We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amber House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Amber House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
wisbech
Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and a colleague stayed overnight at the Amber House B&B whilst visiting the Arboretum and the NEC Motorbike show. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Gill with a nice cup of tea and slice of cake. My bedroom was situated on the ground floor and despite being ok outside all afternoon,it was so cold that I put on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PhilAWisbech
lichfieldhotel, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Amber House has been awarded the accolade of the Best Bed and Breakfast in Staffordshire 2016 by Destination Staffordshire and also given the award of the Tastiest Breakfast 2016 in the UK by Eviivo The heating is on for 18 hours each day. There are always additional heaters and fans for people who do want...

West Sussex
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited the Amber House B&B for an overnight stay last week. I was warmly welcomed by Jill and shown to The Amber Room. (Upstairs, front of the house) My initial impression was that it appeared clean and suitable. Sadly this was not the case. The cleanliness was poor. Lots of dust in and around the bedside lamps. A large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FJR999
lichfieldhotel, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I take your comments very seriously. With the change in the weather I have had the heating on 24 hours a day, particularly with guests visiting from different time zones or who are more senior in age. However, even though the temperature was reduced to a lower setting I found I was waking up...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night at Amber House with our dog whilst my husband was on duty at the National Memorial Arboretum. Gill could not have been more welcoming and helpful, and the room was very comfortable - we got a good night's sleep. Breakfast was very good (it was sad we had to be away by 0815 so had no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flibbertypippit
lichfieldhotel, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure preparing breakfast, especially to appreciative guests! We have a rigorous approach to cleaning and are continually working to improve the comfort of all our rooms, with a good nights sleep at the forefront. All beds have orthopaedic mattresses and there is a continual programme of redecoration and refurbishment. It is...

Birstall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed one night whilst visiting the National Memorial Arboretum. Gill was very welcoming and gave us tea and brownies. Gill also gave us advice on places to eat and places to visit. Our room was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Her breakfasts are excellent with a vast choice of cereals, fruit and any combination of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillbeverley
lichfieldhotel, Owner/Manager at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated and very important to me. I always serve complimentary afternoon tea and cooking breakfast is always a pleasure! The National Memorial Arboretum is just half a mile away so we are ideally placed for that and of course all the local amenities of the village which...

Bedfordshire
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Our 3rd year running at Gills lovely B&B, staying with our dogs. Gill is the perfect hostess, friendly and knowledgable. Our room was fab - slept so soundly each night. Breakfast is one thing my husband and I love about this B&B - fresh fruit each morning before a delicious cook up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul and Helen Y
lichfieldhotel, Owner/Manager at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Amber House has been shortlisted for the Eviivo Tastiest Breakfast in the UK Award 2016 with the announcement to be made in October. I specialise in using good local produce, with home made bread and preserves. There are some new dishes which reflect the best of our fruit in season

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We enjoyed a very pleasant one night stay Gill is the perfect host, the tea and scones on arrival were very much appreciated !! very comfortable room, great choice for breakfast. We will definitely be returning

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
lichfieldhotel, Owner/Manager at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Complimentary afternoon tea is always available, and I always have smoked salmon, haddock and kippers on the menu as well as good quality local ingredients for the best traditional British Breakfast!

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Room good size and comfortable with lovely en suite. Amazing choice of items for breakfast, cooked to perfection with home made bread and jams and eggs from own chickens. Memorial Arboretum within a few mins drive and an easy walk to the village where we had a lovely meal at the Crown pub.Only downside was that we were there on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingston192
lichfieldhotel, Owner/Manager at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. I have just taken delivery of new curtains in this room and I'm really pleased with the result! Breakfasts are always a pleasure to prepare and there is always something new on the menu. Amber House is within 5 minutes walk of the village shops, pubs and takeaways and ideally situated...

