We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant Hotel

400 reviews
Save
Traveller (93)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (15)
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good12%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“duck pond”(25 reviews)
“star inn”(30 reviews)
“sloe gin”(18 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (400)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for The Pheasant Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
319
50
22
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
319
50
22
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduck pondstar innsloe ginvillage pondmarket menutasting menucountry hotelswimming poolpre dinner drinksnorth yorkshirecomfy sofasgourmet breakfish piemichelin starcheese boardpretty villageeggs benedict
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We arrived New Years Day at lunchtime. The hotel was heaving with lunchtime diners. Welcoming reception lady showed us around this elegantly decorated hotel before taking us to the Pheasant Suite. A split level, cosy suite which we thoroughly enjoyed for our 2 days. We...More

5  Thank 351sandraj
Response from PNeville, Owner at The Pheasant HotelResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind words. We wish you all the best for 2018 and hope to welcome you back to the Pheasant very soon, Peter, Jacquie and all the Pheasant team.

Reviewed 30 December 2017

We were renting a cottage in Harome for Christmas. My birthday was on the 23rd, so my husband booked a meal for us and our son with his girlfriend, who was visiting from China for the first time. The food and service was absolutely,outstanding. Could...More

Thank Rachels885
Response from PNeville, Owner at The Pheasant HotelResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed dining with us. Best wishes from all the Pheasant Team.

Reviewed 26 December 2017

We love this hotel/ restaurant however we recently spent an overnight stay there with our granddaughter who is a coeliac...having given them advance notice there was a VERY limited menu for her and at breakfast no gluten free cereal. She returned with her parents today...More

2  Thank Judith B
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Cant fault overall, very relaxing environment, lovely building, food was excellent and we really enjoyed the experience but disappointing a higher end establishment such as this doesnt take Amex. Puts me off going again.

Thank Lbayorkie
Response from PNeville, Owner at The Pheasant HotelResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed that our policy is not to accept Amex and that that would put you off returning.

Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Visited this wonderful Hotel for the second time with friends. Situated just on the outskirts of Helmsley in a small village, ideal for visiting the North Yorkshire Moors. Sumptuous we’ll appointed bedrooms, cosy bar area and lounge with log fire. Fine dining complements your overnight...More

Thank 766Mike
Response from PNeville, Owner at The Pheasant HotelResponded 29 December 2017

Thankyou for your lovely review. We wish you a very Happy New year and look forward to seeing you back at the Pheasant soon. Best wishes, Peter, jacquie and all the Pheasant Team.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345680
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Laundry Service
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Babysitting
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (93)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (15)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
moy34
15 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from PNeville | Property representative |
Yes, we do allow children of any ages, although we do ask for them to wear appropriate 'swimming nappies'. Thank you
1
Vote
moy34
15 March 2017|
Answer
Response from PNeville | Property representative |
Hello, The swimming pool is open to non-residents, although we do require to know when will you be coming. The fee is £5 per adult everytime you use it. There is also an annual membership with a cost of £50, although at the... More
1
Vote
joejoe69
12 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from PNeville | Property representative |
Hello, we have a room that is next to reception on the ground floor and there is not steps to get in and out of it and the hotel, the only slightly issue is that the bathroom has a bath and not a walk-in shower. Thank you... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Look online. All rooms good."
Read review
"Pond view lovely"
Read review
"cottages in the grounds"
Read review
"Didn't stay overnight so can't comment"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing