We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Albion Hotel

Hotels.comUS$101*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Albion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 275: English reviews
Start your review of Albion Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Superb break hotel was very clean staff all friendly and so helpful food was good will be coming back next year hotel is in superb place our room had such lovely views thank you to all staff keep up great work.see you next year . Just make hot spa warmer that's only thing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dazwest1
AlbionIW, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your mostly positive review of your stay with us at the Albion. The jacuzzi is the same temperature as the swimming pool, and this is how it is supposed to be, but many people expect it to be warmer. Despite this, we thank you for your comments on our staff and rooms. We look forward to welcoming...

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time for a while we have stayed at a seaside hotel, a mixture of good and room for improvement. Pros, great location, lovely room, indoor swimming pool. Cons, did not know we had booked hb and told we were room only until I produced the confirmation, service in restaurant very mixed, wine service hap hazard from having to ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy5047148
AlbionIW, Manager at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us at the Albion. Thank you for commenting on the quality of the room and our new swimming pool, although I have taken note of your comment regarding the pool temperature. I would like to apologise for the confusion with meals - there was obviously a lack of communication...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay, great setting and 15 metres from the sea which was amazing superb location, great facilities, decoration is a little dated but very clean and of high quality. Comfy beds and lovely thick quilts. Great swimming pool, bar, and restaurants…..we had a great time and would recommend this hotel. However there were a few points that let...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Djo2904
AlbionIW, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for reviewing your stay with us on TripAdvisor. Thank you particually for commenting on our facilities, cleanliness and quality furniture. Thank you for also saying that you would recommend us. I understand the issue with the receptionist managing the desk and the bar - and when we get busier we do have separate people for each job....

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2017

We have just finished a midweek break, couldn't fault anything. The room overlooking the sea was as good as any we have ever stayed in, that's world wide. Breakfast and evening meal were first class,with good portions plenty of choice for vegetarian wife. Staff we're very friendly. We spoke to reception prior to booking ferry and they found a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patweiss2016
AlbionIW, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Hello - thank you for writing a review of the Albion. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us where you liked our rooms and our meals were also "first class", thank you also for commenting on our friendly staff. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

somerset
Reviewed 24 March 2017

my husband and I have just got back from a four day break at this hotel. When we arrived we where given a very warm welcome by the receptionist Annmarie who explained we where unable to have our booked room as the boiler had broken down but that she had moved us to another room.as we had booked a suite...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank somersetlady61
AlbionHotelIOW, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there - thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us at the Albion. We particularly thank you for commenting on the attentive service of our receptionists Annmarie and Mike, as well as the cleanliness of the hotel. We are so very sorry that the room you had booked experienced boiler issues, we were aware of this and...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Large, spotless, immaculate room overlooking the sea with easy access to the beach. Lovely, new, in-door swimming pool. Good food, cooked to order from a limited menu. Clear signs of a lot of investment for the benefit of customers, although some areas do have a dated decor and are clearly work-in-progress. Dated? Yes, but spotlessly clean. Staff attitude, eagerness to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oj20082016
AlbionHotelIOW, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for your pleasing review of your stay with us at the Albion. Thanks also for commenting on the cleanliness and food quality. The Albion's decor is supposed to be old fashioned-looking and cosy rather than a more modern style. Thank you also for commenting on our staff service and our indoor pool. We hope to see...

Reviewed 19 March 2017

Hotel very 70s. Nice position for view of the sea, but services poor. On arrival difficult to check in, as no one in reception or bar. The restaurant service very poor, and unhygienic. I asked for fresh orange juice, and coffee, but was told I could have only have one drink at breakfast, and choose which drink I wanted. When...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark W
AlbionHotelIOW, General Manager at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there, thank you the review of your stay with us at the Albion. Firstly I would like to address that the Albion's decor is supposed to be old-fashioned looking and cosy, and therefore not too modern. Secondly I would like to deeply apologize for one of our chambermaids letting herself into your room when you clearly displayed the do...

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as we visited the Isle for just two days. Lovely big rooms.over looked the bay ... beautiful view. Very quiet area and fell asleep to the sound of the sea . Perfect. Would stay again. Parking on site.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nobby1984
AlbionHotelIOW, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay with us at the Albion Hotel, especially commenting on our big rooms and that it was a quiet and a beautiful area. We hope to see you again sometime in the future. Many thanks again.

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Just a one nighter as I was working in the island. The Albion's room was big, comfortable and very clean. Food was good. The service was somewhat haphazard; Clearly an inexperienced waiter. He rushed about too fast which always makes the diners uncomfortable. It just felt a bit panicky. Pool looked recently refurbished and looked good but unfinished with cables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon F
AlbionHotelIOW, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there - thank you for submitting a review of your stay with us at the Albion, commenting positively on our big, comfortable and clean rooms as well as the food. We will speak to the staff in regards to service mentioning points you raised, and we're sorry the waiter made you feel uncomfortable at dinner. Thank you also for...

Bristol
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

This was the first visit to this hotel and it was a super experience. The hotel has excellence throughout, reception was informative, friendly and helpful, our room (312) was large with high quality furnishings and the bathroom was a delight, although we didn't have a sea view the outlook was facing trees and greenery. Guests can pay for a 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oebep
AlbionHotelIOW, General Manager at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there - thank you for your pleasing review of your stay with us at the Albion, commenting on our large rooms, quality furniture and our friendly and attentive staff. We look forwarding to seeing you again sometime in the future. Many thanks again.

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
22.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
780 reviews
0.2 km away
Freshwater Bay Country House
25.5 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
24.2 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
801 reviews
4.2 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Albion Hotel has 40 bedrooms most with sea view balcony or patio. The hotel is situated right on the beach in Freshwater Bay, just a stones throw from the sea. We have double or twin rooms at the hotel - twin rooms offering two double beds. All of our rooms have ensuite bathrooms with a bath and shower. You can book room only, bed and breakfast or bed, breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: Freshwater Bay, Freshwater PO40 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Price Range: €76 - €141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Freshwater
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Albion Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
York, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Albion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The sea views are superb!”
  • View from hotel room
  • View of the bay
  • View from hotel room
Djo2904, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“One with sea views but expect to hear the sea!”
oj20082016, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We chose sea view with balcony, we were given side sea view, above the bar, and over looking what appeared to be a car park!”
markwH5810SS, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beach view with balcony 1st floor”
NadineW855, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“balcony rooms sea facing give spectacular views particularly at sunrise and sunset”
helenamk64, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$101* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$100
Booking.comUS$101
Expedia.comUS$101
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates