We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holland Hall Country House Hotel

PricelineUS$63*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 255: English reviews
Start your review of Holland Hall Country House Hotel
 Click to rate
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Although the hall and setting is lovely. The food was disappointing. The mushroom soup was watery and tasteless. We asked if we could switch for the pate choice and were told there were not enough. We were offered tomato soup, which again was basically blended tinned tomatoes. Chicken dinner was depressing. Profiteroles saved the day. Waiting staff were lovely. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noreen k
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we have just had a wonderful afternoon at Holland hall to celebrate our granddaughters christening. the staff from the receptionist to the bar staff and waiters were so helpful and could not do enough for you to make the day perfect. the room was lovely and the buffet fantastic beautifully cooked and presented ,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryguest56
scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night when we travelled down for one night for a relatives funeral.There was a disgusting smell in the front reception and the dining room. The room we were in 103 was disgusting no carpet on the floor just laminate flooring that was old and warped. The beds were clean but old and creaky....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cazandchaz
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After holding our daughters christening here we would never go back! Food was awful at two previous meals there so we made a point of raising before we had the christening (as had already booked and paid) was assured it would be ok by manager and thought you can't do much wrong on a buffet. Well it's clear they can!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou52005
hollandhallhotel, Manager at Holland Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Mrs Dempsey, After numerous meetings based at the hotel with staff and hotel owner we deemed the matter as closed. We find it unfortunate that you have also taken to social media however we feel as a hotel this case was closed upon the final meeting and we have no further comment on this situation as we feel...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night with a 4 month old baby. As they have no lift had to struggle up the stairs with a suitcase and a pram, making 2 trips up and down when I arrived and again when checking out. Had requested a cot which was not in the room when we arrived so had to ask reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coolmetal
hollandhallhotel, Manager at Holland Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologise for the fact we do not have a lift, unfortunately due to Holland Hall Hotel being a Grade II listed building we are not allowed to put a lift in due to regulations and restrictions for a listed building. Staff members are more than happy to assist with...

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Although the staff are very friendly and extremely accommodating, and try there best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are very dark even with the lights on and bed side lamps don't work, windows frames are draughty and in need of repair, the bathroom is badly in need of up grading its very old, and dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolaebrown123
hollandhallhotel, Manager at Holland Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review without guests like yourself we could not continue to run a successful business at Holland Hall, and thank you for your kind words about our staff. We are very proud of our team at Holland Hall and the the level of service we provide. I would like to also...

Fremantle, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2017

I stayed in the hotel for one night as a solo traveller, as it was close to where i needed to be and was priced quite reasonably. First of all, the location of the premises is very nice, secluded near woods and farmland. Check in was smooth and the staff where very friendly. However thats where it stopped. The premises...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom M
hollandhallhotel, Manager at Holland Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to contact us in relation to your stay. We would like to also thank you for your kind words about our staff, we are proud of our hard working team and we are glad this could be noted by yourself. We would like to take this opportunity to inform...

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

I'll keep this short. This hotel is dated and disgusting. Although it's clean the rooms are dark, lighting it poor, hairdryer is from the 60's lack of plug sockets. The shower/bath from the room upstairs often leaked though my light fittings into my bathroom. The food was hit and miss. Sunday lunch was great but hit mid week and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zoe R
hollandhallhotel, Manager at Holland Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the hotel regarding the comments made about the condition of the rooms during your 4 week stay. Here at the hotel we continue work as hard as ever which allows us to improve and maintain our high standards. However we feel that it is a shame that...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Stayed here as part of a training course for 4 weeks. It looked like a nice hotel from the outside. Inside was just not what it seemed. The food usually took around 1 hour to come out after ordering it, one evening they 'lost' our order, yet there were only 2 other people eating in the hotel, the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RonnieJane90
hollandhallhotel, Manager at Holland Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the hotel regarding the comments made about the condition of the rooms during your 4 week stay. Here at the hotel we continue work as hard as ever which allows us to improve and maintain our high standards. However we feel that it is a shame that...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Beautiful setting and food was excellent. Three course meal we ordered was delicious and well presented. All staff was courteous, helpful and friendly. Perfect Mothers Day and will definately return. Well done everyone!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor T
hollandhallhotel, Manager at Holland Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you kind review! Our staff at Holland Hall Hotel work tirelessly to provide a high quality level of service and we are pleased it was noticed and praised by yourself. We look forward to welcome you to Holland Hall Hotel in the future.

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upholland
2.3 km away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
5.4 km away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Wigan West (M6,Jct 26) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Premier Inn Southport (Ormskirk) Hotel
5.3 km away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
6.2 km away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Hotel offering the accommodation of a fine hotel with excellent function, wedding and conference facillities - The Holland Hall Country House Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holland Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Lafford Lane, Upholland WN8 0QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Upholland
Price Range: €55 - €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holland Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hall Country Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holland Hall Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Dublin
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
St Helens, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holland Hall Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not stay”
noreenk_13, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Unless it was up graded i would not pay to stay in this hotel its only because its through work.”
nicolaebrown123, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“wait for new wing to be done.hoefully better beds and matresses”
448gary, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“In my opinion the suite we stayed in was over priced”
187069Lynn, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“do own research”
merc593, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$63* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$63
Booking.comUS$63
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates