We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Purdy Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Purdy Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Purdy Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 339: English reviews
midlands
Reviewed 16 January 2015

This was our second visit to Purdy Lodge and by and large things were pretty much the same as before. Our room was clean (rather than spotless) and the bed comfortable. Staff were as previously very happy to welcome us and the food in the restaurant was fine. We could tell that the hotel was virtually empty - we ate...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sally k
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are pleased to hear you are a returning guest and we hope you will stay a third time! We are pleased to hear your comments about the staff, and that you enjoyed your food in the restaurant. Unfortunately January is our quietest month, other guests sometimes just book on...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2015

I stayed here over the new year period and I found the staff were so very friendly and helpful. I have been here three times now and I cannot fault it and have booked for next year. It's clean and my king sized bed was so comfortable. The food is excellent and very reasonable and it's so close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosemaryjw
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, we are very happy to hear you enjoy staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2014

We booked this for a two night stay as we were at a wedding at Ellingham Hall. We chose the wedding package which meant we would be picked up after the wedding at midnight and taken back the following morning at 10. Everything went to plan and was perfect. The staff are friendly, lovely full English breakfast, plenty of hot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip8758
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving us a lovely review! We hope that you enjoyed the wedding at Ellingham Hall and thank you once again for your kind words!

Darwin
Reviewed 18 December 2014

I stayed in a triple room with my two daughters en route to Lindisfarne and other nearby attractions. The Lodge was clean, comfortable and fantastic value for the UK and compared to the other accommodation available in the area. We had a wonderful view from the first floor across fields to Bamburgh Castle. Although the lodge is on a busy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gerberas0
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review; our guests, and also ourselves, appreciate any feedback that we receive. We hope that you enjoyed Lindisfarne and all that the area has to offer!

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2014

Booked in here on a very wintery night and had a most comfortable overnight stay in a newly refurbished room. The room heating was efficient and there was a huge fluffy blanket in addition to the duvet to make for a cosy sleep. The water pressure on the shower was good and the Wifi fast and reliable. Breakfast was served...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MLW28
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving us a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again!

Aviemore
Reviewed 27 November 2014

We found Purdy Lodge when we stopped at the café on the way to Newcastle airport. We discovered that they had rooms and took a card. On our way back our flight was delayed and we phoned to book a room as we had too far to travel to the Highlands. What a great decision! We were welcomed and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lorraine N
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay. We are all really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your meal that you had in the restaurant. I am very happy to ready that you would stay again and we look forward to seeing you again next time!

God' own County
Reviewed 9 October 2014

We stayed two nights on a trip to see old friends in north northumberland. We used to live nearby 30 years ago, but never thought about staying at the lodge. Alongside the A1, but quiet as the rooms look out onto fields across to Bamburgh Castle. Good breakfast and varied evening meals in the restaurant (Belhaven Best on draught). Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Res38
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 8 October 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night just as a last minute trip to northumberland to explore the coast. What a lovely find. We were welcomed at reception and given lots of information about the hotel facilities and surrounding area. Our room was lovely, very clean and well equipped couldn't fault it at all. We ate in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeybheather
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are all really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and are planning a return visit and we look forward to seeing you again then!

Carlisle
Reviewed 30 September 2014

An overnight stop on the A1. Purdy Lodge was OK - fit for purpose, but nothing more. It's a little remote in setting (though obviously handy from the A1!) with nothing else in the immediate area, other than a truck stop / service area - though this doesn't really detract from the experience. That said, Purdy Lodge is an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sweeney05
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay. We appreciate all of our feedback from our guests in order to improve the service that we offer in the future. We are indeed busy making improvements to our rooms at the moment and we hope that we get to welcome you back in the future...

Leeds England
Reviewed 27 September 2014

Very we'll located on A1 next to a filling station and lorry park. Pretty it isn't. Our 1st floor bedroom looked out over fields. It was small but for a short stay this was not a problem. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK. However this was all spoilt by the dirty bedroom and shower which didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WLGLeedsEngland
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay. I am very sorry that there were issues with the cleanliness of your room and I would like to assure you that all of these issues have been addressed and we are making continuous improvements to make sure that this does not happen again in the...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
6.7 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
850 reviews
12.4 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
8.1 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
916 reviews
33.7 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
33.2 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Price Range: €81 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Purdy Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Purdy Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Purdy Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get upstairs room at the end of the corridor.”
 of 5 bubbles bimeycharlie, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms like any travel accommodation, nothing special.”
 of 5 bubbles 64margaretl, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on the bottom floor and had quiet nights.”
 of 5 bubbles MexBrit1951, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles YorkshireTeddybear03, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms look onto fields with no houses anywhere to be seen - very private and quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles Alexindiana, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay