We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Crown Coaching Inn

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
16th century coaching inn arranged around a cobbled courtyard. Rustic bar at the front of the property with open fire and real ales. Courtyard lounge serves breakfast and coffee each morning. Carvery every Sunday lunch time
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Meeting Rooms
Golf course
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Smoking rooms available
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
60Somewhat walkable
Grade: 60 out of 100
27Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
1Attractionwithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
263Reviews
67Photos
3Q+A
77Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 78
  • 55
  • 28
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Arrived to be greeted by a very pleasant couple on reception, room was lovely everything that was expected was there to a very high standard, breakfast was very well cooked and lots of choice, will stay here again when in the area
Read more
Response from John W, Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn
Responded 16 Oct 2018
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again shortly.. John & Lesley
Read more
The proprietors John & Leslie were very nice and welcoming. They upgraded us to a suite so we didn't have to climb the stairs! The accommodations were nice and the only recommendation I have is to make sure you request a bath mat for the shower. It is quite slippery. The food was
Read more
Response from John W, General Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn
Responded 7 Oct 2018
Hello Mrs. Janisolson Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to upgrade your room, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon, Kind regards, John & Lesley
Read more
Old beams everywhere, lovely leaded windows .. even an opening to a network of very old hidden tunnels ! Staff very friendly and helpful and service quick and food tasty and very reasonably priced. This is no gastro-pub but if you like good plain pub food in a historic pub settin
Read more
Response from John W, General Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn
Responded 7 Oct 2018
Thank you so much for visiting us and a great review, Kind Regards John & Lesley
Read more
I am not one to write overly critical reviews and I realise that I am commenting on someone’s business and livelihood, however I have to say that this hotel is poor. The whole building is run down and in desperate need of refurbishment. My room was depressing and not a place of c
Read more
Response from John W, General Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn
Responded 7 Oct 2018
We are so sorry that you did not find our 600-year-old hotel very nice, there are some rooms in need of a refurbishment, we are the 1st to admit this, however, we also have a few very smart rooms and it depends on the price you pay on what room is allocated based on that price, when we are not so busy we do give free up-grades where possible. the rooms are going to be done in the near future
Read more
Stopped off in Faringdon and popped in here for a drink, service was terrible, didn’t smell good inside so had our drinks outside, the lager had a terrible taste to it, wouldn’t recommend visiting here! Won’t be going there again!
Read more
Response from John W, Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn
Responded 27 Aug 2018
Sorry you did not enjoy your visit. I believe that was the week some local work was going on with the sewage pipes and most of the establishments in the area were having problems. I can not understand the problem with the lager but if you had returned it to the bar we would have only be happy to either refund your money or given you an alternative drink.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
This was the only light in the room apart from the ceiling light
Previous
Hi , I've seen a advertisement that this place is haunted and there is a group that go there Is this true ? Was going to book lots of rooms for the guests at our wedding but family's with children no longer want to stay there ?
I wouldn't know, you need to contact the owner....sorry
0 votes
Show all answers
How many rooms do you have?
Hi James, we currently have 15 rooms
1 vote
what bitter do they serve
Doom Bar, Harry Chapmans and 2 guest ales
0 votes
Show all answers
"Don't stay here"
"Had a room leading onto lovely courtyard which was great."
"Disabled & wheelchair users may need assistance, contact hotel in advance."
"Stay somewhere else"
"Use another hotel"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
old crown coaching hotel faringdon
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandFaringdon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing