We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,365: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have frequented this hotel for a few years on business. The hotel staff, reception, bar, restaurant are very helpful and accommodating. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel grounds are gorgeous. We had our first conference in the hotel today, the service was superb, food was gorgeous. We will definitely be booking again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank l70rde
Manchester UK
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The front entrance of the hotel promises a nice country house venue - sadly, this isn't really delivered on. Its a bit of a higgledy piggledy sprawl with various annexes and wings added on during different ownership tenures; none of which appear to improve what's on offer. They're all a bit tatty and crumbly. Maybe they can't quite get the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ITTS
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The last time I visited I left with a terrible impression and a view not to return, as I am allergic to mushrooms I asked for a chicken without the mushroom sauce to which I then recieved the same chicken which had just had the sauce wiped off (the sauce was still there) I asked the waitress to take it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago

Set in lovely grounds and wonderful building. Great spa. Good for weddings although a bit pricey, good location and easy parking. A good place to stay although costly. I would have liked a few offers on the spa which I didn't receive probably because I am from the local area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cazz A
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cazz A,. Thanks for your kind words, we'll see if we can get you on the Spa mailing list and hopefully can avail of any offers in future. Hopefully see you again soon. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went on a cource and stayed in room 102. Now the price of breckfust was way to expence and a bottle of cider for £6 must be a mistake but over all a very good nights sleep. The staff couldnt be more help full bit the beds could do with being a bit feather apart

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joshuah L
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This could clearly be a lovely hotel - the noise of the motorway right next to it could be a bit tiresome if you are there for a spa weekend but didnt bother me. The room was nice enough but it is clear that maintenance isnt something they like to spend money on. There was a large burn mark on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian T
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ian T, Will certainly take your feedback on board and ensure an extra effort is made to meet guest expectations in future. I shall certainly be investigating with the Senior and address the issues you have raised as a matter of urgency. We appreciate the time you have taken to post the review and do hope you give us...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

All in all great girly weekend, food great on first night disappointing on second night, certainly not 4* hotel, bathrooms in all our rooms requiring attention and shabby at best, room ok apart from that, bed very comfortable. Breakfast good, staff pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kath7222
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kath7222, Sorry to see we disappointed on the second evening with you food, consistency has obviously been a challenge I shall certainly discuss with Chef and the Restaurant Manager. Happy to see you enjoy a good nights sleep and breakfast. Thank you for taking time to post your review, we do hope you will return in the near future.....

Reviewed 1 week ago

me and my wife stayed at the dunkenhalgh the spa was a very relaxing stay with swimming pool the meals was second to none well worth a visit the room was beautiful very good night sleep and hotel staff was excellent well worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Paul N, We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thank you for taking time to post your review. Kind Regrads, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

Manchester
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a fantastic time at this lovely Historic hotel. We were made to feel welcome from the minute we booked in to checking out. The staff were so lovely . Our room was large and was warm and welcoming . Breakfast was one of the nicest we have ever had. The food in the bar was also excellent we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Judy T, Thanks for the wonderful review, delighted you enjoyed your stay, thanks for taking the time to tell us, see you again soon. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughters and I stayed at the dunkenhalgh hotel for a weekend with haunted happenings. We really enjoyed our stay. All the staff were really friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. The bar staff Sara and Sam were fantastic and very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith J
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Judith J, We are delighted you all enjoyed your weekend break with the Haunted Happenings group, hopefully the Hotel and outdoor activities were enlightening and you made the most of your searches. I shall certainly pass on your kind words to Sam and Sara, the groups that regularly stay are a delight to look after. Hope you come back...

334 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (306)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (162)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Moors
9.5 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.6 km away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
223 reviews
5.8 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
903 reviews
0.8 km away
The Maple Lodge
The Maple Lodge
#1 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
184 reviews
19.4 km away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton-le-Moors BB5 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Moors
Price Range: €72 - €126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
LANCASHIRE, UK

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a premier room- they were ordinary so can't imagine what the standards are like!”
 of 5 bubbles ITTS, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in a room that over looked a small courtyard and over looking a fountain”
 of 5 bubbles 492judithj, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we upgraded - it is worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles MaxineW811, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If in the courtyard ask for a ground floor room to avoid stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles ac88fairfield, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor on the courtyard is handy for everything.”
 of 5 bubbles Gedoflittlelever, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5