We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

924 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bamburgh Castle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 919: English reviews
Royston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We have just spent 3 days at the Bamburgh Castle Inn, staying in a sea view room with a balcony. Lovely large room - shame the weather wasn't warm enough to enjoy the balcony. Really good food, but beware the portions are large, even though it was always busy we didn't wait too long for our food. All credit to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anne A
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this Anne - and for your lovely comments. We hope you will return again when the weather is warmer to take advantage of the balcony and sea views! We value the five star ratings too.

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Ate there only and the fare was as you would expect. Pleasant enough service, big bar/restaurant area and an atmosphere that goes with a 'chain' pub. No need to go there again indeed if in the area again may. Chance somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jerryhardy
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review

Fair enough! Open to comments and feedback at all times, naturally. Although we hope TA reviewers will enjoy reading the many positive and glowing reviews we receive and form their own opinions. Does being part of a small family of seven inns constitute as a chain? We are proud to be part of The Inn Collection Group, a Northumberland company...

Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

Booked a room at short notice and what a lovely room it was, room 20 at the top with a balcony & sea views ive has this room before so I requested it, new decor and everything clean and fresh just like the restaurant with its new makeover looks very nice and the new menu was to my liking, had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review

We're delighted to hear that! Thank you very much indeed. Loved reading your review and great comments - do come back to stay and dine with us again soon! We appreciate the five stars too :)

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016

This was our first visit and we were with our two Golden Retrievers. We had a lovely garden room which backed onto the pubs beer garden with French doors out onto an enclosed area. The staff were friendly and the pub is really geared up for meals and is family friendly. Our meal was disappointingly mediocre - we had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. But we were sorry to read your comments about your food. Did you tell a member of our team that you were left disappointed? Our steak and ale pie - made using slow cooked steak braised in local ale - is one of our best sellers. We quality check each table and would...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016

A wonderful way to celebrate my 50th in my fav area. Lovely hotel with a dog friendly room. everything perfect. Excellent food evening meals and outstanding breakfasts. Can't wait to return. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie501966
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review

And we can't wait to welcome you back again! Thank you very much for spending such a special occasion with us - many congratulations! We appreciate the five stars too :)

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Room spotless,booked seaview room and got exactly that overlooking the harbour,food was very good we stayed for three nights and ate at the hotel each night,great base to go on and explore the area.and last but not least the staff were excellent,we will be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen f
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much Stephen! We really appreciate your comments and five stars and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back soon!

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

What a let down, having previously had evening meals here which had been of a high standard this was such a disappointment. We must have paid the price for the window view and not the quality of the food. All four of us had the steak pie............ oh dear, drowned in gravy which made the pastry soggy. A small portion...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Menace3004
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review

What a shame to hear that. Did you tell us at the time you were not happy with your meals. We really would rather know at the time so we can put things right. We do hope this won't deter you from visiting again.

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

1st time visit, booked premium room which was fantastic, with a lovely balcony and views overlooking the harbour. Spotlessly clean, very comfortable, and quiet. Parking was a squeeze as we arrived in the middle of the Sunday lunch rush, but managed to get a space. Later on the car park emptied so guess we just timed it badly. Staff all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C D
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we really do hope to welcome you again soon. Thank you for the five stars!

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Lovely place to stay, The rooms were all well decorated and like new. Food as nice and the carvery was excellent, was very busy on the Sunday for dinners , but was really good. All the staff were nice despite being under great pressure!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a lovely review and five stars! Ye,s our Sunday Carvery is exceptionally popular - but we are well prepared and ready! Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 12 April 2016

Stunning location right on the harbour. Rooms more than adequate, clean and fairly new fixtures and fittings. Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking right outside the reception with a short walk to the front of the building with those stunning views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernard T
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review - thank you very much indeed. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When it comes to top seaside locations, the award-winning Bamburgh Castle Inn in Northumberland is hard to beat. Named Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 in the North East England Tourism Awards, The Bamburgh Castle Inn overlooks the harbour in the fishing village of Seahouses. Newly refurbished, this friendly inn with 33 en-suite rooms has all the charm of the seaside with amazing sea view rooms. Enjoy a drink or eat al fresco in our elevated beer garden with its amazing views of the Northumberland coast towards the Farne Islands and the inn's namesake - Bamburgh Castle. If you're looking for accommodation for a stay away, a guest house or a bed and breakfast in Northumberland that offers excellent value for money, a more laid back approach than a hotel and more service than simply self-catering, look no further than The Bamburgh Castle Inn. With an established reputation for good, home-cooked pub food and serving up a proper pint of Northumberland's finest, The Bamburgh Castle Inn is popular with visitors and locals alike. Don't miss our legendary Sunday Carvery complete with towering Yorkshire Puddings - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Price Range: €51 - €72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bamburgh Castle Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Bamburgh Castle Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Balconies for the best view, and head-room!”
SpeakerToAnimals, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you do not like the sound of a working harbour plus sea-gulls do not have a room facing the sea! However it all added to its charm.”
139maggieg, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Reckon rooms 32 and 33 are the best - both with sea facing balconies.”
gordonf256, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Consult Reception Staff”
Andrew1915, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Worth paying extra for a sea view”
lynnefrench, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5