We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Ely

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Ely
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 505: English reviews
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great food, excellent service, fairly priced and wonderful new decor. Really love the carvery & others in the party said the Xmas menu was excellent too. Good selection of drinks & children friendly.... What more can you ask for... Thank you.

1 Thank Joe C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Green King are living up to their reputation with the Ely, spotless, friendly and helpful staff. The steaks were cooked exactly as ordered and we're delicious. Very pleasant surprise that sauces and dressings for the steaks were included in the price. Interesting menu I must say, a mixture of good old "pub dishes, (bangers and mash ) with some a... More 

Thank mikel0ker
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel to stay overnight after a friends wedding. We then got a message via the third party website that there would be some upgrading happening during our stay and that we may want to book elsewhere. I rang the hotel and was told the entire upper floor was being worked on so there would be builders banging... More 

Thank Yomomma2
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night on business. Receptionist was very helpful and courteous. Hotel reception in need of a bit of an upgrade which is on the cards. Clean and comfortable bed and room - could not plug in my laptop as the socket was too close to skirting board to take plug. Apart from that - all good. Good choice of... More 

Thank anr1308
Tim_George1, General Manager at The Ely, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We held our daughters engagement party in the Hampshire suite at the side of the hotel, it has seperate facilities including bar and toilets, it is a lovely room for functions, the food they catered for us was great, the staff really friendly and helpful, they supply a dj who was really good, would definitely recommend this venue for any... More 

Thank sarah p
Tim_George1, General Manager at The Ely, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am glad that we provided you with an excellent night. More 

Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed in 2 rooms for 2 nights because of a family wedding. We had to take our pet Jack Russell with us (1st time ever away from home) so we were a little concerned but pleased that at least she was allowed to be with us. We had twin beds in the rooms. Only downside was that the duvets... More 

Thank Iscoed
Tim_George1, General Manager at The Ely, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. You are very much correct about the refurbishment, as we are undergoing that now and are expecting to re open on the 17th of November. With regards to any issues that you have whilst you stay with us, please always feel free to contact a member of staff about the problem and they... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed overnight 14 October at the Ely Hotel, as we were going to a wedding that day....as the wedding was at 1 pm I phoned a few days prior to see if we could book into our room earlier than 3 pm...unfortunately this wasn't possible...but it didn't spoil our stay....the Ely Hotel was in lovely location, the room we... More 

Thank kathleen_meads
Tim_George1, General Manager at The Ely, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I will be passing on your comments to the team at our next meeting. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable lunch of hunters chicken and Ham egg and chips. nice crispy chips and lovely coleslaw. The staff were polite and our waitress Danni was very helpful. We didn't have to wait very long for the food. First visit and will probably visit again soon.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tim_George1, General Manager at The Ely, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and I will make sure that they are passed on to Dannii. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ely very soon. More 

Winchfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

My Wife and I visited the Ely for some lunch over the weekend, we were too late for Breakfast so we popped in to have a lunch instead. The Food was reasonably priced, the selection on offer was good and the Service was exceptional. I had the steak and Ale pie, this was excellent and I was offered a choice... More 

Thank Darren H
Tim_George1, General Manager at The Ely, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words and I am glad to hear that the service you received was of the high standards we set ourselves, and I will be sure to pass your comments onto Mihail. With regards to the décor and tables in the restaurant, we are currently undergoing a major refurbishment which will bring the restaurant... More 

1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

What we expected to be a 3 star hotel ended up being a 2 or under. The decor is outdated, there were hairs in the bed and on the headboard, and the fuse blew when using the iron whilst a friend was in the bathroom which left her in darkness. The restaurant was even worse with unclean tables and crockery,... More 

Thank advisor2689
Tim_George1, General Manager at The Ely, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, as without your feedback we are not able to improve the experience we deliver to our guests. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment in both the hotel and the restaurant, which I believe would bring the hotel up to the standards that you were expecting, especially with regards to the décor of the... More 

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (51)
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Bathroom (6)
Room/Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (33)
Hotel & Grounds (13)
View from Room (2)
Room/Suite (11)
Dining (5)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yateley
1.2 km away
The Casa Hotel
The Casa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yateley
578 reviews
4.5 km away
The Kingsley at Eversley
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Sandhurst Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,623 reviews
7.0 km away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
5.4 km away
Premier Inn Camberley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Ely Hotel Restaurant
The Ely Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Ely

Address: (A 30 London Road | Blackwater, Camberley, Yateley GU17 9LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Yateley
Price Range: €63 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ely 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Ely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ely Hotel Yateley
Ely Hotel Yateley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ely staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Wool, United Kingdom
Wool, United Kingdom

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Ely staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the ground floor room 15 with a view of the front of the Coach Inn...very pleasant”
 of 5 bubbles kathleen_meads, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid ground floor rooms on the right hand side of the building in the summer.”
 of 5 bubbles elizabetht846, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the back appear to be good!”
 of 5 bubbles DevonCountryBumkins, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you can't manage stairs, request a ground floor room as there are only stairs between the ground floor and the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles ClaireK783, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The block contains two levels of rooms”
 of 5 bubbles garypoleykett, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay