We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Innkeeper\\
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 98: English reviews
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Only stayed 1 night here. Our room was quite big but the bathroom didn't seem to have been cleaned properly (dirty floor) & looked generally grubby & dated. Corridors & floors are all very creaky so it's impossible to walk without making a noise - not good at night or early in the morning! Noise between rooms also seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clicker77
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate getting feedback from our guests as it means we can keep improving.

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Very good service for checking in and showing us around the lodge. Lovely room, good value for money. Bathroom clean but dated. Breakfast on the following morning was disappointing, lacked good customer service which I would have expected in the place. Breakfast took a rather long time considering very little guests in the restaurant, we weren't not kept informed. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate getting feedback from our guests as it means we can keep improving.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Stayed here for one night with my wife and daughter and the room we were allocated was nice,although the walls are very thin and the floors very creaky! Also we found that the bed was not very comfortable be fortunately we were only staying for one night. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and liked the variety of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enduro-Andy
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough, responded to this review

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Thanks so much for sharing your feedback.

Reviewed 2 October 2015

The Kestrel is on a busy road and the traffic is noisy at times despite the double glazing. This cannot be helped. The rooms are above the pub area and because the building is old it creaks a lot and is noisy at times. This cannot be helped. Nor can noisy, thoughtless guests be helped. (we were woken at 2.30am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We’re really sorry your last visit wasn’t up to scratch. Your feedback is really important to us and we’ll make sure your comments are seen by the team.

Essex
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We stayed here for one night in September 2015, the room was nice and clean but the bathroom was dirty, the grouting around the tiles above the bath were black and also the bottom of the bath curtain was black with mould. there was a ball of pubic hair on the floor which probably fell out of the hoover but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daisy245
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough, responded to this review

We’re really sorry you didn’t feel the bathroom was up to scratch. We’ll make sure your comments are seen by the team and we thank you for leaving us your feedback.

Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

Yes it's got creaky floorboards & yes it's got thin walls but what more could you ask for for the price!! Great location, fantastic staff, & lovely clean rooms, ( apart from the cobwebs on the beams! ) but it is s very old building! Will definitely stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo Jo B
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Can't fault the staff but maybe the systems. We ate in The Kestrel Inn which is an integral part of the accommodation.. Our first meal was spoilt somewhat by not being able to have our first or second choice of wine. Nevertheless the food itself was good, which made us decide that we'd probably eat there the next night. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnboyk
South west England
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Good location, nice friendly staff. Rooms comfortable can be slightly noisey if room is roadside but acceptable. Level of cleanliness ok. Excellent bar food good varied menu good sized and well cooked and presented meals. Decent pint as well. Would certainly stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newinn
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewed 21 August 2015

The Kestrel: The hotel was off the road, and fairly easy to see. There was parking in the front and in the back of the restaurant/hotel where you can admire the untouched countryside. We checked in at the pub/restaurant, and then walked up one flight of stairs. We were given the John Milton room. The bedroom had the exposed beams...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniealee
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

we have just returned from our second visit to this Inn and would recommend it. Very atmospheric and good value for money also within reach of York and surrounding areas. The evening meal is an additional cost and very good value for money. My only negative comment would be that the rooms are now beginning to look a little tired.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank diane1108

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.0 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
0.0 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
0.0 km away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#7 of 17 in Knaresborough
145 reviews
0.0 km away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#2 of 17 in Knaresborough
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you're looking for budget accommodation in Knaresborough or near to Harrogate Conference Centre, this country lodge in nearby Plompton is perfect for both short breaks and business trips.The lodge is well placed for exploring the many charms of picturesque Knaresborough, historic Harrogate and unspoilt cathedral city Ripon. It's also an ideal base-camp for anyone wanting to immerse themselves in the Yorkshire Dales.Along with 10 comfy en-suite rooms, there's a pub serving a tempting menu of hearty, seasonal food together with a range of cask ales and wines. It's so cosy you could end up cancelling the hiking and sightseeing in favour of a day eating and drinking instead.But you wouldn't want to miss Harrogate's tourist treasures. Delve into antique shops, relax at the Turkish Baths, or sip a Darjeeling at Betty's iconic tearooms. Nearer home you can hunt out the cave of infamous Yorkshire witch Mother Shipton or marvel at the 30 acres of intriguing mineral formations at Plompton Rocks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough

Address: Wetherby Road | Plompton, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Price Range: €80 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kestrel Pub Hotel Knaresborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 6- very quiet when we stayed”
 of 5 bubbles guddins, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“The John Milton was grand!”
  • hotel door
  • twin beds
  • tub
  • view from our window
 of 5 bubbles jenniealee, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Try to get a room facing away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles neil540, 18 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles MandGonhols, 5 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Each room has it's own character. My son's loved the stone and beams, which we don't get a lot of in the US.”
 of 5 bubbles G8163UVsusane, 27 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay