We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Forest Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

741 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 740: English reviews
Start your review of Forest Lodge Hotel
 Click to rate
Swindon, Wiltshire
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was a family trip for 2 nights with 2 adults and 2 young children (2 and 4) In a short summary: Good: + The breakfast was hearty and fresh with good options. + Friendly staff Bad: - Rooms are dated. We stayed in 34 which was a family room. The plumbing made a horrible noise whenever we or either...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dreamingearth
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked into this hotel for location but would return for the service and meals. The room was clean, warm and perfectly adequate. We had two evening meals and on both occasions we were provided with top notch food. The service was excellent and the staff were very attentive, nothing was too much. The pulled pork starter was delicious, followed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have just returned from a 4 day, 3 night stay in the New Forest to celebrate our anniversary, valentines and my birthday. We were initially booked in to Bartley Lodge but had somehow been moved to Forest Lodge without our knowledge. We had no say and had to stay here as Bartley had rebooked a conference. My partner and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
Peter M, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry for the disappointment of your stay and especially the food you experienced at the hotel. we are today reviewing the menu with the head chef to rectify the problems you encountered so we do appreciate the feedback you have kindly given us. I am not aware as to why you were moved from Bartley Lodge ,...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked as a gift with poultons breaks, enjoying two days in poultons theme park and 2 nights in the hotel. Originally booked a sister hotel, Bartley lodge but was contacted a few weeks prior to our visit explaining that a large conference had been booked in that hotel and offered us to change to forest lodge with a complimentary meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craighooper1
Peter M, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed your break with us and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay . I do hope you will visit us again to take advantage of the beautiful scenery and another visit to see Peppa pig. Kind regards Peter

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel itself is lovely. The reception staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice, comfortable, clean, spacious with all the amenities you'd expect. The pool was fairly busy but still pleasant as was the sauna. Its in a good location for walks on the New Forest and it's walking distance into the village of Lyndhurst....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
Peter M, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and please be assured that your comments are being passed to the chef who is reviewing the menus to change them and improve it. We do take all feedback very seriously and thank you again. I do hope this will not deter you form future visits so we can prove that our food production and...

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is really well situated for getting out and about as well as being close to a number of cafes etc. so you do not have drive for something to eat. The rooms are well kept, warm and comfortable and there is a wide choice on offer for breakfast. The staff were friendly and accommodating, we would definitely come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank priorysides
Peter M, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you will visit us again in the near future. Best wishes Peter

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really poor nothing like the photos on the website. Breakfast was ok rooms are tired bathrooms with shower curtains really are for the past. Pool was filthy but it was cleaner than the sauna that hasn't seen a mop for months

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
Peter M, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

The pool is cleaned on a daily basis but we have had a busy period and the sauna was cleaned but again heavy use. All our bedrooms have shower curtains at this hotel and they are regularly washed and/or replaced . I do apologise for your disappointment. Kind regards Peter

Reviewed 1 week ago

Receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful. Had good knowledge of the area too. Within walking distance of the town and pubs in Lyndhurst, lovely friendly place to visit. Good value for money as well

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia I
Peter M, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and do hope you will visit us again to take in more of the local scenery and amenities. Kind regards Peter

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On arrival was met by lovely staff who asked if we wanted to book a table at the restaurant to which we said yes why not as time was getting on so booked for 7.30 . Went up to our room along a very creaky corridor and found a small but comfortable room ,the bathroom stunk of a dirty mop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jandi1971
Peter M, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for the disappointing food you received. We are reviewing the menu today. I am not sure as to why you felt your clothes smelt this is a new occurrence as we do have very powerful extractor fans in the kitchen - I will look into this. Thank you again for...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel and grounds. We booked the special deal break in January and it was excellent value. Dinner in the restaurant on the first night was good but as the menu was limited we opted to eat out on the second night. As the hotel is a converted house the sound proofing is not great. All in all good value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EGJ J
Peter M, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

I do hope you will visit us again and thank you for your review. Kind regards Peter

329 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Crown Four Poster Room (25)
Viewed
Family Verderer For Four (32)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Verder Family For Five (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
5.8 km away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
715 reviews
4.5 km away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
763 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
628 reviews
10.0 km away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
259 reviews
2.2 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Price Range: €119 - €247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Forest Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Forest Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dogs allowed but must be by prior arrangement with hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles W8343KMannec, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 is ground floor and of a good size.”
 of 5 bubbles terryp408, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 7 is spacious, has a 4 poster & is in a quiet location.”
 of 5 bubbles baxter86, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I asked for a quiet Crown room and got Room 18 which was away from the pool and function rooms on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles T203VBkevins, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“.small double room with small bathroom. Shower over bath.”
 of 5 bubbles susanbG4818TE, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5