.9 km away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
393 reviews
11.6 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
0.7 km away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
436 reviews
3.4 km away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
413 reviews
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Price Range: €63 - €119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Expedia so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the old building if you want a more stylish, historic room”
 of 5 bubbles 730jeremyb, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go high up and ask for a room on the opposite side to the car park!”
 of 5 bubbles JulieBrighton, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just don't”
 of 5 bubbles dante1007, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 103”
 of 5 bubbles joemcd121, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“avoid unless desperate”
 of 5 bubbles noonie2016, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay