We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lorna Doone Hotel

Share
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (45)
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (8)
Overview
High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PS England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Lorna Doone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
94
80
25
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
94
80
25
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners courtyard room nearby public car park visit exmoor dog owners steep stairs lovely hotel feel very welcome short break an evening meal central location lamb stayed here for one night night's sleep her husband comfortable bed night break
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

It has been a year since our last stay. The Hotel rooms have been refurbished and are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is freshly cooked to order and very nice On our second night we had a meal in the restaurant very nice atmosphere...More

Thank Michael H
Response from Paul M, Owner at Lorna Doone HotelResponded 14 June 2018

Thanks for your great review, we look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 18 May 2018

My one major complaint with Trip Advisor reviews is that there is no ‘line in the sand’ about changes of ownership. The Lorna Doone has a small number of one-star ‘terrible’ reviews, however all but one are from earlier days when it was obviously under...More

Thank Jackthelad2014
Response from Paul M, Owner at Lorna Doone HotelResponded 19 May 2018

Mant thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We completely agree, it would be nice to have a line in the sand however I think the more recent reviews show the high levels of improvements being constantly made. We are in the process...More

Reviewed 24 April 2018

Who wouldn't want to stay in the Lorna Doone...after reading the book and watching the Dvd:) I just had to...such a quaint little hotel and for £65 per night was definitely worth every penny for the experience. Its harsh to give any less than 5...More

Thank 640weekender
Response from Paul M, Owner at Lorna Doone HotelResponded 24 April 2018

Many thanks for leaving a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you here again in the future.

Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Lorna Doone Hotel in a small double room. The room was spotlessly clean and well decorated. The bed was comfortable and there was ample storage and we had a good view from the window. The owners and staff were friendly and...More

Thank dave82622018
Response from Paul M, Owner at Lorna Doone HotelResponded 24 April 2018

We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Before going to my mother's for Easter we decided it would be nice to visit Exmoor for a night to show my girlfriend a different side to Somerset (I'm from eastern Somerset). The hotel is situated in the centre of Porlock, meaning it is easy...More

2  Thank Z7648ACmichaelg
Response from Paul M, Owner at Lorna Doone HotelResponded 3 April 2018

I can only apologise if you found me adamant that you pay for your stay, if you recall I did inform you that your card will have been pre-approved for payment and I’m sure that you found the correct funds were debited from your account....More

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Beachfront
Spa
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
14
Price range
US$82 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
14
Price range
US$82 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Photos
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
The Oaks Hotel
32 reviews
.14 km away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
369 reviews
5.95 km away
Marston Lodge Hotel
281 reviews
8.13 km away
Channel House Hotel
46 reviews
8.35 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 21 nearby restaurants
The Whortleberry Tea Rooms
253 reviews
.19 km away
Mrs Jackson's Victorian Tea Rooms
287 reviews
.05 km away
Piggy In The Middle
361 reviews
.03 km away
The Ship Inn
773 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 13 nearby attractions
Exmoor Adventures
111 reviews
.15 km away
Culbone Church and the Fairytale Tunnels from the South West Coast Path
32 reviews
.63 km away
Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre
144 reviews
1.58 km away
Burrowhayes Farm Riding Stables
67 reviews
.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jennifer H
4 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PaulM13008 | Property representative |
Good evening, just the large doubles have fridges, Thanks Lorna Doone hotel
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Friday nights can be noisy in rooms at the front as the pub next door has live music until about 10.30."
Jackthelad2014
18 May 2018
Read review
"feel romantic;)"
640weekender
23 Apr 2018
Read review
"Disabled ask for the courtyard, otherwise pick a character from Lorna done and see who you get."
edmundn48
13 Sep 2017
Read review
"Just phone and speak to Mel or Paul who will guide you"
426colint
13 Sep 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing