We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hood's Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Showing 129: English reviews
Congleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The decor was very shabby, dust and cobwebs everywhere. There was no shower gel in the dispenser and the shower cubicle was black with mould. While we appreciate that the building is very old and like the quirkiness of some aspects of the room, we found that the room felt very damp and uncomfortable. We tried to air the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Dianne G
smugglesrrhb, Owner at Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation, responded to this review

Am struggling with this review some what?? Today is 5th August this guest states they stayed in August yet I know they didn't. I know each of the guests that have stayed over three of those days the others have been self catering so no breakfasts served? W I also need to mention there are no heaters in the rooms...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

My friend and I stayed 1 night, part way through our Cleveland Way walk. We had a superb seafood pasta in the Smugglers Bistro,in fact the best I have ever eaten, and the chocolate brownies you gave us for our walk, were delicious, thanks Chef. They also served us a lovely breakfast in the morning, with a very friendly service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
smugglesrrhb, Owner at Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments I will pass them on.

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We ate at the restaurant twice and the food was delicious, we were also treated to prosecco when they found out it was our anniversary. The room was very clean and we can't wait to return to see what it's like after the forthcoming refurbishment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2016

This was a gem of a spot for an overnight stay with friends. Excellent seafood menu with locally caught produce. The attic room, although fairly small was nicely decorated and very clean. Atmospheric four hundred year old building at the end of steep pedestrian lane down to the old harbour at robin hoods bay. Go for the enormous full English...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine L
smugglesrrhb, Owner at Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you your comments are kind

stafford
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a week but was very dissappointed with the appartment. Its very tired looking and needs some money and TLC spending on it. Its over a Bistro, which isnt too bad. But every other morning the Binmen wake you up at 7am. Then the rooms above the app't , the floor boards creek terrible. Silly things like dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank refueller
smugglesrrhb, Owner at Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation, responded to this review

Sorry you say you didn't enjoy your stay. You booked through gorgeous cottages who have redesigned the Apartment in Farrel and Ball decor. All newly painted.It also has brand new carpets and bed etc?? As you told us , when we let you in it was not your choice of colour. We can't please everyone. Pots and pans are brand...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I have one good thing to say about this place - the young waitress (who I believe was called Mary) was friendly, polite and helpful at all times. But everything else was unpleasant. The welcome was poor, the room was tiny and unclean, the bathroom was a disgrace, the breakfast was inedible and the room furnishings poor quality and in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PixW
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2016

The rooms behind and above the Smugglers restaurant could not be in a better location for tired feet. The rooms are OK although carpets needed hoovering. The shower in our room was very small which was fine for me but a struggle for my larger companion. The B&B probably takes second place to the restaurant. Breakfast is served in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David N
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Our Favourite place in the UK. We have stayed in the apartment twice now and have not been disappointed. There is a well equipped kitchen,quaint living room with a sea-view and a cosy bedroom with on-suite,shower and loo.There is free WIFI too.The owners have thought of everything you need to have a complete getaway break.Also there is the option to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
smugglesrrhb, Owner at Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for a good old honest review

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Bistro very nice, seafood pasta was delicious and breakfast amazing. Plus side - Room was very clean and bed comfy ... Negatives- Walls painted red, tv didn't work and shower needed updating. All in all, decent value for money but not sure I would return to Robin Hoods Bay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malteser2205
Co Durham
Reviewed 28 April 2016

As part of walking the Cleveland way, a single night was booked over the phone and 50% deposit taken. Due to illness the trip was cancelled A further 50% was taken after the cancellation which was three days before the booking. When asked for a refund T's and C's (which were never forwarded or pointed out!) were used as the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank FirTree2013

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.0 km away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
122 reviews
0.4 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
755 reviews
10.8 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#13 of 31 in Robin Hood's Bay
165 reviews
0.6 km away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 31 in Robin Hood's Bay
163 reviews
0.6 km away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 31 in Robin Hood's Bay
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Smugglers Bistro and Lodgings is situated in the old village approx 20yds from the beach. Smugglers is a very popular Bistro serving homemade fresh fish and locally sourced meats in a rustic candle lit environment. The Bistro and wine bar open Wednesday to Sunday evenings, all year round. Smugglers Lodgings offers luxury accommodations ranging from apartment to suites. All sleeping maximum of two and newly refurbished. Please note the Bistro, bar and Lodgings are all adult only. Don't forget to pre-book a table at Smugglers prior to your arrival to avoid disappointment. We get very busy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation

Address: The Dock, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range: €76 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The top floor suite has just been revamped so it is the best though not as big as the down stairs suite. There are also 2 further rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 421tj, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Refuse collection at 6.20 am - noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 966dianneg, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Bottom of a steep hill but for location and value good”
 of 5 bubbles 856DavidN856, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 2 ...”
  • View from the room
 of 5 bubbles Steve_Davison_48, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“You must book in advance to get a table at the Bistro!”
 of 5 bubbles 413AndrewS413, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5