We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 2 Hotels in Hawes
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 475: English reviews
Start your review of Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
 Click to rate
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

After a long journey from the Midlands, we reached this picturesque building and surroundings overlooking Wensleydale. Due to ongoing refurbishments, our room was upgraded upon arrival. This commanded a vista of Wether Fell, Cam Fell, Dodds Fell and Great Shunner Fell. A bottle of Prosecco was awaiting our arrival. We found the bar well equipped with an adjacent dining area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

stayed here last week the room was lovely and nice pleasant staff too , best nights sleep i have had in ages ... breakfast was lovely too , drinks are expensive but when you can relax in the wonderful rooms its worth the extra ££ cant wait to return !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynn756
Simonstone_Hall, Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

last Saturday was cold and dreary - we arrived for lunch at about 1.30pm (watch out - the Brasserie service stops at 2pm) and settled for a window table. We had our pick of all the tables...it was not busy. Apparently, lousy weather keeps people away which was all the better from my point of view: excellence in service, speed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan186346
Simonstone_Hall, Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Simonstone Hall. We have a fantastic new menu in our Brasserie for you to try next time, with our delicious local ingredients and seasonal dishes changing regularly! - Also including a superb new selection of desserts. Very sorry we weren't able to offer any last time - do keep an eye...

morecambe
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Booked a room for a quick 1 night stay had a superior room along with DBB we have been before staying in the dales rooms.the superior room was great the food excellent we both enjoyed the stay(as we have on the previous occasions) and shall be returning again. The new layout is much better with the lounge now where the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidpike56
Simonstone_Hall, Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your latest stay with us at Simonstone Hall and look forward to welcoming you back soon - come and check out our new lounge furniture!

Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Party of four called in for lunch - very helpful and friendly staff. Lovely plates of food - excellent ribeye steak, generous fish dishes, lovely herby chicken, plus ace chips, etc.(£80 inc. tip) & good value. There must be a gifted chef in the kitchen. Greeted with a Jug of water whilst picking from the menu, a thoughtful touch. Amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
Simonstone_Hall, Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, Mike. Early March and that view is changing already; the snowdrops are spectacular and the lambs are arriving too! We're looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hall... Dinner on the terrace perhaps? - Summer is coming!

Lincoln, UK
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We stayed three nights in late Jan and early Feb 2017 The hotel has heaps of character, friendly staff, fabulous food for us, a four poster. The fact that we had a free upgrade simply ' because there was room ' says it all. The staff were great, making us and our Lakeland terrier very welcome. We are not used...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HWinLincoln
Simonstone_Hall, Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review - we loved having you here, Bee too! It's always lovely to know that guests enjoy their stay (dogs too!) and we're particularly glad to hear that you enjoyed your Hotel experience. We love upgrading guests where possible to make sure that everyone enjoys the best possible stay at Simonstone Hall. We'd love to welcome...

NORTHANTS
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Booked a last minute birthday treat and enjoyed every minute, being dog friendly made it special and booked into a superior room was lovely. The staff were very friendly and made our stay most enjoyable, great location and will definitely come back ! If you are looking for great hotel , great location, great staff you will not be disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JOJO46
Simonstone_Hall, Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU FOR RECOMMENDING US! Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit - dog too! Located in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park - dogs love the local walks and a bit of luxury accommodation after a run through the surrounding fields! We hope you enjoyed your birthday treat and look forward to seeing you again...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017

As may be inferred from the title we have stayed here before. As a result of our previous stays (three in total) we didn't hesitate to take them up on their two night January break that included dinner on the first night and breakfast both days. It is a fabulous hotel with stunning rooms and views. On arrival we noticed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris W
Simonstone_Hall, Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

The check-out guest survey is provided as an opportunity to offer feedback (discreetly, as prefered by most guests) about their experience at Simonstone Hall and as a way of identifying areas for continuing improvement and tracking any aspects that we may wish to follow up on after guest departure - it's unfortunate that you didn't feel that direct feedback would...

Reviewed 31 January 2017

Went with a group of friend for morning coffee and lunch. Unfortunately we were not told the day before when we booked nor on arrival, that the electricity was off. As it was a lovely sunny day we did not notice the lights were not on but it was only when we asked for the lunch menu were we told...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kryztyne1
Simonstone_Hall, Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there - very many thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately, that day, we were unable to provide lunch due to Electricity Board maintenance in the area - unavoidable - however, as your booking was for 'morning coffee' which we were still able to provide, and not a lunch booking, we did not envisage that this would be a problem having...

Froxfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend room 6 and 9 ( 9 a foreposter ) the surrounding countryside side is as good as it gets the gardens of the hall were lovely ,,, don't forget its January ! Rooms were warm clean bedding was crisp and clean lots of fluffy towels and a bath gown ,,, views were stunning ,,, Food...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank terry2004
Simonstone_Hall, Manager at Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Simonstone Hall - we look forward to welcoming you back soon - its a spectaular view year-round, and you certainly picked rooms with the best aspect!

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
1.0 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
373 reviews
13.8 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
34.6 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 km away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
556 reviews
18.4 km away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
230 reviews
28.6 km away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect haven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Simonstone Hall Limited | Country House Hotel, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Price Range: €101 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bridal Suite”
  • Prosecco awaited us on arrival
 of 5 bubbles 416adamh, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“check room variety - the more you pay the bigger the room and better the view”
 of 5 bubbles Alan186346, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If I say which then it might not be available if we go back.....”
 of 5 bubbles HWinLincoln, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Wonderful breakfast and Amazing views..! ground floor rooms seem to have a fantastic view.”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“You are unlikely to be disappointed by any room, the whole building is fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles Equinecho, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5