We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Rectory on the Lake

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Old Rectory on the Lake
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

877 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 867: English reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just spent three days here ... absolutely beautiful location; wonderful accommodation; such welcoming and hospitable hosts; menu and dinners to die for! Perfect break away from London. Will go back again sometime soon for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary B
Snowdoniatraveller, Public Relations Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Mary, thanks for taking the time to post this kind review with photographs and for writing so enthusiastically about your stay here with my owners, John and Ricky, who have asked me to respond to this! It was a great pleasure to meet ewe both and please do return to my pastures whenever you can - my gate is always...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2014

It's never quiet at The Old Rectory on the lake as John's pre dinner video demonstrates all too well and while we were there there was a mini water drama on Talyllyn! Two rowing boats got into difficulty as the afternoon wind suddenly got up and blew them down the lake. The panicking occupants were unable to row against it and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tonybrewerton
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

You are so right .... there is never a dull moment here and it was so fortunate that you were able to alert me to the plight of those four guys in the boats. They really should not have been allowed out onto the lake and we are all relieved here that nothing untoward happened to them. It was great...

Westerville, Ohio
Reviewed 6 April 2014

my family and I stayed for just one night whilst over from the States visiting our family. From the phone call to enquire about a reservation to the wave good bye the hospitality and level of service from John and Ricky was a work of art. The food was spectacular. This gorgeous little hotel far out surpasses top level hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Julian A
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Thanks so much Julian for this wondrous review! It was our pleasure to have you all to stay and we are so pleased that you enjoyed it so much. We wish you continued good luck with your photography business in Ohio and do tell the girls Marian sends her bleatings! Kindest regards, John and Ricky.

Warrington
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 day stay in their Mynydd Rugog room. This is one of the upstairs rooms. The view over the lake is fantastic. The building is furnished to a high standard. In particular our bathroom was superb. Service is friendly and helpful without being overbearing and generates a unique character which we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank WarringtonWanderers
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Hello to you wanderers from Warrington and thanks for taking the time to write about your stay here. I am so happy that you were impressed with my cooking and the choice that we offer and, more importantly, you also found it all good value. We are now offering Sunday lunches to non residents and I just hope that they...

Chester
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is our fourth visit to the Old Rectory On the Lake. It was Alistair Sawday's rave reviews in the Telegraph that brought it to our attention and he was not wrong. We love to come here for the tranquil setting and the chance to spot the otters. We were not disappointed, my partner Rick saw an otter running along...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dowser
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Many, many congratulations you have the honour of posting our 500th review! As you have stayed four times before and have recommended us to others it seems rather fitting that it should be you who hits this TripAdvisor milestone. When our first review went on in 2009 we never thought for one moment that we would get so many and...

UK Midlands
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was an idyllic location. The accommodation was spacious, clean and comfortable. The food was some of the finest we have tasted. We highly recommend the Old Rectory on the Lake. Stan and Vivienne.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stanbaldwin
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Stan and Vivienne, it was a great pleasure to meet you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed the night you had with us. Thanks for these very kind comments and we trust all went well the next day when you visited The Tal-y-llyn Railway for that important trip. Kind regards, Ricky - chef and joint owner

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Me any my partner stayed here for a short get away on the 30th march. We came with high expectations and after reading the reviews I have to admit to being attracted to the B&B by oddly the bad reviews and the elegance in which they were dispatched. Any one who can remain calm and measured in reply to the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sam_Emma55
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

We were astounded that you were encouraged to stay with us simply because of how we had responded to reviews on here in the past - especially the more challenging ones! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your one night with us and I too was sorry that we were unable to offer you an evening meal. However it...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This stunning bed and breakfast is so special and everything that all the many other reviewers have posted on here is just so right and to be honest I cannot add to them except to say go and stay for yourself. I am sure you will not be disappointed and just make sure you try Ricky's lemon drizzle cake which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike j
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Mike, thanks for leaving this review. I am glad you think that we have something special here at Tal-y-llyn (we think we do - but we are biased!) and your kind comment about my lemon drizzle cake, which we often serve to guests on arrival with their complementary afternoon tea, has made my day! We hope that you and your...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We loved everything about this lovely B & B, rooms, view, location and the food. Ricki's response to our request for vegetarian (we should have given them prior notice) was met with good humour and four very good meals. We had rain (you can't have green without it), wind and sun, we enjoyed it all. Keep up the good work,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Hello to you in Vancouver and it was great to read this review about your stay with us and I am glad that you found us to be the perfect getaway. Your food requirements were no problem at all and please do visit again if you are ever in this part of Wales again. Regards from Talyllyn from Ricky, chef...

Reviewed 24 March 2014

I got treated to a break at the Old Rectory On The Lake for my birthday. The sunshine in March was a treat but the real treat was the wonderful accommodation in this stunning location. The room we had was lovely with gorgeous views over the mountains and lake. Ricky's food was flawless and John is a great host with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbmansfield
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

I am pleased that your birthday celebrations were a great succes here. Thanks so much for what you have written about my cooking ..... I am well flattered! We hope to welcome you again to our home here at Tal-y-llyn. Kindest regards, Ricky chef and joint owner

1,177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1025)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (132)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (77)
Viewed
View from Room (83)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (591)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Standard Rear Facing Double Room (43)
Viewed
Superior Lake Facing Double Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
8.8 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
316 reviews
0.0 km away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
147 reviews
0.4 km away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
62 reviews
2.0 km away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
194 reviews
8.3 km away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Price Range: €125 - €152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Rectory on the Lake staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Rectory on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in Mynydd Rugog. The views across the lake from the bedroom were wonderful.”
gails485, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Mynudd Rugog was beautiful but all rooms are lovely.”
evelynm900, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“You can't go wrong”
, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Any room is a good room”
  • Comfy four poster
  • Time to unwind after hard days walking
a_joslin, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Lake view only”
johnaC3107KY, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates