We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monk Fryston Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

532 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 529: English reviews
Start your review of Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
 Click to rate
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were here on Sat 22nd April for a joint birthday - my Husband and Sister in law, we were treated like royalty from the moment we stepped through the door, all of the staff were superb, and the food was out of this world, thank you to everyone who made the meal an experience something very very special, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kimbo169
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, delighted you enjoyed your birthday celebrations and our staff gave you a warm welcome and made you feel special. Your praise of our food is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your return.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Firstly, we got a very good price for 2 nights at the hotel on Secret Escapes. The room was a superior bedroom and included one dinner each on the first night, and free breakfast both mornings. All for £80! Would highly recommend for this price. The hotel itself is old but well maintained. We had a superior bedroom which had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophia H
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very detailed review, I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your breakfast in particular. Thank you for all your very constructive feedback which will help us to prioritise our program of improvements.

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have always wanted to stay at Monk Fryston Hall ever since my sister moved to Selby and we have passed through the beautiful village with the Hall set back from the road looking magnificent. This was a last minute booking and we were surprised that we could get in. On arrival we were met by very friendly staff and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank redwine16
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you had a pleasant stay with us. Hopefully if you have the opportunity to visit us again you will have time to explore our 30 acres of grounds which are full of history and wildlife.

Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Held our wedding here on 8th April. I honestly cannot fault anything. Several family members stayed over and everyone had a fabulous time. Emma, Marius and the team went above and beyond to help us and give us the wedding day that we could have only dreamed of. I cannot thank everyone enough. The room, food, staff, setting. Everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anne h
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, on behalf of the team we are all delighted that your wedding was such a success.

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on the trip to Monk Fryston Hall courtesy of a present from our daughter. The staff here are very friendly and accommodating. ( I forgot the booking through Travelzoo and had to wait on our daughter texting the Pin code!) The staff didn't worry about it. The room was fine and at the front, overlooking our parked car,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Banny81
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, thank you for your praise of our staff and your room. I am pleased to report that our crows are now quite quiet having established their nests and I am sorry they disturbed you during your stay. We are lucky enough to have an abundance of wildlife in our grounds and with spring now well...

Durham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband booked a two night break with breakfast and one evening meal through Secret Escapes and to be honest I was hesitant, as quite often you get a lower class room on packages. Ok from the top. The Hall is situated in a nice village with pub within walking distance and local shop, also for garden lovers some excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Durhamlady13
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review, I was particularly interested that you found your bed to exceptionally comfortable. As part of our refurbishment programme we have recently invested in replacing many of our standard hotel beds with handmade replacements from 'And So To Bed' and positive feedback is encouraging.

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very clever set of photos led me to be excited about staying here. had a one night stay here and after booking in and going to our room, I gave serious consideration to going somewhere else and paying again. The building is imposing as you approach, and is obviously very historic. As you enter there is a small baby...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kevin T
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, may I apologise that your stay did not meet expectations. Detailed feedback such as yours is always greatly valued as it allows us to correctly target areas that need improvement. It is a shame that you only had the opportunity to stay one night and did not get the chance to venture into our grounds...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had afternoon tea here at this beautiful hall ...the tea was the best tea I have had leaving full, topped off with a glass of fizz staff was very friendly and attentive then had a walk round the grounds would highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place a review, I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed our afternoon tea. Our chef and her team will be delighted as they have worked hard in recent months to make improvements and I know your appreciation will be greatly valued.

Bollington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked to stay three nights, checking out after one. The fixtures in bathroom were not clean - towel rail, toilet roll holder. Found a public hair in the bath and despite having only the hot tap on the bath water only managed to be tepid. The phone in the room did not work, I was not told this on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lin B
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, please accept my very sincere apologies that your stay fell short of expectations. Thank you for your praise of our reception manager Rosie as she and her team are so important to us. We did experience a temporary boiler issue during your stay which affected the hot water system and which has now been resolved....

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was a real pleasure to be back for lunch at Monk Fryston Hall. We had previously experienced problems with the quality of the food, and the service so hadn't visited for over a year. Went back last year and can honestly say it has been fantastic these last few times we have visited, and so pleased we "gave it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PapillonAvril
Geoff D, Owner at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you decided to return. Much has been done to improved both our food and quality of service over recent months and it is lovely to hear that you noticed the difference.

601 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (280)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (100)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (315)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Four Poster Bedrrom (25)
Viewed
Family Bedroom (24)
Viewed
Family Room (28)
Viewed
Grand Four Poster Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Bedroom (22)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Twin Bedroom (27)
Viewed
Superior Double Bedroom (22)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (23)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monk Fryston
11.5 km away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa
Hazlewood Castle & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hazlewood
784 reviews
5.4 km away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
14.9 km away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
298 reviews
17.9 km away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
929 reviews
29.0 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Monk Fryston Hall Hotel

Address: Monk Fryston LS25 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Monk Fryston
Price Range: €66 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monk Fryston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and LateRooms so you can book your Monk Fryston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monk Fryston Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Cheshire
over a year ago
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Monk Fryston Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back ones would be quietest.”
Banny81, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
LinB558, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Only saw our room and that was excellent!”
Len405, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 7 was excellent, set at the back of the hotel overlooking a courtyard.”
Standring64, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room One is a lovely room”
candilite, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5