We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stag Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Stag Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 160: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely little hotel in beautiful new forest area. Room was very clean and cozy and all the staff friendly and helpful. Traditional looking bar with wide choice of beers and ales. Definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mon V
Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

the staff are all lovely and very accommodating and friendly, breakfast was wonderful and the room was spot on. the room was very warm and perfect for a chilly evening! wifi was good couldn't ask for much better for a one stop over.highly recommend the hotel i would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lang1999
argentina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at The Stag Hotel in Lyndhurst for three nights in late November 2016 whilst travelling on business in the region. The room was large and the location was central with free car park, however the radiators were switched off during the night and not switched on again untiul 07:00 in the morning. The radiators did not work at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guy41
Nicola M, Manager at Stag Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guy41, I am terribly sorry for inconvenience. There is always a manager on duty that is willing to resolve a problem. However none of this problems except WiFi were mentioned to any member of staff. If any of those issues would be brought to our attention we could have resolve this for you. Hopefully, one day you will give...

Fawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

There are some fabulous places to eat in a The Forest, sadly this is not one of them. You would think thst a steak in bruschetta would be easy but as the two were not on the menu together, flexibility ZERO I opted for a burger with beef chilli. Did not want the chips but was still charged fir the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeltaLima54
Nicola M, General Manager at Stag Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DeltaLima54, Sorry we didn't succeed your expectations, Its true we dont do steak brushettas (its not on our menu,and also if we had to do meals off the menu for every person that ask we wouldn't need one !) However you were offered the option of steak meal and ciabatta bread on the side. Extra topping of Chillies were...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great experience at the Stag Hotel restaurant today. The weather had just turned foul, and Newf Ruby led the way as we looked for a warm place to wait it out. The welcoming pub was full of regulars, always a good sign. We enjoyed fishcakes, garlic mushroom on ciabatta, and pea soup. Each dish was a delight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newf-on-the-loose
Nicola M, Manager at Stag Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for your lovely comment. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Kind Regards Emilia

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have just come back from a great weekend stay at the stag hotel . From the moment we checked in at the hotel we received great friendly service from all the staff they couldn't do enough for you . We stayed in room number 7 which has a good view of the high street . We decided to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thinktank64
Nicola M, Owner at Stag Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! Really pleased you were happy with your stay

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

My partner ordered us some food at the bar, served by a very polite young girl, as we were eating our food we overheard another member of staff say to the chef, "DID YOU SPIT IN THEIR FOOD" , as we were the only people in the pub then I assumed she was talking about us. (she was a young...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DDT111
Nicola M, Owner at Stag Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DDT111, your review is totally irrational and not true, but because of what you have written I have taken action to investigate this! We took action and investigated this whole issue by speaking to staff, local customers (that witnessed situation) and also our CCTV cameras. Our kitchen is a very busy and loud place so I understand that its...

Watford
Reviewed 29 October 2016

- Overall satisfactory. - large family room with 4th pull out bed. Quite well appointed, 3*. - great traditional family pub, evening meal and breakfast were great. Could take drinks to room - bonus. - service was overall good. - charming hotel in the beautiful town on lyndhurst. - couple of unnecessary stress items as they didn't seem to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herts_Monkey
London
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I have only visited the bar restaurant. I suspected the beer battered cod cooked from frozen, greasy and batter very heavy. Peas hard and generally wrinkled. Menu states homemade coleslaw, not a chance. It's cheap but won't return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haplesswanderer
Nicola M, Manager at Stag Hotel, responded to this review

It’s very disappointing to receive a comment like this. We work hard to offer good food and friendly service. I can assure you that our coleslaw is homemade on a daily basis and the beer batter cod is freshly produced to order and not frozen. I’m sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations but I hope you will give us...

Georgia
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Nothing great or overpowering about this hotel other than the great location in the New Forest. The room was clean and large, so large in fact that the TV in the room was way too far away to watch or hear without a loud volume which we feared would bother other guests. Room was clean and the bed comfortable. For...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GAretiree

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyndhurst hotels
0.2 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 km away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
404 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge
BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,133 reviews
0.3 km away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
82 reviews
0.4 km away
The White Rabbit
The White Rabbit
#8 of 8 in Lyndhurst
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Stag Hotel in Lyndhurst offers quality accommodation at affordable prices.If you want a quiet break with relaxed hospitality and friendly, attentive service, The Stag is the perfect location. If you feel more active, it is the ideal centre for walking or cycling the lovely forest trails, or perhaps playing golf at the local course only a stone's throw away, or try horse-riding at one of the many local stables. The Stag offers a variety of comfortable rooms, a warm welcome, tasty food and free parking.All the rooms are ensuite and have been recently refurbished.Much of our food is sourced locally and is always fresh and tasty. There is a cosy bar serving real ales, wine, spirits and snacks and a lovely panelled dining area where you can enjoy sumptuous dinners and hearty breakfasts. The staff make every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and are always on hand to help. Our aim is to ensure your stay with us is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable.The hotel is conveniently situated within 30 minutes drive from Southampton, Bournemouth and Portsmouth and is only about 3 miles from the M27 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stag Hotel

Address: 69 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Price Range: €64 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stag Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Stag Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stag Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stag Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Slough, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Stag Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay at The Drift Inn. 3 miles away”
 of 5 bubbles DeltaLima54, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Phone direct for deals. We had breakfast thrown in. High street facing room was single glazed and high street surprisingly busy thru night!”
 of 5 bubbles Herts_Monkey, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms on the street front.”
 of 5 bubbles GAretiree, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a delux room”
 of 5 bubbles Davidjpurnell, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the back would be quiter”
 of 5 bubbles paulinemowlem, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay