We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holly Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Holly Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 253: English reviews
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in October, ground floor room. George very friendly, didn't see much of Jackie. The breakfasts were well cooked and plenty of choice. Unlike some guests we didn't have a problem with ordering breakfast the previous evening as many b&b's do this nowadays. We found the room size o.k, small but perfectly adequate, after all you only sleep there, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PCA50
oxford
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights late October on our first visit to Northumberland. George and Jackie are excellent and knowledgable hosts with recommendations for restaurants and things to do. The accommodation is modern, comfortable and spotlessly clean with nice touches such as chilled water available in the reception area. Breakfast is cooked to order and is of a very high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjamesmg
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Quiet b&b near the centre of Alnwick. We stayed in downstairs room which was small but comfy. Breakfast ordered the night before, which we didn't mind and was freshly cooked as we had asked for. The only downside was the wet room shower. We would have preferred an enclosed shower or better still a bath. Quite conscious of not spraying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph A
London
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Good location, host George welcoming & helpful, didn't see much of Jacky. Stayed in ground floor disabled access room - good bed - but shower spray flow was limited due to poor waste drainage. - Notices on the wall not to alter settings or risk flooding. Good breakfast but required to choose items the previous night and early 10.00 check-out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FYILondon
george s, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this review

For the record there are NO issues with the shower room whatsoever! The reason a notice is in the shower is because we have extremely high water pressure - up to 8 bar of pressure when fully turned up - most households have around 1.5 bar of pressure. The shower drains away perfectly quickly as I have tested it myself...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We visited holly lodge for the second time as the first time we stayed it was such a nice stay with welcoming owners Jackie and George, the breakfast was cooked to perfection literally how we had asked it to be. We will definitely be returning for a third time in months to come. Thank you very much again George and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jen r
Southampton
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Enjoyable stay here. Good choice of breakfast provided and room was comfortable and well equipped. Large car park means plenty of off street parking available. It would have been good to have access to lounge later as found it shut and locked by 9pm (especially as our room was fairly small) so leaving that open would be better plan. Otherwise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBarbers
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely comfortable room. George and Jackie really looked after us providing so much information on the locality. Great breakfast and will definitely return at some time in the not far distant future..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights (wish it had been more). Excellent position for going into the town and getting about Northumberland. The hosts were absolutely brilliant and really helpful. The breakfast was excellent and other staff delightful. We had the smallest room which was OK but lacked a bit of privacy as window on ground floor into courtyard area. Next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 898Annie
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This is a small exclusive B&B with all the trimmings The beds are very large and very comfortable The food is specially prepared to order which makes it very fresh and delicious. Yes, they do serve local kippers. Nothing is too much trouble for the proprietors . Being very close to the town centre it is ideal for visiting Alnwick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
Durham
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay at the Holly Lodge really don't understand the last negative review!! It is so clean and comfortable certainly not like Fawlty Towers. The owners could not have been more helpful having local information available. There is also a lovely decked area in the garden and comfortably lounge for the use of the guests, not often available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DurhamAlibali

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.3 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
916 reviews
10.6 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
11.3 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bow House
Bow House
#3 of 70 in Alnwick
305 reviews
1.7 km away
Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
0.3 km away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#12 of 70 in Alnwick
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 Star Gold Award, Visit Britain Kellogg's Breakfast Award. Location: Situated up a very quiet cul-de-sac, The Avenue off Prudhoe Street next to Police Station, a three minute walk to centre, restaurants and Alnwick Garden and Castle. A very peaceful place for an undisturbed great night's sleep, perfect base for Alnwick and district. Bedrooms: Six en-suite travertine tiled shower wet rooms, 1 room has sunken bathroom and bath /shower. 1 room has been modified to include ground floor disabled facilities. Five of these rooms have super king sized double beds, which can be split into comfortable single beds. Three rooms can accommodate an extra single bed for a child. All rooms have flat screen TV with freeview package, Sky TV and free Wi Fi. Tea /coffee making, hairdryer and ironing facility. Car Park: Large secure car park for up to 10 cars, C.C.T.V protected, in grounds. Lounge: Guest lounge with 42" flat screen TV with freeSAT and Sky package. Breakfast Room: Individual tables in modern style breakfast room. Reception: Private secure guest entrance with Reception facilities, and fridge with complimentary bottled chilled mineral water and ice making machine. Drying Room: Drying room available along with bike storage room. Decking Area: Private rear decking area and gardens with seats and two fish ponds with waterfall feature available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holly Lodge

Address: Holly Lodge The Avenue, Alnwick NE66 1UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Price Range: €103 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holly Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Lodge Alnwick, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holly Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holly Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book upstairs if you want privacy”
 of 5 bubbles PCA50, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get an upstairs room if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 898Annie, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms are more spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles Sweetcharity19, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are perfect with en-suite & tea making facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles Blakerspb, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“As I have difficulty walking, we always book Room 1”
 of 5 bubbles ToonieB, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay