We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Crown House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Crown House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 162: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So the buildings are great, the main house is lovely from the outside, really lovely and offers so much when you drive into the walled courtyard..... the inside is not really sure what it's supposed to be. the bar area is comfortable and cosy and has absolutely no atmosphere on the 3 occasions i've stayed there, the restaurant looks great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A pleasant stay in the stables annexe - the room was a bit tired but was warm and comfortable with everything you need. The staff were accommodating but not over friendly. Horrible orange lights in the courtyard which shine into your room all night but the curtains were thick and it was away from the road so very quiet. Nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bellringer2014
Essex
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The crown house hotel is probably the worst place I have stayed as far as hospitality goes . The rooms were ok, albeit a little tired and not exactly sparkling clean, but the staff are rude and ignorant beyond anything I have ever come across in a hotel or restaurant. We had booked a table for 7.30, we met in...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MrsJEssex
twicksy, Front Office Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you had such an unusual experience at The Crown House. I think our consistently good comments and awards from Booking. Com, Trivago and TripAdvisor for our hospitality and friendliness speak for themselves. We also score very highly for hospitality on Late Rooms and Eviivo. This does not mean that we are complacent, we really value...

Great Chesterford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We had our wedding here on the 3rd September 2016, it was a beautiful day, the setting, the grounds, the food and the Staff of the hotel couldn't of be more perfect, all our guests all said what a great wedding it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karenhunt16
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your wedding day at The Crown House. We are so pleased that your day was everything we would hope it would be. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you both lots of good luck, health and happiness together. It was a privilege for us to be part of your special...

Reviewed 2 October 2016

We were at a wedding in the village so stayed here. An old Georgian house with wonky floors and ceilings. A "cosy" room with a decent sized bathroom (with a proper sized bath) with copious amounts of hot water. Good enough for a one night stay. nice views of gardens at the rear of the property. A quiet spot and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris V
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

The time in Saffron Walden is 1963 (which is rather late for me) - Between the end of the "Chatterley" ban And the Beatles' first LP. (With apologies to Larkin). Waitress from a Victoria Wood sketch - 8-track Muzak with The Mamas and Papas. However to be fair, steak was good meat well cooked, nicely dressed salad and very generous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterpendrack
twicksy, Public Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I don't think we would have minded Lady Chatterley at The Crown House.Lord Byron often stayed here on his way to "visit" his half sister. It is so difficult to know what sort of music people prefer to listen to in the dining room,...

Cheddar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights and were made very welcome. The room was comfy and the bathroom big. We were able to sit outside for a drink in the tent in the garden which was nice. The food was good but we were the only ones in the restaurant on Saturday night which was weird! It was a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieyB
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. And that you missed some of our dreadful storms of late to be able to enjoy drinks in the garden. To be honest our restaurant is quiet some evenings although food is very good, according to the feedback we get, and we are also competitive on...

Redcar
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights for my sisters wedding and really enjoyed my stay. If you're looking for luxury, you won't find it, but if you want a lovely relaxing and friendly hotel with lots of character set in lovely surroundings, this is it. Tina and her staff work extremely hard to make your stay enjoyable and nothing is too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DC1958
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We are really pleased that your stay with us was all we would wish it to be. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff. We hope that you will be able to come and stay again soon.

maidstone.kent
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed as solo business guest, food especially breakfast was superb, rooms are very dated but bathroom very modern. Staff were great and would recommend. Had some famous guests stay there as well. Easy to park and easy wifi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave70800
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the food. We are very lucky to be able to offer free parking at The Crown House. We think essential when travelling to have access to a reliable and fast ,free WIFI connection . We have a rolling refurbishment programme, we are sorry that you found your room...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Arrived on a Sunday evening not knowing what to expect. Really nice location and very tranquil. After check in I went to my room to be presented with a four poster bed that creaked and furniture of the same period, although I slept really well on it. Clean room and well appointed with accessories. My only recommendation would be having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinmck
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. We are really pleased that you slept well and had a tranquil stay with us. We have two separate buildings, you were staying in the original building with the older character rooms. If you prefer a more modern style of room, we can offer those in The Old Stables...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Chesterford
12.8 km away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 4 in Saffron Walden
227 reviews
3.8 km away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
274 reviews
5.3 km away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#4 of 4 in Saffron Walden
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
15.8 km away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
360 reviews
7.2 km away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Crown House

Address: Newmarket Road, Great Chesterford, Saffron Walden CB10 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden > Great Chesterford
Price Range: €110 - €132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown House Hotel Great Chesterford
The Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel Great Chesterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quieter rooms are at the rear as the hotel is on the road but it isn't a busy one.”
 of 5 bubbles 250krisv, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask Tina for advice and she will guide you”
 of 5 bubbles DC1958, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“feel pampered in the bridal suite”
 of 5 bubbles 444traceyl, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check if there is a function on in order to avoid noise!”
 of 5 bubbles jonhF2395QR, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Apparently, the good spirit stays in room 15”
 of 5 bubbles jamesfalkener, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay