We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Newlands Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Newlands Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Newlands Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We stayed in the Walberswick room for 3 nights. The room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was consistently delicious and there is a well-kept heated indoor pool area. The manager Joe was friendly and helpful. There were only a couple of minor issues on our stay. The tea/coffee and milk was not replaced on the second day. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ian C
New72joe, Manager at Newlands Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Could not have been made to feel more Welcome. Great location, just a 10 minute walk to Southwold. The self catering Garden Room we stayed in was well equipped and very, very well appointed. Price point? Spot on. Loved it. There was nothing whatsoever that I could fault. Business's like this deserve to prosper. I hope to be back and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Haydn B
New72joe, Manager at Newlands Country House, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Went for a two day break over August Bank holiday 2014 and was not disappointed. Were recommended by my daughter after she had a lovely stay there.... Very welcoming and warming on our arrival.... lovely clean room with everything we needed plus a lovely spa bath. Ample parking at guest house too. Staff were very helpful and were more than...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Janet N
New72joe, Manager at Newlands Country House, responded to this review

It was great to be able to accommodate both yourself and partner and your daughter previously too, lovely family. We hope to see you again soon.

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Everything about Newlands from top to bottom was perfect for my family. We were greeted warmly by the host Joe who went out of his way to make sure we wanted for nothing. The breakfast was outstanding and the Dunwich garden rooms were massive and ideal as a base for our forays into Southwold. The wet rooms were also perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barry H
New72joe, Manager at Newlands Country House, responded to this review

It was lovely to meet you and your family, we hope to see you again soon.

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend away and thoroughly enjoyed it. The B+B is in a great location, only a few mins drive, or a 20ish minute scenic walk into Southwold itself. On arrival we were greeted by the owner, who was welcoming, polite and very helpful in giving us all the information we needed to plan...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy K
London
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Spent 2 nights at the property at the end of July. The room was definitely more hotel than B&B & nearer 4* than 3* at that. Joe, the manager, couldn't have been more friendly & accomodating. He does the place credit. A decent choice of cooked options for breakfast. Plenty of safe, off street parking. I'd advise trying to get...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ElksLondon
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent a fantastic few days at Newlands House before and after attending a wedding in Southwold. Most of the groom's party stayed at the hotel. The host Patrick was incredibly accommodating when dealing with the constant changes of guest numbers and room preferences during the run up to the wedding. Once there we were warmly welcomed and yet further...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Beate R
harlow essex
Reviewed 11 June 2014

we arrived for a peaceful break for 2 nights stay, we were originally booked in to stay in a room with the rolled top bath, however with my leg injury i would have found it quite impossible to use, very kindly we were upgraded for free to a garden room with a wet room shower, this i am sure helped...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank fezile
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Peaceful, clean, friendly and perfect. From the moment we arrived the host, Patrick, was impeccable and really friendly. We stayed in a garden room which was all we needed as we were out most of the day. The room was clean, nice view of the garden and had all you need, bed, tv, dvd, kettle (tea/coffee), shower, toilets, chairs, tables....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mattycrouch
BURTON-ON-TRENT
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Ideal base for exploring Suffolk, just a mile up the road from Southwold. Patrick is the consummate host. Substantial breakfasts each morning set you up for the day ahead. Stayed in quiet and spacious garden room, easily reached from car park.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FrogBurton_on_trent

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.5 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
300 reviews
1.1 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
731 reviews
1.5 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
590 reviews
12.8 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
634 reviews
20.4 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
only a mile from the town centre is award winning NEWLANDS COUNTRY HOUSE ETB 4 STAR SILVER offering first class accommodation, Level access En-suite Garden Rooms with full disabled facilities, Family rooms, heated indoor swimming pool & ample off road parking large gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newlands Country House

Address: 72 Halesworth Road | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Price Range: €82 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newlands Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Newlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Country House Hotel Southwold
Newlands Country Hotel
Newlands Country House Southwold, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newlands Country House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Newlands Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not go!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles dawncC4999DE, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Garden room large”
 of 5 bubbles 243rosec, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Garden room.”
 of 5 bubbles JackieScorpio, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“View the room before booking”
 of 5 bubbles 101rosemarym, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“For wheelchair users we recommend the garden rooms, complete with large wet rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnel71, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay