We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Northumberland Arms

Traveller (76)
Dining (18)
Room & Suite (11)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Fully re-furbished 1820's Coaching Inn, originally built by the 3rd Duke of Northumberland providing a Bar, Restaurant, River Room Conservatory and 6 en-suite luxury 4* Gold Guest Bedrooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
232Reviews
103Photos
1Q+A
29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 155
  • 43
  • 22
  • 6
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Our third year at the Northumberland Arms for Christmas Day did not disappoint. As in previous years we were immediately welcomed with friendly warm Christmas greetings. The staff were all dressed in jolly Christmas outfits and were all super attentive giving excellent service.
Read more
Response from Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at The Northumberland Arms
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your 5* review and so pleased to hear we continue to delight you on each Christmas Day visit. We already have several repeat booking requests for this year, so hope we can welcome you back a fourth time! Kindest regards Vanessa C Guest Relations
Read more
Our second stay at this impressive pub .Stayed in the Thirston house room which was lovely and had an amazing bathroom with stand alone tub and walk in shower .We had a very good meal with efficient and friendly service and a hearty breakfast the next morning .We will visit
Read more
Response from Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at The Northumberland Arms
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest Fantastic all round feedback; thank you so much. We look forward to your next visit. Vanessa C Guest Relations
Read more
Had a lovely meal on Friday night with work friends. The Christmas fayre menu was lovely, many thanks to our hostess for the night, Katie.. Well done to the chefs for producing a fabulous menu, very nice..
Read more
Response from Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at The Northumberland Arms
Responded 18 Dec 2018
Dear Guest So glad you enjoyed your Christmas celebrations with work colleagues. We hope to welcome you back in 2019 to sample delights from Chef's new 2019 menus. Vanessa C Guest Relations
Read more
We stayed at The Northumberland Arms for the first time last night as my wife had booked it as a surprise for my birthday. On arrival the place looked very pleasant. Large bar area which had people in that obviously used it as their local pub but it wasn’t rowdy or off putting.
Read more
Response from Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at The Northumberland Arms
Responded 30 Nov 2018
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback and glad you enjoyed the majority of elements of your stay. We have noted the minor points you have brought up which will be addressed forthwith. We value your custom and sincerely hope you will return again to allow us to impress 100%. Kindest regards Vanessa C Guest Relations
Read more
Here 10 Nov lovely hotel fabulous room luxurious bathroom if not the easiest to access but this is outside the staffs control.After that it went downhill we were four for dinner I and my daughter thought the menu poor I do not want cottage ple and no lamb available.meal can take
Read more
Response from Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at The Northumberland Arms
Responded 27 Nov 2018
Dear Guest We apologise if you feel we did not meet your expectations on this occasion; we only wish you had mentioned any items not to your liking so we could have addressed them there and then. We value the opportunity to change items if required, rather than leaving customers unsatisfied with their food choices. We are sorry if we had ran out of certain items; this sometimes does happen, but there are always plenty of alternatives. The petit fours you mention are proving really popular with guests but again, sorry if they were not to your liking. We value your custom and hope you will return at some point to allow us another opportunity to impress. Vanessa C Guest Relations
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerDining Room & SuitePool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Tea and coffee selection
Stunning room !!!
Stunning room !!!
PreviousNext
123
Dear Guest As you have your own external door key, you are welcome to return to our hotel without any restrictions; hope this helps. Vanessa C Guest Relations
0 votes
Show all answers
"Both rooms were lovely"
"We had St. Michael's Church room. It was stunning! Very large, really well presented & it had a huge bathroom which was amazing!"
"Rooms first floor narrow steep stair up Rooms same standard of quality. Website describes rooms well.Tight parking and busy at peak times"
"Eshott Castle is dog-friendly"
"Eshott castle is the biggest dog friendly room"
PreviousNext
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandMorpeth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing