We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cooden Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Cooden Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

768 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 761: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a lovely three days here just after Christmas Day - the staff were great even though it was Christmas and they were working!! All our meals were great and the rooms were comfortable and spotless. Lovely controllable heat as well, so warm when we wanted it and cool at night. Fabulous sea view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We held our family Christmas Lunch party here and we were 26 adults and three toddlers. I cannot praise the staff more highly. They were very welcoming, helpful, efficient and friendly, yet inconspicuous. The food was delicious with an excellent variety of choices, including various dietary requirements. The decor, crackers, hats etc were delightful and everyone really enjoyed the afternoon....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came from Belfast to Bexhill-On-Sea for a concert at the De La Warr Pavillion and stayed here for two nights. Warm, clean, well looked after hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast was fantastic, couldn't fault it. Very pleasant stay :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie G
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I spent one night at this hotel. The Dinner dance and meal was superb as was the service. We had issues with the room 207. It had a nice sea view but the shower was very difficult. After 10 mins or so and following the instructions on the wall, i.e. Turn on the cold bath tap then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went with friends to the New Years Eve dinner/dance at this Hotel and had a really good time. The food was absolutely delicious - plenty of it and served just right, very hot and freshly cooked. I ordered Fillet Steak medium rare and it was cooked to perfection - one of the best steaks I have ever enjoyed! I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan g
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked in for 2 nights. Our daughter (she is 19) basically could not stand the place saying it was full of OAP's and left taking a train back home. My wife and I decided to leave then also and checked out at 5pm on the day of arrival. We unfortunately still had to pay for the 2 nights. The atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David D
CoodenBeach36, Guest Relations Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry you did not have a memorable experience. The Hotel bedrooms underwent a massive refurbishment programme during 2016 and the public areas continue to be improved with the exciting opening of the fabulous new 'Brasserie on the Beach' due at the end of this month. As for the Leisure suite, this is open to all Hotel...

Cork
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed alone in a single for £40 with breakfast - room was great and clean - toiletries lovely - a good few stairs up with heavy luggage and no one offered porterage. TV signal was terrible off/on and made it difficult to watch one entire programme on some channels - wi-fi was good - bathroom was superb for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aoibhinnmcgee
CoodenBeach36, Guest Relations Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am pleased to hear you had a pleasant time with us here at The Cooden Beach Hotel and thank you for the kind comments about the bedroom, we believe we do offer very competitive rates on our accommodation. I have passed on all your comments to the relevant departments and we are sorry that the Sauna was...

Brittany, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came as a French/ English family of 7. Including 3 children (aged 12, 11 and 8), one adult wheel chair user and 2 vegetarians (!). On our arrival the car park was full, but this was to be expected on Christmas Day, so after dropping off most of the party we parked a short walk away on the sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank topwibblewobble
CoodenBeach36, Guest Relations Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We do strive to exceed our guests expectations and it is wonderful when we receive feedback such as yours. The whole team worked extremely hard throughout the Festive period to ensure a good time was had by all, and we are pleased the children liked their gifts from the 'Man...

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The worst Christmas dinner we have ever had. £89 per head and was such a let down. Shoved in a corner. The potatoes were like frozen aunt Bessie's, the starter was pathetic and the Christmas pud was rubbery.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thestirks
CoodenBeach36, Guest Relations Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry to learn you did not enjoy your Christmas Lunch with us. I have spoken with the Head Chef and have been assured that all ingredients were freshly prepared and cooked on the day. Perhaps if you had made it known on the day that you were not happy with your meal, we could have rectified...

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to the Beachside Restaurant for a family lunch. As usual the service was very good and the Head Waiter Andre was very friendly and attentive as usual. The food was good, with the Fish and Chips standing out as particularly nice, being well cooked and a very generous portion size. The Children's menu was nice and my son enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeBoswell
CoodenBeach36, Guest Relations Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are thrilled that you had a great dining experience here in The Beachside Restaurant. All our staff are trained to the highest standards and are always eager to deliver excellent customer service. Perhaps we can look forward to welcoming you to our new , exciting 'Brasserie on the Beach' when it opens in a few weeks time....

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexhill-on-Sea
8.0 km away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
8.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
9.5 km away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
13.6 km away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,417 reviews
11.4 km away
Claverton Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1928 the Hotel is a building of character which has undergone several changes of ownership in its time. The beginning of 2005 was the year the current owner took over the hotel and refurbished at that time also adding a beautiful beachside terrace to enjoy refreshments overlooking the sea and stunning sunsets over the Sussex Downs. The Hotel continues with an upgrade plan throughout all areas. The Beachside Restaurant with its sea view, Traditional English Menu and Sunday Carvery also The Cooden Tavern is a Bistro style eatery to cater for all guest requirements as well as a bar and lounge. For those who would like to relax with a swim the Leisure Club with heated pool, sauna, spa, steam room and gym is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Address: Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range: €90 - €182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cooden Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Cooden Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wouldn't stay after our experience”
 of 5 bubbles thestirks, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms have a lovely outlook”
 of 5 bubbles LondonTheWalkers, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles missyhissy2013, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Opt for a seaview room”
 of 5 bubbles wendyg567, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea views are amazing”
 of 5 bubbles 2JMB, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay