We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hog's Head Inn

Booking.comUS$129*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Hog\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Hog's Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 496: English reviews
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whilst visiting Northumberland took advantage of a winter offer by a local hotel chain. The Hog's Head is just off the A1 with good parking although the disabled bays are still a trek to reception which isn't well signposted. Nice room and 2 course meal in the price. Only a couple of options carried a surcharge unlike at some places....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WeaverTom
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review - So pleased our team were able to help you in all aspects! Sorry about the confusion from the sign's and about the walk! Please feel reassured that we do take all feedback on board and we will love to welcome you back again soon!

Henlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Amazed at the size of the rooms which had a super king and double sofa bed in with lots of room still to have a double buggy and play space for my children. Bathrooms could be updated but still sufficed. Restaurant attached a shame they don't offer room service but the food was still good. Good choice for breakfast too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kady B
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to leave this great review, so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We do all hope to see you soon!

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Found this last minute for some friends. Reasonably priced for a family of four. First room had a sofa bed for two teenage kids which was unsuitable. It was quickly rectified. Staff were pleasant and helpful. It is part of the services on an industrial estate but has easy quick access from the A1. Only five mins drive to Alnwick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandieG19
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review - so pleased our staff were able to rectify the problem for you. We have 7 different Inn's in the North-East - if you wish to have a look at our other beautiful Award Winning Inn's, you can find them on our website 'inncollectiongroup'. Thank you for recommending us and we do hope to...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

It was a bit of a shock to find the hotel was in the middle of an industrial estate about a couple of miles from the centre of Alnwick, but it is nicely designed modern hotel with big comfortable rooms. A couple of gripes a bathroom based- the water was lukewarm and the soap dispenser was hopelessly placed for someone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hugh106
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, our Inn's location is clearly stated on our website, I am so pleased you enjoyed our comfortable rooms. Our maintenance team have investigated the issue regarding water temperature, this has now been rectified and I apologise for this issue. We do offer a range of meals and try to cater for all our guests....

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Visited here today (14/04) with a colleague, the food prices were average for the area. However the quality of food was very poor. I had steak and ale pie, the meat was very tender but there was vertically no gravy in sight, the chips were stone cold and the peas weren't even remotely hot. The pastry lid was awful with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Oh no! So sorry you hear this! Did you tell a member of staff about your issues as they would happily rectify? The team at The Hog's Head Inn love nothing more than to satisfy customer's, on the odd occasion something isn't quite right we would far rather know so we can fix the issues and make you feel happy...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Stayed for one night on business. My room was on the ground floor,quiet, spacious and very clean.Comfy king size bed and room had all the expected accompliments. Dinner was a little disappointing, Venison Broth lacked seasoning and contained several fragments of bones.Chicken and sweetcorn Pizza was excellent. Breakfast was the normal self service and lived up to expectations. Worth a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review! We do appreciate all feedback, so sorry to hear about the Venison Broth - Did you tell a member of staff about the issues you had found as we would have happily replaced it. Pleased you enjoyed everything else! We do hope to see you again soon.

Hoylake, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Having stated at the Lindisfarne Inn a few years ago we decided on the Hog's Head for our annual long weekend with friends because it is part of the same group....The Inn Collection'.....and we expected the same standard. The hotel website presents the Inn (very much not an inn in my view) as an attractive building but fails to show...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owen N
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review. We always take in feedback and appreciate all reviews. On our website the location is described and does mention the A1 and taking a right turn at the BP garage. We feel our rooms are of a high standard and we receive a great deal of positive feedback from our guests. Our staff would...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2017

This was our third visit to this hotel using there 1st November to 31st March discount deal D.B.& B special offer which we think is great value.The rooms are spacious with large comfy beds we had a good bathroom with walk-in shower after complaining about the first room,plumbing maintenance does seem to be a problem,breakfasts are complementary part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve p
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, it's lovely to hear from a regular customer! I'm pleased the staff had arrange an alternative room for you. Our breakfasts have a range of different options from cereal to a full cooked English breakfast. We do look forward to seeing you again soon!

sunderland
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Lovely hotel friendly staff, spaceous rooms,dogs made very welcome. Great location, but the mattress was very uneven (two different hights) the food was inconsistent some meals large and some small and some i felt were from supermarkets. The muscles were taste less, the venison was lovely but could have had a side of veg but not at extra cost. this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamessafc
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review and for the positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us. So sorry to hear about the mussels, did you inform our team about this? Our food is home-cooked fresh to order and we are sorry you felt this way about your meals. We will investigate the issues you have raised...

dumfries
Reviewed 20 March 2017

18 of us stayed at The Hog's Head this weekend for a special family birthday and we loved this hotel! The staff were incredibly friendly (shoutout to Gary and the other 2 guys who were working over the Saturday into Sunday!). The rooms were really spacious, modern and comfy with lovely bathrooms. The hotel has free wifi and the restaurant/bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottishlass026
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this kind review and your comment's! So pleased to hear you all enjoyed your time with us, we all hope to see you again in the near future!

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.8 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
991 reviews
12.6 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,181 reviews
11.6 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
323 reviews
13.8 km away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
120 reviews
13.8 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hogs Head Inn
Hogs Head Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Price Range: €112 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hog's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hog's Head Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Stockport, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Hog's Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Excellent accessibility to 53 rooms & has lift to top floor.”
fussy-olds, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Very rare in a hotel but we couldn't hear anyone as the room seemed so insulated.”
julietm263, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“We only stayed for lunch”
anthonynG4912RR, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“At the front of the hotel away from the noise of the A1.”
343owenn, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not to close to the A1 or the bar.”
377stevep377, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$129* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates