We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Manor House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Manor House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 325: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked the Manor House Hotel as a last minute overnight romantic break for myself and partner. Booked over the phone and a guy called Andy sorted it all out for me and made sure I knew crossing times (tide cuts the island off twice a day) and how to find hotel. We arrived early but our room as ready so... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Alli C
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We didn't stay there but had Sunday lunch & specially enjoyed the oysters. It was a lovely sunny day so we sat outside admiring the view of Lindisfarne harbour & the Castle. The staff were pleasant & our meals were served without having to wait too long. Dogs are welcome in the outside garden & also inside in a special... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravellingBrit32
Management response:

Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel. We pride ourselves on a warm and welcoming atmosphere and we are pleased to hear that you received this on your visit. All our food is cooked fresh to order and use the best of locally sourced produce where possible to offer high quality food. Thanks More 

Thame
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed here a few times was worried that under the new management and having read some not good reviews, that the hotel might not be so good this time.Well I was pleasantly surprised! On arrival we were greeted by Alex, wth a lovely cheery welcome. Our rooms were immaculate. The breakfast was really good on each of our three... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harding3Thame
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Manor House Hotel, We take pride in offering a friendly and welcoming service and that your experienced this on your stay. We are constantly pushing forwards to improve everyone's stay with us and this includes... More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I booked the castle view room. Out one window is a stunning view of the Lindisfarne Castle. Out the other window, the ruins of the priory! The bed was comfy. The wifi iffy. The food was good, not amazing, but I'm surprised others reviewing here were expecting fancy dinner at basically a B&B's pub dining room. Breakfast was good and... More 

Helpful?
Thank vdmadmw
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I believe you booked one of the best rooms is the hotel, and your right, the views are spectacular. We do have a bit of a problem with the WiFi dropping in and out, the nature of the island and the the sheer thickness of the wall in our building... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We booked for two nights and dined in the restaurant and then bar on consecutive nights. Our expectations were high - a manor house style hotel but from arrival our general perception was that the Hotel was trading on faded glory. The restaurant meal was good but no exceptional. The menu was fairly restrictive and reservation times were fairly restrictive... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sol-Dev
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have recently purchased the Hotel and we are currently in the process of reviving the business. we are currently in the process of reviewing all out menus and hoping to make improvements on what is a good solid base. We have a new kitchen team and our chefs are... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We had a great room at the top of the hotel - spacious, well furnished and with a good ensuite bathroom - looking out over Lindisfarne Castle and the harbour. The new staff team here were helpful and friendly, and although the evening meal was slow to arrive as we were a large group, it was good when it came.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Manor House. We pride ourselves on offering a warm and friendly service and all our staff are trained to be as friendly and helpful as possible. Thanks for the feedback on the evening meal, i'm sorry to hear... More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I had booked a single room here for one night in August for £60 via email. I arrived mid morning and was told my room would not be ready until 1pm but that my booking was prepaid. I thought that was a bit odd, but left to check out the island and returned at 1. I was then told that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SML_CISVer
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, We purchased the hotel in mid summer in the busiest time of the hear, and have not have not had the time to perfect the finer details, in this process he have updated the booking system and there may have been a problem when transferring the booking that had inherited... More 

bournemouth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Only went in for a drink. Waited a while but not busy. Several tables loaded with dirty plates etc. Beer wasn't great. Lady behind the bar had on a dirty polo shirt and trousers. Table was stick, laminated menu sticky and dirty. Loaded tables eventually cleared but not wiped. Nice outdoor area. Lovely location and impressive looking building. Decor was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vivien53
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience. All our staff are hard working and well trained. Due to the nature of Holy Island and the unpredictable visitor numbers it is hard to to anticipate the busy periods and as a small business we endeavour to provide... More 

Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing stay here I will definitely be having another stay,the food in the restaurant was delicious,the best food I have had in a while .pleasant staff and clean room,we had room number 3.thanks to all the staff.

Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is nice to hear your feed back. We pride our self on a friendly and welcoming service. I have passed your thanks on to my team. More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We arrived from Durham at about 10.00am to a very misty and damp island. We were told if we waited an hour our room could be got ready so we could change into suitable clothes. That was VERY much appreciated. We felt the hotel, whilst friendly, clean and adequate was in need of a bit of TLC (light bulbs, taps... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
Management response:

Thanks for taking to review our Hotel, Whilst the weather and tides our out of our control, we are pleased to hear that you received a warm welcome. We would like to think that we are located in one of the most beautiful places in the world but not always blessed with the weather to go with it. Many of... More 

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
8.8 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
848 reviews
18.6 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,072 reviews
11.6 km away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
404 reviews
21.9 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
6.5 km away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: Market Place, TD15 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Price Range: €52 - €141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Holy Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Manor House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Manor House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Note, some rooms do not have ensuite bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles Sol-Dev, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for rooms at the front for the view”
 of 5 bubbles 105kathyt, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 does have good view on a clear day. Also comfortable couch if weather bad”
 of 5 bubbles 123jeffk, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Only used the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 242trudy, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 10 with view to the castle and side to the abbey are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles ColchesterDandU, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5