We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 725: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
 Click to rate
north east of england
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My sister and I used the pool, sauna and steam room. Then had massages with afternoon tea to finish. We went in the morning which was a godsend as the afternoon was mother and babies in the pool. We enjoyed the pool but didn't much like the communal changing facilities. Our massagers were lovely. Afternoon tea good for the money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newlywed2
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice hotel, staff were friendly and helpful, room was very clean and modern with tea making facilities , TV and nice big bath. Had three course meal in the evening and breakfast the following day- food was fab and great service from staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
Darren H, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your comments. All of your comments have been passed onto our team. Best regards Darren

Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were heading back to Scotland to live and given that we had only sold our house the same day we were not going to do it in one go. So we thought we would give The Holiday Inn a go and booked it online with Trivago for £55.00. It is such a clean and well kept hotel, right from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S S
Darren H, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, we're pleased that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay. Best regards Darren

Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend booked this in her name nearly a year ago as part of a block booking of rooms as she was travelling home from Spain and wanted a central point for her 70th birthday party. All rooms booked in her name which caused some hassle with the front of house manager who was actually quite rude and never did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
Darren H, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback and we're glad that you enjoyed our facilities. All of your comments have been passed on to our management team. Best regards Darren

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am reviewing this purely for the hotel room and service. I didn't use any of the facilities within the hotel. We arrived in the evening after a day sight seeing in Catterick and Ripon. Scotch Corner is undergoing some major road works and although they looked complicated we got into the hotel carpark fine. There was plenty of free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallysarah
Darren H, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Scotch Corner and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards Darren - Sales Executive

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went with friends on Sunday evening. It wasn't busy so thought we would have dinner. Got a table at 8.20pm and waited over 20 minutes to get served. There were only 2 other tables dining, a table of 2 on desserts and a single guy. Ordered starters and main courses for the 3 of us together with drinks. Waited another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weldonwares
Darren H, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback, this is vital to ensure that we are constantly improving our standards. Your feedback has been communicated to our teams and we hope that you visit Scotch Corner again soon. Best regards Darren

North Yorkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The spa day we booked was far from relaxing, Firstly we found the facilities not to be overally clean with no privacy for changing. There was no seating to relax around the pool area. The service when we went for our afternoon tea was extremely poor, upon entering there was no staff around so I waited at the bar ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunshine733
Darren H, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry to see that your visit was not a relaxing experience. If you could please contact operations@hidarlington.co.uk we would be grateful of the opportunity rectify the issues that you had. Best regards Darren

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I got a birthday treat to go to the Activelife Spa and afternoon tea. It was one of my worst days out. We had the amenities from 9-5pm as my partner bought me a gift through groupon which included the pool, sauna, steam, fitness suite a 50 minute treatment and afternoon tea. We got there at 10:15am to fill in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl A
Darren H, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback however we're very sorry to hear that your experience at Active Life Leisure was somewhat disruptive. It is our intention to create a relaxing environment where our guests can enjoy our facilities and it is clear that this was not the case. If you would consider returning the Scotch Corner again then we would...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel I'd an absolute delight to stay in. The room is perfect for a long stay. Kettle, fridge, safe, dressing table/desk... Has an iron board and hairdryer that saves you bringing any travel items. Tea and coffee sachets, shampoo, soap and shower gel provided. Couldn't have got a better hotel. Everyday your room is cleaned and refreshments replenished. Also,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Char F
Darren H, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your review. Best regards Darren

st neots
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visit this hotel on a regular basis and find it very good. The public areas are lovely & the restaurant is well decorated and the food is delicious. The rooms are a good size & very clean. I would recommend that you ask for a room at the back of the hotel otherwise the traffic can be a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue p
Darren H, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, it is great to see that your enjoy staying with us here at Scotch Corner. Best regards Darren

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
17.2 km away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
0.4 km away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
1.9 km away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,002 reviews
6.0 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
650 reviews
5.7 km away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Price Range: €57 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 132 which was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles robertss309, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 213 like the plague”
 of 5 bubbles 466suw, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to upper rooms”
 of 5 bubbles UKVeniceFan, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just dont bother going for coffee or a snack”
 of 5 bubbles 604johnnyboy, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“202 was fine”
 of 5 bubbles Latin1954, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5