We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Rectory on the Lake

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talyllyn
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Expert photos
The Old Rectory on the Lake
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

854 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 844: English reviews
Warrington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 day stay in their Mynydd Rugog room. This is one of the upstairs rooms. The view over the lake is fantastic. The building is furnished to a high standard. In particular our bathroom was superb. Service is friendly and helpful without being overbearing and generates a unique character which we... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank WarringtonWanderers
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Hello to you wanderers from Warrington and thanks for taking the time to write about your stay here. I am so happy that you were impressed with my cooking and the choice that we offer and, more importantly, you also found it all good value. We are now offering Sunday lunches to non residents and I just hope that they... More 

Chester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is our fourth visit to the Old Rectory On the Lake. It was Alistair Sawday's rave reviews in the Telegraph that brought it to our attention and he was not wrong. We love to come here for the tranquil setting and the chance to spot the otters. We were not disappointed, my partner Rick saw an otter running along... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Dowser
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Many, many congratulations you have the honour of posting our 500th review! As you have stayed four times before and have recommended us to others it seems rather fitting that it should be you who hits this TripAdvisor milestone. When our first review went on in 2009 we never thought for one moment that we would get so many and... More 

UK Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was an idyllic location. The accommodation was spacious, clean and comfortable. The food was some of the finest we have tasted. We highly recommend the Old Rectory on the Lake. Stan and Vivienne.

Helpful?
2 Thank stanbaldwin
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Stan and Vivienne, it was a great pleasure to meet you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed the night you had with us. Thanks for these very kind comments and we trust all went well the next day when you visited The Tal-y-llyn Railway for that important trip. Kind regards, Ricky - chef and joint owner More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Me any my partner stayed here for a short get away on the 30th march. We came with high expectations and after reading the reviews I have to admit to being attracted to the B&B by oddly the bad reviews and the elegance in which they were dispatched. Any one who can remain calm and measured in reply to the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sam_Emma55
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

We were astounded that you were encouraged to stay with us simply because of how we had responded to reviews on here in the past - especially the more challenging ones! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your one night with us and I too was sorry that we were unable to offer you an evening meal. However it... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This stunning bed and breakfast is so special and everything that all the many other reviewers have posted on here is just so right and to be honest I cannot add to them except to say go and stay for yourself. I am sure you will not be disappointed and just make sure you try Ricky's lemon drizzle cake which... More 

Helpful?
Thank mike j
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Mike, thanks for leaving this review. I am glad you think that we have something special here at Tal-y-llyn (we think we do - but we are biased!) and your kind comment about my lemon drizzle cake, which we often serve to guests on arrival with their complementary afternoon tea, has made my day! We hope that you and your... More 

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We loved everything about this lovely B & B, rooms, view, location and the food. Ricki's response to our request for vegetarian (we should have given them prior notice) was met with good humour and four very good meals. We had rain (you can't have green without it), wind and sun, we enjoyed it all. Keep up the good work,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Hello to you in Vancouver and it was great to read this review about your stay with us and I am glad that you found us to be the perfect getaway. Your food requirements were no problem at all and please do visit again if you are ever in this part of Wales again. Regards from Talyllyn from Ricky, chef... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I got treated to a break at the Old Rectory On The Lake for my birthday. The sunshine in March was a treat but the real treat was the wonderful accommodation in this stunning location. The room we had was lovely with gorgeous views over the mountains and lake. Ricky's food was flawless and John is a great host with... More 

Helpful?
Thank mbmansfield
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

I am pleased that your birthday celebrations were a great succes here. Thanks so much for what you have written about my cooking ..... I am well flattered! We hope to welcome you again to our home here at Tal-y-llyn. Kindest regards, Ricky chef and joint owner More 

Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I can fully understand why this wonderful bed and breakfast has received so many complimentary reviews on here (incredibly for such a small establishment soon they will hit the 500 mark!) and it was great to return again to Tal-y-llyn. Ricky’s food was spot on and John’s videos really showcase the area. While I was there a film crew was... More 

Helpful?
Thank SteffanPaddler
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Hello Steffan it was great to see you again and many thanks for taking the time to post this review. Yes, the video cameraman never saw the otters but his assistant did mange to get some footage the next day! The Old Rectory on the lake promo is now up and running and getting many a hit. We really appreciate... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Recently spent a few nights at The Old Rectory on the Lake before coming back to hustle and bustle of city life. I can safely say it's a place that'll take some doing to forget. The drive up to Tal-y-Llyn provides some of the most incredible scenery that Wales has to offer as you pass through the southern part of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank WrexhamWanderer
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Again yet another amazingly detailed review of a stay with us together with some superb images. We just love the photo of The Old Rectory with early morning mist floating above it taken from across the lake. It was our pleasure to welcome you to our home here Tal-y-llyn and we are so pleased that you were able to escape... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

John and Ricky have a head start with the wonderful location of this lovely accommodation – on the shore of the spectacular Talyllyn Lake nestling in magnificent scenery all around and close to the historic Talyllyn Railway. We have been coming to this area of Wales for over 30 years and never ceased to be amazed by its world class... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JeffandLes
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Hello Les and Jeff and what an amazing and incredibly detailed review you have kindly posted and we are pleased that your visit to us here at Tal-y-llyn made such an impression! Thanks for chosing The Old Rectory on the lake to celebrate Les's birthday and we are happy that she enjoyed dining here - I have passed on your... More 

1,128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (976)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (123)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
View from Room (75)
Viewed
2:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (566)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Standard Rear Facing Double Room (43)
Viewed
Superior Lake Facing Double Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
8.8 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
303 reviews
0.0 km away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
140 reviews
2.4 km away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#4 of 5 in Talyllyn
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
56 reviews
6.0 km away
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
#9 of 34 in Dolgellau
138 reviews
2.8 km away
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Price Range: €104 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Rectory on the Lake staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Rectory on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Craig Goch Room”
  • View of the Old Rectory from across the lake
  • Craig Goch Room
  • Craig Goch Room
 of 5 bubbles 747jodies, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Craig Goch room has the best views across the lake with a huge bathroom!”
 of 5 bubbles lbu4AR, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Simply speak to the staff before you travel and outline your requirements...John and Ricky are most helpful”
 of 5 bubbles stevensgnicholson, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the double room has fantastic views”
 of 5 bubbles timandjane2016, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have the best views of the lake but all rooms are decorated to a very high standard”
 of 5 bubbles 50295029, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5