We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fountain Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Fountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Fountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 312: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Stayed for 2 nights using an Old English Inns deal plus a couple of vouchers - outrageously good value for money as a result! There's no parking but the location is fantastic - right in the middle of town but a bit noisy on a Saturday night as a result, not that it was an issue for me. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trebormaharg
Lawrence G, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

It's always enjoyable to read a review like this one, thanks for taking the time to comment on our good value for money, friendly staff and great food. I really hope you visit again soon.

Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Bed was great and room was quirky. Bathroom was about average, but the shower not great. The food we had was fantastic and all really reasonable too, which shocked us a bit coming from Bucks, where everything is double that of everywhere else on earth. The staff were fantastic, really friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay here again and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt P
Lawrence G, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving such lovely comments. I am really glad that you enjoyed yourselves whilst dining and staying with us, it's brilliant that you received our usual fantastic service and would recommend us. we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Rome
Reviewed 8 February 2016

I have been here a few times for breakfast or lunch and I have to say it wasn't the best experience. When you walk into the restaurant you get this old school sailor vibe, which is great and the staff are all really lovely too. But the food has not been too great. I ordered a sandwich and my boyfriend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yara H
Lawrence G, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Fountain, I am glad you enjoyed the setting of the Fountain, and our lovely friendly team.

Glauchau, Germany
Reviewed 29 January 2016

The rooms are small, dirty and filthy. In the first room, there was a thick crust on the table, lights did only partially work and I could not get any WiFi. The receptionist assured me, that the room was cleaned that day..... Anyway, I got another room and this time WiFi worked, but the ceiling in the bathroom of Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anja N
Lawrence G, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, since your post we have now completely redecorated room 12.

Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

Never stayed in the hotel but had lunch here for the second time. Really good food and service nice outdoor area overlooking the harbour. Can definitely recommend for food or drinks will come again in summer :) Good portin sizes you wont go hungry!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mab1666
Lawrence G, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

it's brilliant to hear that you have enjoyed yourself each time you have visited, we will have more great food and service ready for you next time you pop in.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Because I'm quite tall, I couldn't fit under the shower (the head was broken btw, which I forgot to report) and constantly had to mind my head in the room. The mattress was really soft (I'm used to a hard one), which caused lower back pain in the first few hours of the day. I also found the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

I have shared your feedback with the management team, Kind regards

Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

We have eaten here many times and have always had great service and superb food. However when we walked in on a Sunday for a table for 12 it all went a bit pear shaped. They offered us three tables pushed together in the rear restaurant area, it was only midday and the pub was empty. They took drinks orders...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your visit and that the team failed to deliver our usual high standards, We value all feedback, Kind regards

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Lovely, chatty and informative staff. Helpful too. Food was reasonably priced and really tasty, lots of variety for fussy eaters. Really near to local area. Was made to feel welcome, plus the room was gorgeous. Only downside was drunk/rowdy locals at the pub nearby that could be heard from our room, however it was a saturday night, so to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

A great review to read and share with the team Kind regards

Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night for a Christmas do in cowes. Very impressed with the quality of the room , very comfortable well equipped room with tea and coffee facilities, chocolate brownies and an iron and ironing board. Staff very attentive and helpful nothing to much trouble, breakfast buffet plus cooked breakfast cooked to order all to a high standard . Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

A great 5* review to read, Kind regards

Cowes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

We headed for the Fountain on Sunday evening as its popular with my father. All in all the food was very good and the ribeye steak I had was very well cooked and tasted great. The only few issues I noticed where the longer than expected wait time for our food and also the horrendous smell from the vinegar pot....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DG_1312
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and review, Kind regards

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
0.9 km away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Cowes
86 reviews
1.8 km away
Albert Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
North House
North House
#4 of 5 in Cowes
15 reviews
10.7 km away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
349 reviews
19.7 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Address: High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Price Range: €67 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Cowes
Fountain Hotel Cowes
The Fountain Inn Cowes, Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't have room 20. Also there are three floors and no lift so check.”
 of 5 bubbles Bantam70, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't go as you will be very disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles 745jeanettec, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Unless you like stairs get a room on lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles davee933, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't waste your money”
 of 5 bubbles EssexEmily, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“stay somewhere else !”
 of 5 bubbles JULIESOMERSET, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5