Huddersfield
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

My first visit to Amber House but won't be my last. Very convenient for visit to National Memorial Arboretum. Room very comfortable and clean. Well looked after by Kathy nothing was too much trouble . Tea and cream and jam scones on arrival. Food very fresh, bread home made and eggs from own chickens. Breakfasts great as my waistline reminds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danniboo
lichfieldhotel, Owner/Manager at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your comments are really important to help me make sure I am providing the best I can for visitors who come to stay at Amber House. Breakfast is a very important start to the day and I try to reflect that in every part of the breakfast menu

Liss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

I fully recommend Amber House as a place to stay. My wife and I spent 2 nights whilst attending a dedication service at the Memorial Arboretum, which is very close by. We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room at the front was clean and comfortable – if I had a criticism, it could do with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JGWD
lichfieldhotel, Owner/Manager at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a considerate review. It is much appreciated. There is little to beat cooking for such appreciative guests and it remains the inspiration for new recipes for both dinner and breakfast! I am always looking for ways to improve and upgrade facilities for guests. I did have a dressing table in the...

Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night with family while over from Australia. The room I got at the front top left was massive and had a great ensuite and shower. I have noticed a few reviews on here about the place being a bit dirty / cups not clean etc. it's a B&B, not the Raddison. Can you guarantee every cup /...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ArchieF73
lichfieldhotel, Owner/Manager at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and your comments are much appreciated. The Amber Room is lovely and I have just installed some new curtains which I am really pleased with. I do try hard to make sure everything is as good as it can be. This year has just taken off and it's been so busy!! and I...

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
1.2 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
425 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
415 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
408 reviews
1.8 km away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
69 reviews
7.6 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WINNER of the EVIIVO TASTIEST BREAKFAST in the UK 2016 AWARD presented by Prue Leith following a cook off in London, using local produce and eggs from our own chickens! Also serving home-made breads and preserves. VOTED BEST BED and BREAKFAST IN STAFFORDSHIRE 2016 BY DESTINATION STAFFORDSHIRE with 4 further BREAKFAST AWARDS Complimentary afternoon tea offered on your arrival. Delicious evening meals by arrangement Vegetarian and special diets catered for. Early morning starts? No problem. Packed lunches can be provided. Free WiFi and car parking. En-suite facilities feature selected natural products. All rooms have TV's, free wifi & hospitality trays. There is a ground floor bedroom. The Resident's Lounge has a small library of books music & DVDs available Amber House is 1/2 mile from the NATIONAL MEMORIAL ARBORETUM. It is also within walking distance of historic Alrewas village with it's pubs and shops, takeaways, Indian restaurant & Royal British Legion. Nestling beside the River Trent, it still retails its historic charm with half timbered thatched cottages, Old Mill and 12th century Church. Enjoy the tranquil scenery of local canal walks or seek the thrills of nearby Drayton Manor Park & Alton Towers. The Trent & Mersey canal runs through the village where locks & bridges and tow paths make for picturesque walks. 1 mile from Amtrain training Centre. 2 miles from Fradley & Graycar Industrial Parks and Barton Marina, 5 miles from Lichfield & Burton-on-Trent. 7 miles from Tamworth. Lichfield offers 2 railway stations with a 75 minute direct service to London Euston There is easy access to the A38/ M1/ M6 Toll/ NEC & M42. Birmingham & East Mids airports are just 20 miles away. We also offer a 'meet & greet' airport service. DIRECTIONS: From Lichfield to Burton-on-Trent, take the turning for Alrewas & The NMA, keep on the service road, go past the garage & we are 200 yards on the left. Amber House is well signposted and is the 3rd house from the end of the road. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amber House

Address: 18 Burton Road | Alrewas, Burton upon Trent DE13 7BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Price Range: €64 - €83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Amber House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber House Burton Upon Trent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Amber House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a warm coat and a hot water bottle”
 of 5 bubbles FJR999, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room at the front was quite close to the main road, but double glazed windows keep out the noise”
 of 5 bubbles JGWD, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Front room big (no name or number)”
 of 5 bubbles jans288, 9 Oct 2015 | Read review
“None I can think of”
 of 5 bubbles AnnW493, 4 Sep 2015 | Read review
“rooms at back bit quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 893jenniferr, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay