We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 364: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This is a 2 part review first I will deal with the Hotel and our stay. we arrived early as my husband was playing golf, no problem here and he did enjoy this challenging course. I settled into our room then went over to the pool area, note you have to go outside to access the pool, nice size pool,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bjdigg
ShawHill, Public Relations Manager at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent review of your visit to Shaw Hill. I am delighted that everything went well - it truly was a lovely wedding, its nice to read you had such an enjoyable day and that you enjoyed all the facilities that Shaw Hill offer. Nina is a fantastic wedding coordinator and we proud ourselves as an award...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel due to attending a business meeting nearby. Was underwhelmed. Arrived late in the evening so didn't eat evening meal here. Room was old fashioned and had a weird full length mirror in the bath/shower cubicle which I just found odd. The room was incredibly hot and I struggled to sleep. The next morning I couldn't find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantel M
ShawHill, Director of Sales at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Chantel M, Many thanks for your recent review of your visit to Shaw Hill. We are very sorry you felt the housekeeper who attend your room was intrusive we will take this up with the housekeeping team to ensure this doesn't happen again. We have recently upgraded many of our bedrooms and these include free hold hairdryers. We...

Burscough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016

We visited Shaw Hill Hotel to attend a Charity Lunch for Cancer Research. The room was set out lovely but better still the food served was first class. The staff constantly asked if everything was OK and offered more vegetables to go with the main course. After lunch we enjoyed a drink in the sunshine overlooking the golf course. Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank barnsend
ShawHill, Director of Sales at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear barnsend, Many thanks for your review of your recent visit to Shaw Hill. We are delighted to read you enjoyed the Cancer Research Charity lunch we had the pleasure of hosting it is a fantastic event which we are proud to be associated with. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Michelle Proffitt Sales...

Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Went here on a lovely sunny evening, had a drink in the bar then went through to the restaurant, service very good greeted with canapés whist we made are order and then shown to are table were the food was brilliant! Just changed the menu and its lovey, well worth a visit. Well done.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank louis c
ShawHill, Director of Sales at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Louis C, Many thanks for your recent review of your visit to Shaw Hill. We are delighted to read you had a good time during your visit and we will look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Michelle Proffitt Sales Manager

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Greeted at the desk by a very miserable woman. She got our reserved rooms wrong, but no apology. The following morning the electricity in our room went out as did several others). I contacted the reception, same woman on duty, who said it was being sorted and would keep us informed. After half an hour we heard nothing so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence W
ShawHill, Director of Sales at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Lawrence W Many thanks for your review of your recent stay at Shaw Hill. We were very disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction of your stay. The electricity issue was an unprecedented problem which we worked quickly to resolve. If you can please contact me on 01257 269221 to discuss further. Kind Regards Michelle Proffitt Sales Manager

Reviewed 29 April 2016

Golf trip - course was closed, which in itself was not an issue. Waited for 60 minutes patiently to speak to the golf manager to see if we could have a voucher to return to play later. When the manager came into the bar, she firstly ignored me and then called to the receptionist loud enough for me to hear...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy B
ShawHill, Manager at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Andy I am very disappointed about the service that you received whilst staying with us. I have since spoken to your wife and we look forward to meeting you again and hopefully rebuilding your trust with us Kind Regards Carol

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016

My wife and I had a lovely yummy afternoon tea with views over the golf course. It was a great wind down, 'olde-worlde' surrounding, comfy chairs, large filling portions, very pleasant ambiance throughout. Service and food excellent and and the staff are so helpful - on hand whenever you needed them.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IanNoalnP
ShawHill, Director of Sales at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Good Afternoon IanNoalnP Many thanks for your review of your recent visit to Shaw Hill. We are delighted to read you had an enjoyable visit and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Michelle Proffitt Sales Manager

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Stayed here on a golf break which at £95 was great value. Course was good if a little hilly on the back 9. The hotel is a lovely building, rooms were comfortable and drinks not too dear. My evening meal of whitebait, lemon and thyme chicken and cheese board was very good. Breakfast was excellent staff always helpful. Snooker tables...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iantoes
ShawHill, Director of Sales at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Good Afternoon iantoes, Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us at Shaw Hill. We are delighted you enjoyed the golf course and yes it does get a bit hilly on the back nine, we do have golf buggies available for hire to make the challenging back nine a little easier for our visitors. Thank you for...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Visited here a couple of years ago, very good then, decided to go again for afternoon tea to celebrate my Mother-in-Laws birthday. I asked for one or two things to be taken into consideration for mobility and health, they were, always pleasing when you ask for something and it's delivered. We were shown to a table in the bar area...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Malcolm D
ShawHill, Director of Sales at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Malcolm D Many thanks for your recent review of your visit to Shaw Hill. I am delighted to read you had such an enjoyable visit and that there staff were able to assist you with your requests on the day. We hope that you will be visiting us again soon. Kind Regards Michelle Proffitt Sales Manager

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We had an excellent lunch on Sunday 3 coarse about £20.00 each, it was very well presented and cooked to perfection, can't fault it, not many people In at first bur slowly filled up, the nice weather added to the day as it was overlooking the well manicured golf coarse. So good we booked in for our golden wedding lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charnocktraveller
ShawHill, Director of Sales at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Charnocktraveller Many thanks for your review of your recent visit to Shaw Hill. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Michelle Proffitt

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
7.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
11.4 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
14.4 km away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Chorley North Hotel
18.5 km away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There are 30 individually styled bedrooms which vary in size and positioning gently reflecting the period of the building. All rooms are en-suite and facilities include Telephone, TV, Hospitality Tray and 24 hour room service. Most rooms include trouser press, ironing boards or are available on request. All guests are welcome to use the Leisure club free of charge and if you fancy a round of golf you can enjoy half price green fees - just ask at reception.The accommodation is set over three floors with a spiralling staircase and glittering chandeliers. Due to the nature of the building there is no lift access to the floors so should you have difficulty with stairs please request ground floor rooms when booking. All public areas of the Hotel have wheelchair access.We have a range of packages from Bed & Breakfast, Dinner inclusive, Spa & Golf breaks, Conference/ Delegate and Corporate rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Preston Road | Whittle-Le-Woods, Chorley PR6 7PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Price Range: €80 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chorley
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Shaw Hill Hotel Country
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Chorley, Lancashire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“good view overlooking golf course”
 of 5 bubbles hal941, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Thankfully we didn't stay.”
 of 5 bubbles W7094ZRjohne, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't have a room over the main entrance!”
 of 5 bubbles 399lorraines, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the refurbished rooms within the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles Rebecca387, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sorry, I did not stay in the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles roberthP5279RO, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay