We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hawthorn House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witney
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Start your review of Hawthorn House
 Click to rate
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well, what can I say - look no further! Alison is so welcoming and genuinely cares about her guests, beautiful B & B in every way possible. I stayed 5 nights and could not have asked for more, gorgeous decor, delicious freshly-cooked breakfast with quality ingredients and bedroom/bathroom clean as a whistle and bed was so comfy - a true...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helengoulding
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Hi Helen, thank you so much for your lovely comments our aim is to ensure that guests thoroughly enjoy their stay in our home and I hope to see you again soon Many thanks Alison

Chatteris, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Lovely welcome from Alison. Room was very clean as was the bathroom. Beds very comfortable, bedding fabulous. Enjoyed a full breakfast the first morning but had eaten late the 2nd night so I ust had yog and a boiled egg. Would stay there again !! xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NannieJoan
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again in the future Regards, Alison

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Fabulous little B& B, warm welcome from Allison. Very clean, tidy with good facilities. Without doubt the most comfortable beds I've ever had (room4) and absolutely tops for towels. Bed so comfortable I got Allison to provide details where I could buy mattress. After a hard days work this is just one of those places that you look forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan8498
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments as well as the food yes even our mattresses are local sourced!!! so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future Best regards, Alison

Reviewed 18 August 2016

Beautiful well tended exterior with equally beautiful, clean and comfortable rooms. Alison, the owner was very welcoming and the breakfast was tasty and plentiful. I wish I could stay for longer. Very highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian T
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you Gillian for your lovely comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Alison

Northumberland
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Alison gave us a warm welcome. The room was huge and very clean. The bed was comfortable, the garden is beautiful and breakfast was delicious with sausages from the local butcher and all freshly cooked. A good location for exploring the Cotswolds and an easy drive to the park and ride in Oxford. We ate evening meals at the nearby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank merlin118
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Alison

Guernsey
Reviewed 3 July 2016

My wife and I stayed here last weekend and were so impressed with the standard of the accommodation and cleanliness. This coupled with lovely hosts made for a very pleasant stay and we would have no hesitation in recommending Hawthorn House as a place to stay in Witney. We used to go to the Premier Inn in Witney, but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Perky1959
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to seeing you again sometime. Many thanks, Alison

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Cant really fault Hawthorn House too much as it had everything you need, nice host, decent room, tea/coffee etc, good shower, good breakfast but nothing outstanding and there in lies the problem it was only OK. Would i stay again? I wouldn't say no but I would look at other places first. And anti-bacterial hand wash at breakfast - weird!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Neal T
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . As you stated Hawthorn House has everything you require and for the price of £60 incl breakfast, with en-suite and lovely views of the valley I think it is good value for money. I do not purport to be 5* as that is not the market I aim for. Handwashing before eating is not...

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Stopped here on my own for a couple of nights whilst attending a course nearby. The owner, Alison, is very friendly and the room was great for me. Room 4, a twin, tastefully decorated, with en suite bathroom with a tub. Tasty breakfast with quality ingredients. Plenty of parking. Close enough to walk into Witney centre where there are lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BBackhouse
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you again if you are in the area. I am afraid all the beds are a little different, those 2 beds were new at the end of last year, but I am sorry if they weren't quite to...

Atherton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Such a beautiful B&B in the middle of the Oxfordshire countryside, excellent breakfast made by Alison the owner, always friendly, helpful & accommodating, bedrooms are very tastefully done, spotless & in keeping with the beautiful countryside, stunning views, well located as its close to Witney, Burford, Blenheim, Woodstock & the Cotswolds ... Comes highly recommended & will be returning with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xxflissxx
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely comments and I very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future . Best regards Alison

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

Excellent room (room 1, back of the house) with lovely decor and furniture inc big comfy 4 poster bed. Great bathroom with bath to soak in which was exactly what we needed after a day of wet cycling. All rounded off by a great full English, with eggs from the hens at the bottom of the garden

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selina H
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and I hope to see you both again sometime in the future. Alison

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Witney hotels
1.9 km away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
796 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Witney Hotel
1.3 km away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
363 reviews
2.9 km away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,710 reviews
5.3 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: 79 Burford Road, Witney OX28 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Hawthorn House Witney, Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hawthorn House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I am sure all rooms will be of the same standard”
helengoulding, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Had a twin room, excellent beds and furniture.”
NannieJoan, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“only stayed once so dont know what other rooms are like.”
NealT344, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Back room, beautiful garden view, high floor, very quiet.”
S7145RGstepheng, 17 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Check-out the bathroom as the one we stayed in had a small shower - absolutely fine for us but maybe not so for someone of a larger frame.”
DottieColin, 26 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5