We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Crown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Crown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 363: English reviews
Rye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I stayed at the Crown recently for three nights: it was my second visit. It's a very comfortable hotel in a good location. The staff were friendly and helpful; the breakfasts were excellent. My room (no. 7) was slightly cramped, but with a spacious bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. There is no residents' lounge, but guests may use the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ukasphaltjungle
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.

Great Bardfield
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Quirky, characterful and comfortable suite on the top floor. Bathroom separated by a small private landing (not a problem because you get an extra loo just off the bedroom itself). Nice furnishings and view out onto the high street of this lovely unspoiled town. The only letdown was breakfast. We both had the full English and the ingredients weren't as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminJAllen
Retired, West Sussex
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We used to stay at The Crown and The Swan some years ago for business and pleasure. We were in Suffolk for a weekend with family and decided to check if The Crown had any rooms available for the Sunday night, before travelling home to the South Coast. We were in luck and also got a very good discount. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gillyandkeith
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.

Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here in secret quiet room 11 on the 2nd floor. Well appointed with superb bathroom and luxurious touches like the locally hand made wool carpet. Superb dining in the restaurant with friendly efficient managers Richard or Darren in charge. Hake with garlic risotto a highlight. Low season half board tariff represents great value. Will return soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony N
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Perfectly located in the centre of Southwold High Street, this traditional style inn has been given a modern makeover in its guest rooms. The hotel and it's meals are slightly on the pricey side (but probably in keeping with the rest of the town). We had one evening meal during our two night stay, it was satisfactory but didn't blow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnSt999
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we're all delighted you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We haven't been here for sometime after disappointing experience, it was much improved, the food was very good. Must try the Cashmere IPA while it lasts. Thanks to Alex and Ben for looking after us. We'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becksheathrow
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting us again, and we are so glad that this time was a much more enjoyable.

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. We had a fabulous evening meal on arrival, the room was lovely and the breakfasts were outstanding. It is in a great location, right on the high street but with covered parking at the rear - which was very handy for loading the car in the pouring rain. Would definitely rebook.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxine B
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you, we really appreciate your kind words.

Chelmsford
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We have stayed at the crown on quite a few occasions and always been very happy with the whole experience. We have rebooked in December this year to make up for a slightly spoilt stay in September, the hotel and Adnams were very helpful and addressed our concerns very promptly and efficiently. We cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel S
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

We are sorry for the issue in September, we hope you have a great stay as always in December. Thank you for your kind words.

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Located in the main High Street it is perfect for exploring the wonderfully quaint town that is Southwold. Our room was at the end of a maze or corridors and stairs - didn't bother us, but people less able may find difficult. The room was clean and well furnished with lovely extras. Breakfast is included and there is an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mellas9
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, please accept our apologies for the service you receieved.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here a number of times and we were not disappointed again this time. Our room was very clean and comfortable despite the creaking and steep stairway The food was top quality and we found the staff to be very helpful I like this place but the room rates are at the top end!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d100bunker
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.1 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
598 reviews
1.4 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
304 reviews
0.5 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,356 reviews
19.7 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
608 reviews
20.6 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An exciting and intimate combination of small hotel, wine bar, pub and restaurant, Adnams Crown Hotel is always buzzing with a lively informality. The food is famously good and the wine list wonderful. You don't have to take our word for it - The Crown is an award winning hotel and was named Suffolk Dining Pub of the Year by the Good Pub Guide in 2013 and 2014. Situated on Southwold's High Street in Suffolk, The Crown is at the heart of activities, and just a few moments away from the seaside. Relax before lunch or dinner in our snug 'Back Bar' with a pint of Adnams famous beer. Free WiFi available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown

Address: High St, Southwold IP18 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Price Range: €211 - €237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Southwold
Crown Southwold
Crown Hotel Southwold
The Crown Southwold, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front overlook main street, not sure of the others”
 of 5 bubbles nono323, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 is brilliant”
 of 5 bubbles RogerEJ, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This is a very old hotel/inn and the stairs are very steep and narrow to negotiate to the bedrooms,”
 of 5 bubbles gillyandkeith, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front is on the High Street so could potentially have some noise, we were at the back, it was quiet but not scenic.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnSt999, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 was charming and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles hazels693, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay