We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 166: English reviews
Start your review of The Crown House
 Click to rate
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not bad, seen better days, shabby round the edges, stuffy in our 2nd floor room. Bed comfy enough, but a standard double is too small for anyone used to a king. I had to iron jacket, trousers and shirt on an ironing board whose cover was so old it wouldn't stay fixed. Hangers don't detach from the rail, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Gt Nephew held his wedding reception at The Crown, was very well organised, lovely meal, and pleasant surroundings, beautiful gardens, the staff were very helpful and looked after everyone's needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel B
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

My family and I stayed over for one night at the weekend, the hotel was amazing and staff were perlite and couldn't do enough for you. The room was very spacious and as there was 5 of us, there was plenty of space to move around. The evening meal and breakfast was lovely, hats off to the cheff/'s. My children...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank triplets240909
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments and are really pleased that your stay was all we would wish it to be. We are very lucky,it is a beautiful old building set in lovely grounds. It is so nice to hear that your children loved...

Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

A huge thank you for making our wedding day as special as it was. Everyone at the Crown House went out of there way to make sure our ceremony was amazing, all of our family and friends were looked after wonderfully. Thank you so much, Stuart & Michaela Horne.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoseHorne
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We love weddings and family parties. We are really pleased that your day went as you would wish it to have done. It always an honour to be able to host a wedding. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you both love,luck and happiness in your future together. Thank you so much for taking the time to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016

So the buildings are great, the main house is lovely from the outside, really lovely and offers so much when you drive into the walled courtyard..... the inside is not really sure what it's supposed to be. the bar area is comfortable and cosy and has absolutely no atmosphere on the 3 occasions i've stayed there, the restaurant looks great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is lovely to hear from our regular guests as you can give us different insights, seeing the hotel over time. Firstly, we would love to be able to fully refurbish this beautiful old coaching inn, we love the building and its chequered history, it is a privilege to work here keeping an ancient custom...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

A pleasant stay in the stables annexe - the room was a bit tired but was warm and comfortable with everything you need. The staff were accommodating but not over friendly. Horrible orange lights in the courtyard which shine into your room all night but the curtains were thick and it was away from the road so very quiet. Nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bellringer2014
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. I am not sure if you meant that the staff were respectful and not too "full on" or that you did not find us friendly enough? If it is the latter I am very sorry to hear that, and I hope that it did not spoil your stay with...

Essex
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The crown house hotel is probably the worst place I have stayed as far as hospitality goes . The rooms were ok, albeit a little tired and not exactly sparkling clean, but the staff are rude and ignorant beyond anything I have ever come across in a hotel or restaurant. We had booked a table for 7.30, we met in...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank MrsJEssex
twicksy, Front Office Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you had such an unusual experience at The Crown House. I think our consistently good comments and awards from Booking. Com, Trivago and TripAdvisor for our hospitality and friendliness speak for themselves. We also score very highly for hospitality on Late Rooms and Eviivo. This does not mean that we are complacent, we really value...

Great Chesterford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We had our wedding here on the 3rd September 2016, it was a beautiful day, the setting, the grounds, the food and the Staff of the hotel couldn't of be more perfect, all our guests all said what a great wedding it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karenhunt16
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your wedding day at The Crown House. We are so pleased that your day was everything we would hope it would be. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you both lots of good luck, health and happiness together. It was a privilege for us to be part of your special...

Reviewed 2 October 2016

We were at a wedding in the village so stayed here. An old Georgian house with wonky floors and ceilings. A "cosy" room with a decent sized bathroom (with a proper sized bath) with copious amounts of hot water. Good enough for a one night stay. nice views of gardens at the rear of the property. A quiet spot and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris V
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

The time in Saffron Walden is 1963 (which is rather late for me) - Between the end of the "Chatterley" ban And the Beatles' first LP. (With apologies to Larkin). Waitress from a Victoria Wood sketch - 8-track Muzak with The Mamas and Papas. However to be fair, steak was good meat well cooked, nicely dressed salad and very generous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterpendrack
twicksy, Public Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I don't think we would have minded Lady Chatterley at The Crown House.Lord Byron often stayed here on his way to "visit" his half sister. It is so difficult to know what sort of music people prefer to listen to in the dining room,...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Chesterford
13.0 km away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
242 reviews
5.3 km away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
180 reviews
3.9 km away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
12.7 km away
Sheene Mill
Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
244 reviews
4.2 km away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Crown House

Address: Newmarket Road, Great Chesterford, Saffron Walden CB10 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden > Great Chesterford
Price Range: €105 - €117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown House Hotel Great Chesterford
The Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel Great Chesterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Crown House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'm guessing the stables annex opposite may have been a bit more modern than rooms in the main hotel, and are quieter.”
AdamD186, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“My nephew and his new wife spent the night in the Bridal Suite, which they were very happy with and well catered for”
181hazelb, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“quieter rooms are at the rear as the hotel is on the road but it isn't a busy one.”
250krisv, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask Tina for advice and she will guide you”
DC1958, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“feel pampered in the bridal suite”
444traceyl, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5